We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Detroit Metro Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Detroit Metro Airport to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Detroit Metro Airport
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8600 Wickham Road, Romulus, MI 48174   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Last Minute Deals!
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Romulus
Buffalo, United States
1 review
“Great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

The hotel was located very close to the airport. We could hear a little airport noise from our room, but it wasn't really loud enough to be disruptive. The breakfast was exceptional. There seemed to be more choices than I am used to, even at an Embassy Suites. The rooms were clean and well organized. And the rate was exceptional, especially considering that breakfast and parking was included.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    149
    57
    21
    17
See reviews for
169
84
26
134
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Service was excellent!!!! Staff members went out of their way to meet all request, even a late checkout due to a change in flight status. Easy access to interstate and airport. Overall, the hotel was very clean and a great value. Certainly will add this Embassy Suites to my travel list of great choices for the $.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Got this hotel through bidding at Priceline and for the price/features ratio this is the best hotel I have ever got in the last four years by using Priceline religiously. The lobby of this hotel just looks great with new modern furniture and decors, but the room shows its age a bit, especially in the washroom. There is not much around the hotel, but only other hotels on the same street, and a whole bunch of them. Only a Speedy gas station across the street close by you can get a snack by foot. Nevertheless, after a full hot breakfast at this hotel you should be able to skip lunch, especially if you have your breakfast around 10am, because you will be so full. The manager's reception at 5:30pm is super nice even though they only offer finger food and fruits, but the nachos with salsa or spicy cheese dip is good enough for me. I do not drink alcohol but I see many patrons, who enjoy a few glasses of wine while chatting with friends or family before dinner till 7:30pm. My only complaint for the breakfast area is the super high humidity it always possesses due to the fact that the entrance to the pool and whirlpool area is right there next to the chef centre where they cook up waffles, pancakes and omelettes for you. The steam coming out from the pool area just makes the dining less comfortable on a August summer day when the outside was hot enough.

Room Tip: Our room is in the middle of the building so if you do not intend to get up early to go to breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleman, Michigan
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel during a visit to Ypsilanti, MI. We were here to visit our grandson. Hotel is close to the interstate and close to the airport. A great cooked to order breakfast and plenty of seating in the breakfast area. Hotel is very well kept inside and out and the staff is very friendly. Nice inside/outdoor pool and exercise room. Front desk was very accommodating when I asked for extra coffee and late checkout. This is the place to stay when in the Detroit Metro area.

Room Tip: Any spacious room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walled lake
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This Embassy Suites is excellent for an overnight stay before a flight @ a good price. The staff is very helpful and service to the Airport as well. We have stayed here many times and highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We usually use Priceline to book our favourite hotel in Detroit, the Embassy Suites at the Airport. We've stayed many times, and always enjoy the facility and the fabulous staff. Thanks to Ashley at the front desk, and the Manager for his evening receptions...a great way to have a little snack and enjoy the pool and hot tub. Our rooms are always clean and made up when we return from our day's events. Love the separated bathing and dressing areas. Perfect for traveling with baby so he had plenty of room to play in "living room" or nap in peace. (Do wish the bi-folded, slatted doors were solid, though, but not a deal-breaker!)
A big storm knocked out the power for a short time, but staff reacted quickly and appropriately to inform guests of the situation and remedies forthcoming. Electricity back on shortly, and emergency generators provided plenty of light in the common areas.
Breakfast will suit any diet. Fresh Fruits, Juices, pastries, breads accompany the made-to-order omelets (some of the best I've ever eaten!) and waffles,etc. Not a gourmet offering, but perfect to a quick start on the day, and a great amenity from this hotel. I think the 3.5 star rating is appropriate, as it is an older property, but very nicely maintained inside and out. Beds are most comfortable, and the housekeeping staff is great at folding up our own blankets and pillows which we always carry when we travel! Free parking is a big plus also!
Super-great location, close to expressways and only a couple of miles from Michigan Ave, which leads all over the city! (Go straight to Greektown and eat the salad and fish at Athena's, then visit the Astoria bakery across the street...yum!)
This is our hotel of choice anytime we stay in Detroit, which is several times a year. Not a place for a romantic get-away, but a great choice for business or family/friends gathering!
Prices are good, and even better when you use Priceline, especially considering the fee-free amenties! Please take it from a seasoned traveler, this is a great value, and better than any other hotel in the airport area, even at full price. One thing, Parents with children...PLEASE watch your kids as they walk down the halls, remind them to be quiet and not run, and be responsible for them at the pool. I am not a babysitter by choice, so appreciate your taking care of the darlings so everyone can enjoy their holidays! Also goes for teenagers! We've never really had any unpleasant experiences, but just a gentle reminder to all those who travel with young people who need to learn how to be appropriate in such venues so they will also get the full enjoyment traveling has to offer!
Love the Embassy Suites! Can't wait to go back, always hate to leave!

Room Tip: 1. Call the hotel directly ahead of time for any special needs: crib, close to elevator, etc. 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

the hotel was beautiful, the service and food was great! It was very close to the highway. The servers in the morning was very helpful in making sure you had a table, and would double check on you to see if you needed anything. The lobby was very peaceful during the morning and night. parking was great and the staff overall was very nice and attentive. I would recommend this hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Detroit Metro Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Detroit Metro Airport

Address: 8600 Wickham Road, Romulus, MI 48174
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Romulus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Romulus
#4 Romantic Hotel in Romulus
#6 Family Hotel in Romulus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Detroit Metro Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embassy Suites Detroit Metro Airport covers all the basics: convenience, comfortable surroundings, and great amenities. Our newly renovated luxurious property caters to everyones needs. Our spacious two room suites feature all the comforts of home. Additionally, Deli Cafe and Lounge offers casual dining in a bistro atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Embassy Suites Detroit Metro Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Detroit Metro Airport Hotel Romulus
Embassy Suites Romulus
Romulus Embassy Suites
Hilton Romulus
Romulus Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Detroit Metro Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.