We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always great!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yates Cider Mill

Yates Cider Mill
1990 E Avon Road, Rochester Hills, MI 48307-2409
(248) 651-8300
Improve this listing
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Families with children
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Families with children
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Always great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Fun traditional cider mill. Can also walk the extensive walking path. View the river, etc. Our favorites are the cinnamon donuts with the cider. Always brings back memories.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    19
    9
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clinton Township, Michigan, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“AppleCiderandFreshMadeDonuts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

There is nothing to dislike about the cider mill. They provide outdoor entertainment for the kids, lots of places to view the river and watch for fish to swim by. This cider mill has been open and operated for over 50 years, growing their own apples, squeezing them onsite, and filling the quart and half gallon bottles with the tastiest apple cider anywhere. The donuts are prepared in the same building and you can tour through the viewing area and watch all of the processes being done. The cider mill is also water powered with a water wheel being driven by a flow from the river. It is a must visit in early September just after the apples are picked and the process begins. Locate them on the internet for days and hours of operation before you go and enjoy yourself with your family.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“good atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

This is not just any cider mill. Although it use to have a full fledge waterwheel operation, you can still get the feel of the tradition as the water wheel turns. Nice walk along the river. The only bad part is sometimes the bees/wasps are bothersome because the cider attracts them. Also, keep in mind there are only port a johns here. No public rest rooms. If you like the outdoors it's great!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland, Michigan
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Family Fun”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We have come here for years, it's a family tradition. Lots to do. Great cider and donuts. Lots for kid to do.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“We love this place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We have been going to Yates since I was a kid. Now we take our own kids there. We love going in the fall for Cider and Donuts but we also go in the summer for Ice cream and a stroll along the river. I am so glad this place has been around so long that generations can enjoy the experience.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yates Cider Mill also viewed

 

Been to Yates Cider Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yates Cider Mill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.