We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be so much better with a little effort by Management.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Detroit Metro Airport

Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites Detroit Metro Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites Detroit Metro Airport
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8600 Wickham Road, Romulus, MI 48174   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Park, Stay, & Fly Package
Ranked #5 of 25 hotels in Romulus
Buford, Georgia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Could be so much better with a little effort by Management.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Stayed at this property for an early flight out of DTW.

Pros - Close to DTW (see also: Cons), Nicely remodeled reception / breakfast area, new workout facilities. Good Embassy Breakfast selection (Fresh made to order omelets always make the day go better).

Cons - Close to DTW, you can hear planes overhead but it's not too loud. Rooms seemed to be 1/2 way remodeled, some of the furniture is new modern style, and then the couch and chair is the old gross stuff from 20 years ago. Suites are not as big as the typical Embassy suites and having more than 2 people in the room would get very crowded.

BIG CON - Ok, who from the hotel management thought that it would be a good idea to put the kids travel teams on the 3rd floor (and most of the 2nd)? I was initally assigned a room in 2, but rejected it when the travel parents were hanging out in the hall with a cooler full of beer (at 10:30 pm on Thursday) and the kids were roaming the hallways. Come on, put the loud groups on the 1st floor and let the business travelers (and HHonors Elite members) take the rooms on the 3rd floor so that the noise is at least reduced.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the courtyard. The Air traffic noise is greatly reduced.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geoffthompsongm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Detroit Metro Airport, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
First of all, thank you for your review of your past stay with us. We always appreciate hearing from our guests - including areas for improvement. I understand that the noise was an issue during your stay; while we do have additional security and overnight managers available during high traffic periods, we certainly do encourage, for guests comfort and safety, that they contact the front office so we can calm the issue. I apologize that your comfort was interrupted by other guests and I have shared your review with our security team to ensure that this is not a problem in the future. I do hope the next time you return to the area you consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    188
    130
    47
    18
    13
See reviews for
138
73
26
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We've stayed at many Embassy Suites through the years and this one was disappointed. It felt old and dated. The carpeting looked dirty throughout. The dining area was small and it didn't have the variety of offerings for breakfast that we're used to at an Embassy Suites. The room was ok, but the bed was too soft. The location was convenient to a few dining options, but nothing special. It's very close to the airport, but it did have fairly good sound insulation. Overall, it was average.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geoffthompsongm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Detroit Metro Airport, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for staying with us at our hotel. I appreciate your candor; we look for reviews to provide insight into our hotel and our guest suite appearance is an area we are actively examining. I have shared your comments with our management staff and will follow up on the points that you have raised to insure that our hotel is not only meeting but exceeding the Embassy Suites standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pecatonica, IL
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Close to airport but no airport noise. I only stayed one night at this hotel and thought it was very nice. The managers reception in the evening was nice. They had a wide variety of wines, mixed drinks, soda and more. The snacks were okay, nothing grand but not terrible either. I didn't use the pool but it looked small. Only the indoor pool was open. The morning breakfast was wonderful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houghton, Mi
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Had to come down for a flight out of DTW and thought that the Embassy Suites would be a good place to stay. Boy was I wrong, at first everything looked good then we got into the room. The room was small, the bed had a tilt to one side, the pillows were flat and had no support to them, and the bathroom was small and out of date, and the heater was loud. I did like the new TV's and the managers recption, and cooked to order breakfast. Overall it was average at best. The place is older and needs lots of updates.

Room Tip: I had a King bed suite maybe the suites with 2 beds are better?
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geoffthompsongm, General Manager at Embassy Suites Detroit Metro Airport, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we’re very sorry you were unhappy with our two-room suites. We will take your comments under consideration as we continually work to improve our guest experience. We hope you will consider staying with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

My flight arrived several hours late and I was too tired to drive home at 3am so I got a room here to sleep for a few hours. The hotel was nice enough to discount the rate for me since it was 3am when I checked in and I was planning to check out around 10am. My room was clean and spacious with a separate living room area. I did not take advantage of the free breakfast but a cooked to order breakfast is included with your stay. I would stay here again when in this area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

I stay in hotels on business travel weekly and found this hotel to be an excellent experience. The hotel looks freshly renovated and has a more traditional/contemporary blend versus the usual open concept of most of the Embassy brand. The first two to three floors are open in the center of the building with a central stair case going to floor two. There are plenty of places to relax and to hold small group or one-on-one conversations. I stayed in the Lansing Suite which was a full king room with an additional attached conference room that would seat ten comfortably and its own bathroom and closet. The conference room and my sleeping area were separated by a living room/office area with lockable door. The hotel was just minutes from the airport. The staff was exceptional at all levels from housekeeping, to the kitchen/bar, and front desk staff. I would definitely stay here again when in the Detroit area for business next time. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, LA
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

The hotel is very close to the airport. The layout was great. The suite was roomy. The bed was comfortable. The flat screen TVs were nice. We enjoyed the cooked to order breakfast. All in all, we enjoyed our stay. We will come back again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Embassy Suites Detroit Metro Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Detroit Metro Airport

Address: 8600 Wickham Road, Romulus, MI 48174
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Romulus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Romulus
#3 Business Hotel in Romulus
#7 Family Hotel in Romulus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Detroit Metro Airport 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embassy Suites Detroit Metro Airport covers all the basics: convenience, comfortable surroundings, and great amenities. Our newly renovated luxurious property caters to everyones needs. Our spacious two room suites feature all the comforts of home. Additionally, Deli Cafe and Lounge offers casual dining in a bistro atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Tingo, Despegar.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Embassy Suites Detroit Metro Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Detroit Metro Airport Hotel Romulus
Embassy Suites Romulus
Romulus Embassy Suites
Hilton Romulus
Romulus Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Detroit Metro Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.