We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean-AND Upscale” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Quality Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1720 Hancock Street, Port Huron, MI 48060   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Port Huron
Certificate of Excellence 2014
grand island, new york
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Clean-AND Upscale”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2007

This hotel is right near the entrance to the bridge to Canada. At first glance it looks like your average chain-but it's not. As frequent travelers often disappointed with the poor quality of many hotels costing much more, we were quite impressed with this property. It was spotlessly clean, fashionably decorated, had super comfy bed/ linens, a great shower & nice continental breakfast-fresh flowers on every table!. Very efficient & friendly staff. Ownership/management "TLC" is apparent. GREAT value for $109. We had a nice dinner at the upscale "Bistro 1882" under the Bluewater Bridge. Port Huron is an interesting great lakes border town with an industrial heritage. There's a nice little beach at the harbor entrance, a waterfront walking path along the St. Clair River and a lot of restored buildings and grand homes in the downtown area. We were glad we made Port Huron more than a mere "pit stop" along the way and spent an afternoon/evening exlporing and enjoying.

  • Liked — Cleanliness/updated decor
  • Disliked — No cocktail lounge/dining in house
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    43
    8
    7
    8
See reviews for
28
24
7
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2006

The rooms were clean, but they had a strong chemical smell. One of the main problems with this hotel is that the smoking rooms are directly across the hall from the non-smoking rooms. If you do not like second-hand smoke, you don't want to stay here. There was no way to keep the smoke smell out of your room. The breakfast was quite mediocre.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay City, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2005

I have stayed at this hotel during my many travels to Port Huron. Not once have I ever had a complaint! The staff are always friendly and helpful. The rooms are always clean and comfortable! The breakfast bar is always clean and neat with good food! All I can say is keep up the good work!

  • Stayed August 2005, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, WA
1 review
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2005

I just returned from a trip to Port Huron, MI to visit family and stayed at the Holiday Inn Express. This is the second time that I have stayed at a Holiday Inn Express and was impressed both times. I was especially pleased with the one in Port Huron. The hotel was clean, the commons area cozy, the breakfast bar fabulous, and the staff knew about customer service! It is a great place to take children or go on a business trip. Two thumbs up.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2004

My stay at the holiday inn express here in Port Huron was simply disasterous. Please don't misunderstand me as I tell you of the "Hospitality Promise" of this hotel was just not met with I nor the rest of my family. We are in the process of relocating due to the recent job transfer of my spouse. On our journey we have stayed at several Holiday Inn Express hotels. This paticular Holiday Inn that I'm regarding my comments to is -JUST- "Holiday Inn Express of Port Huron, Michigan" We began our trip on the west coast of Southern Ca. Dec.
20th, 2003 and it is now Jan. 4th. Due to the fact that escrow does not close on the new home we purchased here during our trip at the beginning of December 2003. Had we stayed here then I would be more aware of the management/staff and their very displeasing attitudes.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2003

We had a great couple of days at this Holiday Inn Express! The price was modest for all the amenities, indoor swimming pool, indoor play scape, free daily continental breakfast, crib for the baby, in room refridgerator at a nominal cost, free coffee pot and coffe in the room, as well as hair dryer. The Grandkids loved it. The 4 year old just kept saying, over and over, thank you for bringing us here, this is wonderful. The only thing I would recommend is a towel bar at the sink, which is outside of the tub and toilet area.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2003

This place is a great Holiday Inn. Can't say that Port Huron is this great. It has a nice pool and hot tub. The staff is great! Later, Joe

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites

Address: 1720 Hancock Street, Port Huron, MI 48060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Port Huron
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Port Huron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Port Huron, Michigan, a place like no other. The Quality Inn and Suites of Port Huron is conveniently located at the end of I-94E off of Exit 275 with easy access to Canada via the beautiful Bluewater Bridge and Lake Huron. If your preference is the beach, boating, fishing, diving, shopping, golf, business or pleasure, we are the perfect location for your home away from home. Port Huron, Michigan offers something for everyone and is located 60 miles northeast of Detriot, one hour east of Flint and 2 miles west of Sarnia, Ontario in Canada, allowing several day trips from our location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Port Huron
Quality Inn And Suites
Holiday Inn Port Huron
Port Huron Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.