We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint, Cute, and Clean!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Looking-Grand-Cafe

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Looking-Grand-Cafe
117 E Grand River Ave, Portland, MI 48875
(517) 647-4655
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 19 Restaurants in Portland
Restaurant details
Lansing, Michigan
1 review
“Quaint, Cute, and Clean!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

This is such a cute, down home restaurant! The service is great, the food is like a taste of home and is well priced. It fits perfectly in the quaintness of the little town it's located in. The steak salad is phenomenal and absolutely one of the best salads in the county! To top off the meal, they offer a delicious variety of homemade cakes, cookies, and pies you can take home with you!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    3
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“First visit was Great, Second not so much.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Average diner with awesome river views when the second dining room is open. The first visit we didn't notice the view until we were leaving the second time there that dining room was closed. The first time food was average at best, my meal ended up being comped because the sausage gravy was very flavorless so much so I didn't eat it. The service was great on that first trip, second trip we actually had the same server but the service was horrible. We didn't even eat there because we were ready to order and she was eating her food at the counter. My husband actually walked out because he would not have been nice. I paid for his lemonade that he only had a few sips of and I had water that was not drinkable. No one asked why we were leaving just rang up the lemonade and processed my payment. My husband sent a message via their website and never did get a response. The office is in the dining room so if you sit near it you will hear "company business". We live here now and this one "local" place we will not be supporting.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fixable letdown”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

The food and service were fine, so was the view of the river. But my enjoyment was hampered by the loudmouth at a nearby table. He arrived shortly after us and proceeded to talk loudly with the couple at the next table. Well, he wasn't talking "with" them. More like "to" them. I feel as if the management should have intervened on our behalf. I regret not asking to move to another section. We would have lost our good view, but it was hard to enjoy that either. When the other couple left, the loudmouth got on his cellphone and talked loudly with whoever he called. Meantime, loudmouth ignored his lunch companion. My memory of Looking Grand Café is headlined by a loudmouth who should have been reprimanded.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Typical small town cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

We usually try to scope out these types of places rather than settling for fast food. Menu was varied - anything from breakfast to salads, sandwiches and dinners. The desserts are obviously a specialty, and quite delicious-looking. We both had burgers and the food was adequate but nothing special about it. Our server was very attentive and friendly, prices were fair. Restroom was clean. We would probably stop there again if the opportunity arose.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Really good French toast with an even better view.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Nothing fancy, just an old fashioned clean American cafe with booths, tables, counter and a back porch area with great views of the river. The cinnamon swirl bread they use for their French toast and the special batter makes it a unique and tasty dish. The pies are homemade masterpieces. Our server was a friendly young woman who took good care of several tables at once.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Looking-Grand-Cafe also viewed

Portland, Ionia County
 
Portland, Ionia County
 

Been to Looking-Grand-Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Looking-Grand-Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.