We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing Fancy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of East Bay Lakefront Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Prudenville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
East Bay Lakefront Lodge
Save
You added East Bay Lakefront Lodge to your Saves list
125 Twelfth Street, PO Box 914, Prudenville, MI 48651   |  
Hotel amenities
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Nothing Fancy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Could use some sprucing up but the staff is friendly and the beach is just a few steps from the lodge. First time vacationing with our dogs and they really enjoyed it! Not for those expecting a Holiday Inn, can smell musty at times with the slight aroma of past canine visitors. Getting rid of the carpeting and putting newer spreads on the beds would be a great improvement. Very laid back atmosphere. New towels and room cleaning have to be requested.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eastbaylodge, Owner at East Bay Lakefront Lodge, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your visit. I am glad to hear your pets enjoyed their stay. I apologize for your experience with carpets and spreads. I will review this with our cleaning staff to ensure it does not occur again as it is our policy to always have freshness. We have a commercial carpet cleaning machine and various types of cleaning products available. Typically when pets are guests, we do use an older top cover. Room cleaning and towels have been curtailed due to guest preferences to keep rates down, but we will make the options more obvious for those that would like more services. Thank you for the gift of your feedback as this will help us improve. We hope to see you and your pets again as our special guests. Let Randy know you have a free night coming when you reserve. (Lorrie Krause)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    5
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
8
9
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

My last review promised that we'd be back this year. And so we were.

If you're looking for a pristine, anonymous chain hotel, don't stay here. The walls are thin, the shower pressure only moderate and people are allowed to smoke.

But ... if you're looking for a beautiful lakefront environment and an inn where dogs and their people are truly welcome, this is the place for you.

Room Tip: The second floor suites with a lakeview are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eastbaylodge, Manager at East Bay Lakefront Lodge, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Thanks for taking time to provide your valuable feedback, and for being a loyal guest. We do not allow smoking in rooms of the 80+ year old log building! And will take time to post more signage. We appreciate your input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

One of the most fun an welcoming places! Love it love it love it! Staff excellent. Our dog group likes it soooo much we come twice a year. it's the best , no place sooooo accommodating ever

Room Tip: Suites are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn Heights
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

We recently held our family reunion at East Bay Lakefront Lodge. Randy and Lorrie (the hosts) were wonderful as usual. They took care of our every need; from the slide shows in the common room to group lunch and dinner. The boat rental was a perfect addition to our gathering. A huge hug and great big thanks to Randy and Lorrie for continuing to make each of our trips to their lodge unique and wonderful !! I can not wait to go back - maybe New Years Eve again....that was a great vacation too!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Haven, Michigan
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

Once known as a top family-friendly destination beloved by families, the East Bay Lodge has morphed into a dilapidated resort for dogs and is now called HOME to at least 4 wayward locals. If you have kids – stay elsewhere. If you remember it from years ago, don’t go back because it’s not what it used to be AT ALL. The Lodge has been in decline since about 2006, but this year was the worst I’ve ever seen it.



Wanna lay on the beach? Watch out – it’s basically a giant litter box for dogs marking their territory. Wanna go for a swim? Don’t stay in the shallow water because you or your kids will get Swimmer’s Itch (even though management will tell you it’s gone for the season). Kids wanna play video games? Too bad – the few video games have been replaced by misc. ugly cabinets storing power tools and random crap. No more Snack Shack by the beach, no more Kids Games (even though the web site says they still have them). No ice machine, no snack machine.



Don’t let the kids out of your sight – seemingly friendly dogs can and WILL bite you or your child (ask Roscommon Animal Control if you don’t believe me). WEIRDO ALERT: There’s no way of knowing if the “permanent residents” of the Lodge are criminals, addicts OR sex offenders. Aside from various dogs and grime, the Lodge premises aren’t the safest, either. During our stay, several power tools (various saws, nail gun) were plugged in and left unattended by the back patio door to the lakefront for long periods, accessible to the smallest of kids and pets alike. Nice.



Daily “maid service” consisted of clean towels only when you requested them. No making of beds, no trash pick-up – nothing. We were not even on the Lodge’s “Michigan Plan” which means no maid service, although I don’t really know what the difference is. Comforters are not clean (visible stains), and neither are the icky, dog-hair covered blankets that drape over the futons in the lobby. If you’re lucky, the Summer heat will intensify the smell of dog throughout the entire lobby. YAY! Another hint of advice: don’t walk around barefoot inside – not all owners clean-up after their pets. But that’s okay, according to the Lodge owners because: “this normally doesn’t happen and we steam clean the carpet all of the time…..” yeah, right. And I’m the Pope. The black/dirty feet bottoms say enough.



Needless to say, we’re not going back. Can’t believe this place gets good reviews even from dog owners. 98% of the pictures here and on their website are from when the place was Shea’s Lodge in 2003 and earlier. How about some pictures of the place from THIS Summer? Hmm……. It’s about time this place got exposed for what it is TODAY: a run-down, dirty, poorly managed, anti-family-friendly establishment. The Lodge has literally gone to the dogs. You’d HAVE to be there for a marijuana convention in order to enjoy it! One can only hope that someone with a lot of $$$ swoops in and saves the place from impending doom.



P.S. There's not a doubt in my mind that the owners will scramble to “justify” and excuse-away everything I've written. That's ok, because the truth HAS to be told, no matter how difficult or upsetting it is. Seeing really is believing!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eastbaylodge, Manager at East Bay Lakefront Lodge, responded to this review, February 5, 2012
Thank for some useful feedback regarding snacks and video games. However, there are few exaggerations! Everyone is automatically on the Michigan Plan. Yes, things are MUCH better when Lorrie is here, but she has had to work jobs away from home to cover the decline in people coming up north for vacation. We appreciate all the loyal guests that have helped us through these difficult times and look forward to a better year with a new manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sterlingheights
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

Sure you can find better at any chain. No air, no room service, no phones. Just plain relaxing like the old days. Maybe go fishing. Maybe go swimming. Maybe just sit around chatting with new friends and play with a dog. Been coming for years.The biggest decision you gotta make is where to eat. Need something, got a concern, just let Randy know, if he can make it right, he will.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

My daughter, dog and I spent 7 nights while attending Dog Scout Camp nearby. We enjoyed the relaxed and welcoming atmosphere, our hosts, the location and the other guests. I've never stayed anywhere else where dogs are so welcomed. We'll be back next year.

Room Tip: Lakeview suites are spacious and have a great vie.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to East Bay Lakefront Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Bay Lakefront Lodge

Address: 125 Twelfth Street, PO Box 914, Prudenville, MI 48651
Location: United States > Michigan > Prudenville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Prudenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge is a classic 80 year-old resort on the shores of Houghton Lake, Michigan's largest inland body of water. This old style log building has its own sandy beach. The grounds are spacious and are sheltered by many tall trees. Attractions include: fishing, boating, championship golfing, ORVing, snow-mobiling. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage East Bay Lakefront Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.