We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aspires to be 'The Ritz' in NYC and almost makes it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Park Hotel

Save Saved
You added Royal Park Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Park Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   600 E. University Drive, Rochester, MI 48307   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Suite Retreat
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Rochester
Markham, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Aspires to be 'The Ritz' in NYC and almost makes it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2009

The Royal Park aspires to be a Grand Hotel and makes it in a number of ways but certain exceptions leave it just short of the mark. Like some of the other reviewer, I liked the room, the bed, the soft towels, nice bathroom & soaps, and complimentary slippers and bathrobe. I also very much enjoyed how much I didn't hear from outside my room and the high ceilings (10ft?) were very nice too. The shower stall resembles what I'd consider putting in at home when doing a bathroom renovation. All of these items were consistent with some of the other Grand Hotels I've enjoyed staying in. In addition to all these I was very happy with the dining room staff at breakfast and, for the most part, the staff at the reception desk. All are well trained, polite and attentive although one, I felt, just slipped over the line to obsequiousness. And that last always give me the Willies.

I've stayed at the Royal Park more than once now for multiple nights each time. My room was a Non-smoking King and was for the most part comfortable.

On the 'just missed' side of things for this hotel, the Internet service is lacking and the the desk area has deficiencies. My trips are for business and involved multi-night stays during which a decent high speed Internet connection would have been a real benefit. The Internet access service at the Royal Park is included with the room and both shared 10Mbps wireless (802.11B, no one I know has anything less than a 54Mbps wireless hub anymore) or - if you bring your own cable - a Ethernet port. Either way, the bandwidth was pathetic, Google Maps was excruciatingly slow and don't even think about YouTube (let alone Hulu). Even regular news sites with Flash content were slow to render fully.

Also, really strange for a premises that was constructed just recently - I think 2004 - is that you have to crawl under the desk to plug in your PC and there's only a single duplex outlet. Similarly, the Ethernet jack is under the table. (In contrast the Staybridge in Auburn Hills provided table top level Ethernet and power outlets.)

About the desk chair, it's a basic chair with four legs and an upholstered seat cushion. No wheels, no height adjustment, doesn't recline, it's just a plain old chair like you would have expected at a writing desk in the 1800s.

One last 'not quite' about the room is the TV and TV Cabinet. The TV is a Vacuum Tube model, good size screen but sooo last century. (Even the medieval era room I stayed in in a skiing village in Austria, with the hand made cabinet and room door had a flat panel TV.) Also, the doors of the TV Cabinet interfere with the other upholstered chair in the room and it interferes with the desk so you can't work at the desk and see the TV - however you can see the cabinet door - as closely as you'd like.

There is a small bar type fridge in the room that usually holds a complimentary small bottle of water, this is in addition to another bottle of water provided on the night stand. It's an odd kind of fridge in which I had trouble fitting a carton of Orange Juice or 2 Quart container of Apple Cider. Still, it was nice to have, even if I did have to lie my juice/cider down to get it out of the fridge.

My final gripe, parking. During my most recent stay there were events either at the hotel or with the Rochester light show kick off. For three nights in a row, I had to hunt around the whole lot for a parking spot. I eventually found one but way, way, away from the hotel. It's well away from the hotel and well out of eye shot, not an ideal spot to leave a vehicle overnight - might be fine while you're in for dinner or a banquet. Seems to me that overnight guests, that may be moving stuff to an from their rooms, even if it's just their laptop and files, should have some assurance of a parking spot that doesn't suck. I dropped a note to the Hotel and receive the 'helpful' suggestion from the General Manager that "Quite often in situations where parking is at a premium due to sell out status, catering events or high restaurant and lounge traffic, our guests take advantage of the valet parking alternative that is offered at a slight fee." Seems pretty convenient that his solution involves spending more money at his hotel.

