We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent food, a bit overpriced” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rochester Chop House & Bar

Rochester Chop House & Bar
306 S Main St, Rochester, MI 48307-2030
(248) 651-2266
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 66 Restaurants in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Decent food, a bit overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We wanted a good steak and a nice meal for our only night out. We live overseas, so one of the things we look forward to we're home in the US is a great steak. Our parents joined us and they were quite shocked by the prices. My husband and I also found the prices to be a bit high, our steaks were very good, but the prices didn't quite equal the overall quality of the food. My mother's fish was bland and disappointing. I think she wound up getting the fish (and she's a big fan of good fish) because she felt guilty about ordering the expensive steak. Our dad's swordfish was well prepared. We also felt like every chance the server could, she was looking for a way to tag something onto the price ..."you want some chowder with that fish?" - cha chung-( cash register ring ), "Would you like a little mushroom sauce with that steak?" -cha chung.. I'm sure the server is told to do this by the management, she was very nice, perhaps a bit too chatty. Overall, I felt I was paying for a gourmet meal, but it wasn't quite up to that. The roasted vegetables that accompanied our steak were tasty and nicely prepared (not the semi-raw, or over cooked, bland veggies that often accompany a main course in restaurants). Our dessert was the pecan pie, it was nice, nothing memorable. It's a pleasant place and the food is good, but I believe but you can get the same sort of meal for a better price in a town like Rochester, MI.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    25
    17
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, ON
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Perfect Valentine's Day Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

After arriving into the restaurant on Valentine's evening, we were greeted promptly by many servers, anxious that we were being helped - great service. The ambiance is charming and old fashioned - totally our style. At first we were sat in a high traffic area, but as soon as we expressed our disappointment, we were promptly moved - again, great service. Our server was young, but very good and on the path to becoming great! He was efficient, friendly and genuinely concerned that we were having the best experience possible. Our cocktails were delicious and the wine with dinner was just as wonderful. The food was incredible. I had the 6 oz tenderloin with lobster tail on the side and my boyfriend had a GIANT pile of crab legs - amazing. We were so impressed with the entire experience. We will definitely be returning - thank you!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“kabin kruiser”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Been visiting for the Happy Hour a few times lately and have been extremely satisfied with both selection and quality of the menu. Service is always top-notch. Oysters are varied and fresh. Tap selection is classic high quality with an aditional surprise always included from a local of micro brewery. Whether up front at the raw bar or back in the steak house, this place never has disappointed.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

You cannot go wrong when you eat here. The restaurant is always crowded. Make a reservation. I cannot think of a time that I or my friends had a meal we didn't like.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Mi
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“always reliable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

our favorite resturant in Michigan, we can always count on great service and an awesome meal here. Love the bean salad and bread. I usually get steak and hubby gets fish of some kind...never had a bad meal and we average about once a month meal here.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rochester Chop House & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Rochester Chop House & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rochester Chop House & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.