We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to expected Embassy Suites standards” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Detroit Metro Airport

Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites Detroit Metro Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Embassy Suites Detroit Metro Airport
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8600 Wickham Road, Romulus, MI 48174   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Park, Stay, & Fly Package
Ranked #5 of 25 hotels in Romulus
Portland, OR
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not up to expected Embassy Suites standards”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We paid the extra to stay at an Embassy Suites but was disappointed in this location. There was no atrium. The reception fare was chips and pub mix and finally they brought out a vegetable tray. Breakfast was not very satisfying. The oatmeal was very thick but did have nice toppings to add. The French toast was tasteless. The rooms were clean and nice but the air conditioner was loud and when it cyclical off, the room got warm. You could also hear other guests in the hallway even when in the bedroom. The shower area needed to be remodeled with no obvious vent working in the area. They did use energy bulbs in the bathroom.
I would not go the extra funds to return.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms above the first floor if you need to go to bed early and don't want to hear people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoraL-ESDTW, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites Detroit Metro Airport, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
We truly appreciate your candid feedback from your most recent stay at our hotel. I can assure you that your comments have been reviewed by senior management. We are always looking for ways to improve our property and comments like yours help us identify areas that need improvements. We do apologize for falling short of your expectations during your stay and assure your concerns will be addressed. I do hope that you would reconsider staying with us in the future if your travels do bring you back to our area.

Sincerely,
Lora Levendoski
Director of Sales & Catering
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    188
    130
    47
    18
    13
See reviews for
138
73
26
111
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
fishers, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

A great place to stay every two weeks. I use this facility for business and it located near the airport anc convienent to my training facility. The morning "cook to order" breakfast is the best! Michelle really takes care of her guests.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escanaba, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed there because our daughter went to Germany for her Michigan Lions All State Band. The shuttle brought us to the right gate where my daughter was returning and picked us up right after we called them. The staff and room were very nice and the kids raved about the breakfast choices. We had a wonderful time in Detroit, even though we got lost, but found our way out. It was a lot of fun.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Another airport hotel, in some respects better than The Courtyard (just across the street).

Excellent rooms, and huge to boot. Free wifi, great breakfasts and a free airport shuttle (this one you will have to call for).

The pool is excellent but it lets itself down by having no external seating, very odd and very disappointing.

Again american service, what more needs to be said.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

From the welcoming accomodations early in the morning, to the fact that Cedric, one of the managers took the time to engage our family in conversation over breakfast, the entire staff of this Embassy was on point. Having visited numerous locations across the country, I had never seen an entire staff of people that were so eager to assist us with our stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Everything was great and pristine in this hotel, however, there was an issue with the details of the room that I was promised and I did not have the feature that was requested in the room. I contacted manager regarding my issue and he told me that there was nothing that he could do, even though I believe that there could have been something that he could have done to help the situation or make me feel as if I was definitely getting my monies worth.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenoir City, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

This is a great hotel for the value of the cost. However, don't expect them to go above and beyond. Service in the restaurant/lounge is slow and not very attentive. The rooms are very nice and the beds are wonderful!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Embassy Suites Detroit Metro Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Detroit Metro Airport

Address: 8600 Wickham Road, Romulus, MI 48174
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Romulus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Romulus
#3 Romantic Hotel in Romulus
#7 Family Hotel in Romulus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Detroit Metro Airport 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embassy Suites Detroit Metro Airport covers all the basics: convenience, comfortable surroundings, and great amenities. Our newly renovated luxurious property caters to everyones needs. Our spacious two room suites feature all the comforts of home. Additionally, Deli Cafe and Lounge offers casual dining in a bistro atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Embassy Suites Detroit Metro Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Detroit Metro Airport Hotel Romulus
Embassy Suites Romulus
Romulus Embassy Suites
Hilton Romulus
Romulus Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Detroit Metro Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.