I'll continue to stay at the Royal Park when in town for business, I do like the bed/bathroom, the towels, and the quietness of the room. Plus, it's really nice to be able to walk to a variety of restaurants. Still, the little deficiencies will always remind me that the Royal Park is always just 'almost' a Grand Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    127
    45
    10
    3
    5
See reviews for
32
49
10
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
milan, italy
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
113 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2009

A good place to be if you have business to do in Auburn Hills' area. Nice rooms, very professional service, good restaurant. Recommended.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rochester michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2009

I loved this hotel! It was so elegant the beds were so comfortable and the breakfast was to die for.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clarkston. mi
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2009

My wife and I wanted to treat ourselves to an anniversary night at the Royal Park. We live in the area, so I knew of the hotel. When I called to make our reservation, I already knew that this was where we were going to stay, I just wanted to check on packages or options for our stay. The person that I spoke with, sounded as though that she was trying to sell me on the room. I wanted a terrace room, she said that she had a "LXST", her favorite room in the hotel, unfortunately the romance type package was not available for that room. I was fine with that, but then she tried to upsell me with a $60 bottle of champagne delivered to the room and $30 for chocolates, "No thank you" I said. She asked if I was ready to make my reservation, I said yes, she then offered me the upsells again, "No thank you". She took my information and then offered me a complimentary bottle of champagne. What!? now it's complimentary? I called back a few minutes later to confirm that this was a smoking room. Nope. The only smoking room available is on the 2nd floor with a terrace and smaller. The hotel is beautiful and exceptionally clean. The "terrace", looked out to a "beautiful" roof top. A very quiet room but the bed wasn't that confortable.The bathroom is very impressive Wonderful robes,short on towels. We got a comp shuttle to a local restaurant . The front desk made the reservation for us, a nice gesture. Our restaurant of choice was extremely crowded (Rochester Chop House). I called the hotel to be picked-up. We decided to go to the restaurant in the hotel.
The menu had very nice dishes, a little pricey, but I expected a great meal. My wife ordered the duck (she never tried it before), I ordered the lamb chops med. Both meals are ala carte $4-5 side dishes, but what the hey it's our anniversary. A bottle of wine and shrimp cocktail.
When our server set down the duck, it looked delicious a nice, sauce covered her plate. The lamb chops were four bones on a plate and garnish, no sauce, no real flair. I cut in to my over-cooked dry, flavorless chops and was very dissapointed. I never send food back unless it isn't hot or under cooked, basically never. The server was very kind and replaced my meal with a filet, it was perfect. I recieved a call from the Chef a day later, he appologized and hoped that we would return. An exceptional gesture. It is nice to see that my dissapointment was recognized. Thank you for the stay, now I know what to expect.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2009

We stayed at this hotel for a weekend wedding, and were impressed from start to finish by the friendliness and competance of the staff, the size and comfort of the rooms, and the quality of onsite dining. The dinner at the hotel, in particular, was to a much higher standard than we expected, with Dover sole and a great, but reasonably priced, wine list. The dining room is quiet, even though often full, and the service is attentive without being pretentious. Valet parking is efficient, and only $10 per night.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2009

This was my second stay here on business. Facilities are exceptional, the location is fantastic and within walking distance to stores and restaurants and the hotel is beside a river with a deck and adirondack chairs for lounging. The food in the restaurant is excellent and the lounge has a nice atmosphere and food/drink specials every day. There was a mix up with our reservation and even though the hotel was fully booked, they accomodated our request in a timely and courteous manner. We just returned from a business meeting at the Palazzo Las Vegas and this hotel exceeded the Palazzo in our opinion. We look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arizonia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2009

I previously lived in the area, When I come "home". I only stay at the Royal Park Hotel.
Food is reasonably priced and great quality. I really enjoy the staff, they treat myself and family like royality. Remembering our likes and dislikes. Always happy to see us. We look foward to seeing our favorite servers Kelly, Gen and Mia. The Manager John, always extends a warm welcome. They are the reason we will return time and time again they make our experience a home away from home.
We wish for a pool or indoor spa of sorts. Despite lack of such, we throughly enjoy our walks on the path near the river, bike rides and the putting green.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Royal Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Park Hotel

Address: 600 E. University Drive, Rochester, MI 48307
Location: United States > Michigan > Rochester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Park Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Royal Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Park Rochester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.