We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Full City Cafe

Full City Cafe
7878 Oakland Dr, Portage, MI 49024-4936
269-492-7515
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 124 Restaurants in Portage
Price range: $5 - $18
Cuisines: American, Coffee Shop, Contemporary
Description: Made from scratch? You bet. For people who prefer quality food and excellent service when they eat out, our meals are made from scratch using fresh, wholesome ingredients. For people who dine in Kalamazoo and Portage restaurants who prefer fresh food and excellent service in a casual family restaurant atmosphere. Our eclectic American cuisine is scratch made, fresh, from quality ingredients. We employ highly trained, experienced people who care about the food they create to work in our kitchens. You will be treated like family by our professional and friendly wait staff.
Restaurant details
Description: Made from scratch? You bet. For people who prefer quality food and excellent service when they eat out, our meals are made from scratch using fresh, wholesome ingredients. For people who dine in Kalamazoo and Portage restaurants who prefer fresh food and excellent service in a casual family restaurant atmosphere. Our eclectic American cuisine is scratch made, fresh, from quality ingredients. We employ highly trained, experienced people who care about the food they create to work in our kitchens. You will be treated like family by our professional and friendly wait staff.
Three Rivers, Michigan, United States
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

We three different meals and we all enjoyed our respective meals. My husband is a kind of Mac and cheese nut and he thought it was very good. My friend had the duck and enjoyed the cherry sauce. We had a good evening.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith L, Owner at Full City Cafe, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you Diana- Come on back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    14
    5
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portage, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Refreshing with variety”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We love Full City Cafe. We were there just last night and had the blackened catfish and a whirtefish dinner. Both were outstanding and tastey with timely service. All the salad ingredients are from local growers so everything is fresh with an artistic touch from the chef. The servers are very interested in there customers being satisfied and will bend over backwards to please. The coffees are excellent, but the teas are to die for. My favorite is the cinnimon tea which will come in its own iron pot and set at your table waiting to serve more. Can't get enough of this place with its airy environment and artistic decor from local artists. You won't be disappointed!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith L, Owner at Full City Cafe, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you DavePortage We try to keep it local, fresh and interesting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kalamazoo mi
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Blueberry Muffin best Ever, Cafe type Restaurant off the Beaten Path”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Came here one cold morning during the January 2014 Freeze. Hot cocoa was good. Ordered 2 eggs, potatoes, muffin. I thought I was getting a english muffin with butter. But Surprise! I got the best blueberry crumb muffin ever! Eggs were done to my liking, but the fried potatoes were over seasoned for me, seasoned salt, is my guess. Overall, I enjoyed the breakfast. Great Service. Server made sure we were drink filled and satisfied. It is located in a nicer area, strip mall, where few sit-down "food" options are.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith L, Owner at Full City Cafe, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
We are glad you enjoyed yourself. Next time your in just ask your server and we will go easier on the seasonings for you. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Mediocre food, mediocre serving and bad treatment...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Earlier on their food was spot on, now their food is at best mediocre. We ordered whole wheat, they brought white bread, i ordered fries with cheese and they looked it like they have been sitting around all day. We ordered guacamole in the sandwiches, they forgot, I ordered hot chocolate and it came out cold, and then they got rude when i told them that the chocolate was cold! The sandwiches went back and forth to the kitchen four times and the bacon was gummy and undercooked and it looked old.

The waitresses are not well trained, they are rude and inconsidered and have a bad attitude. The reason why the place is going down the pipe? The owner and his wife are not very nice people and the head follows the body. They seem to get bother with the customer when you tell them how bad things are becoming.

So go ahead and waste your money, this is the reason why they are number 17 or 18 among 120 portage restaurants their service and the food sucked.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allegan Michigan
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Full City for Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

There are only a few 'upscale' breakfast places in the Kalamazoo/Portage area, and Full City is a good choice when you want a super nice meal, and a latte or expresso with it. We've been there for several breakfasts over the last several months and always leave happy. Good service, great menu items..says it all!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith L, Owner at Full City Cafe, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and for not lumping us in with "the other breakfast places."
We make most everything from scratch and we think it makes a huge difference.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Full City Cafe also viewed

Portage, Kalamazoo County
 
Portage, Kalamazoo County
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
 

Been to Full City Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Full City Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.