We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Park Hotel to your Saves list
Royal Park Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   600 E. University Drive, Rochester, MI 48307   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rochester
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

The Royal Park is very nice. We hosted a very large event here a months ago and they did a awesome job with it. I am hosting another one this month and looking forward to their awesome staff again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayHaratsis, General Manager at Royal Park Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Thank you for the kind words that you offer regarding your past event. We are so pleased that we were able to WOW your guests and look forward to doing so once again in the near future.

We are so glad that you have chosen to return to us with your event. I will pass on your comments to our staff at our daily meeting.

Best Wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    52
    13
    3
    7
See reviews for
39
59
12
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Flint
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

My sig. other and I had Easter brunch at the Royal Park on Sunday. It was my sixth Easter brunch at the Royal Park. The hotel used to have Easter brunch in the large ballroom. The variety and quantiy of food was truly amazing. It has changed as the economy has changed. Understandable. For the past two years the brunch takes place off of the main restaurant. Outside of the amazing array of desserts, the brunch is a shadow of it's previous experience. The price of the brunch was $40.00 last year and $45.00 this year. I don't mind paying more for a great brunch however my experience was not one of a $45.00 meal. To start, the omlet station needs to be stationed somewhere other than at the beginning of the buffet. If you don't want an omlet, it was difficult to get around and then back into the food beyond the omlet station. In addition, two dishes were duplicated side by side; the chicken with orzo and the tilapia dish. That seemed unimaginative and lazy. The last criticism I had was the carving table. If the hotel is going to charge $45.00 for a buffet, you should serve something other than sirlion at the carving table. How about prime rib as is usually the case? I didn't have any of the beef but a friend who did, said it was "chewy." Yum.
The star of the meal was the amazing array of desserts. I have never seen such a beautiful display and whatever I tried, was delicious. Charge me $30.00 just for the dessert table and I will forgo the buffet next year.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayHaratsis, General Manager at Royal Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us your thoughts about our Easter Brunch. We appreciate that you have given us your input. It is important to me and our team to hear every piece of feedback so we can continue to adjust our product and service to exceed our guests' expectations and be the best in the market.
I am so pleased that you enjoyed our dessert presentation. I will pass on your kind words to our pastry team and Pastry Chef Mark Slessor. I know they, too, will be pleased.
I do hope that you will visit with us again in the future whether it be for a holiday buffet, a relaxing meal or cocktails and dancing.
Best Wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

My guy and I enjoyed a lovely brunch at the Royal Park today. There were three omelet stations, trays of fresh fruit and fruit dips, danish, chicken and orzo, fish and artichoke, ham and sirloin with Yorkshire pudding. The lox, shrimp and salmon were delicious. But the absolute piece de resistance was the dessert table. The head pastry chef was there to explain the ingredients in any dish we could have wanted, from fruit cheesecakes to flavored creme brulee to lemon blackberry tortes. The fruity bread pudding with caramel sauce is just too amazing to imagine. If you're looking for a memorable holiday gustatory experience, this is it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayHaratsis, General Manager at Royal Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Thank you so much for the wonderful words about our Easter Brunch. This day is an exciting one for us as the entire staff gears up to provide an exceptional experience for every guest.. I know that Chef Mark Slessor, our Pastry Chef, and his team worked diligently during the week to present a fabulous array of desserts for your dining enjoyment.
I will share your comments with our staff at our daily meetings. They will be so pleased at your comments. We hope to see you soon.
Best Wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willoughby Hills, Ohio
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for a work conference in March and was blown away by the style, luxury, and attention to detail that I found at this property. When we arrived, our conference room was set up with breakfast waiting. Lunch was served in a conservatory of sorts and the food was absolutely fantastic. They had a patio too, but we did not utilize it for anything. The front desk staff was super friendly (especially a young woman by the name of Ellen). They treat you like royalty, and there is always a little something to eat/drink sitting out to welcome you in.

My room had THIRTEEN light switches! This was really nice especially in the morning when I didn't have to fumble around to try to get light in the room. The hotel provided a bathrobe and a VERY comfy bed. The room temperature was perfect and everything had an unmistakable "clean" scent to it. The only glitch in the entire trip was a very slow and problematic wireless signal. Fortunately, the room provided a wired connection that worked just fine. Breakfast in the morning was delicious and checkout was a breeze.

I would easily recommend this hotel for any visit or event!

Room Tip: I don't think they had a pool, but it won't let me un-check the toggle box.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayHaratsis, General Manager at Royal Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2012
We cannot thank you enough for your kind words. I will happily go to each department on which you have commented and share your thoughts with them personally.
We are very fortunate to have a great physical property with touches like the Conservatory and the Terrace (which will be open for service in mid-May) and great beds, but more important are our people like Ellen and her teammates that take a great pride in insuring that every guest experience is exceptional.
We are addressing connectivity next month with the addition of more access points in the hotel for guest needs.
I hope that you will have the opportunity to join in the near future. Please feel free to ask for me personally.
Best Wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

...I stayed at the Royal Park Hotel while traveling to attend a wedding and it was a really nice stay. I loved that after I returned in the evening there was a band playing in the bar for a little entertainment and socializing before turning in for the night. This also appears to be a popular spot for wedding and other receptions to be held, so it was really busy. When my plans changed and I had to check out a night earlier, the staff gave me no problem with leaving a day early and promptly refunded the difference. That went a long way with me from a customer service standpoint. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayHaratsis, General Manager at Royal Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2012
Thank you for the kind comments and words you have for our hotel. Yes, we do have a great number of weddings at the property and we feel so lucky that we are thought of so well as we make special days for newlyweds.
I can see that when you travel you are visiting very nice hotels. We feel honored that you place in such wonderful hotel company. Most imporantly, I am so happy that our staff was open to assisting you with the changes in your plans. It is important that every guest has the best experience when visitng the property.
We hope to see you in the near future.
Best Wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at the Royal Park a few times to celebrate a special occasion. The rooms are nice, very clean with very comfy beds and the bathroom is gorgeous! We've stayed in the Park Suite a few times and the size, comfort and amenities (fridge, dishes, coffee maker, microwave) are worth the price. It's hard to find a place this fancy that gives you free bottled water (what a concept!). The staff is always friendly and helpful. The room service is reasonable and delicious - you must try the mac n cheese. We've eaten at the restaurant downstairs and the service has always been impeccable. This is definitely a must-stay if you are in the area and want a cozy getaway. There are several bars and restaurants in the area but for us, just staying in, ordering room service and hanging out in bed is just the best - we always come home feeling relaxed!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayHaratsis, General Manager at Royal Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2012
We are so appreciative of your kind words about the hotel and your experience. I know that our staff will be pleased to hear your comments about their friednliness and helpfulness. Our Brookshire Restaurant team will be equally pleased at your words about their impeccable service.
We are also quite fortunate to have a wonderful community surrounding us for food, beverage and shopping opportunities. I am just glad that you found us so comfortable that you feel you can relax in bed while you are here.
We hope to see you soon.

Best Wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012 via mobile

Well when arriving early for an annual conference we were told we couldn't check in for several hours, but some how within 20 mins they had a room and a bed for us :) the best part of our trip was probably the wonderful shuttle drivers and bell hop that made our experience amazing. They had the best places to take us to eat, no task was too big or too small. Thank you guys! Paul- use to be in the military and is about to get married (I believe I may have drank too much) and Christopher (only because you had one of our brothers names) you guys were amazing! Thank you for helping us "underwear people" LOL :)

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayHaratsis, General Manager at Royal Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
We are so happy that you enjoyed your visit this year and we were very glad that your organization chose to host their event with us once again.
I will personally tell Paul and Christopher of your comments as they truly love taking care of our guests and ceratinly deserve the recognition.
We look forward to seeing you next year.
Best Wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Park Hotel

Address: 600 E. University Drive, Rochester, MI 48307
Location: United States > Michigan > Rochester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Royal Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Park Rochester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.