We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   800 Harker St, Port Huron, MI 48060 (Formerly Thomas Edison Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package!
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Port Huron
Lewes, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

We enjoyed our stay! Staff were friendly, and the food was good. The location was excellent. We enjoyed the view of the St Clair river and the lake freighters that traveled by on their way to their various great lakes destinations.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amber B, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you for your review of the DoubleTree by Hilton – Port Huron and for staying with us! We have a great location with being on the blue water! We hope to welcome you back again with warm DoubleTree cookies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    83
    23
    5
    4
See reviews for
78
132
9
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the hotel and had a date night. We enjoyed a fabulous supper at the restaurant while watching the boats on the water, had a nice walk along the water after and finally a swim/hot tub before turning in for the night. Had a great night sleep, the beds are very comfortable. Will come again for sure.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amber B, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you for staying at the DoubleTree by Hilton – Port Huron! We are glad to hear that you had an amazing date night. Freighters does have a great view of the water, and you can even see Freighters passing by. Also, the boardwalk is a very nice place to walk after dinner! We hope to welcome you back on your next date night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingersoll, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

Each spring, my husband and I along ,with our best friends plan a weekend away. The men golf and we shop. The last few years we have gone to Buffalo, N. Y. and Erie, Pa due to the great accommodations and prices. We have always stayed away from Port Huron because we could not find an appealing hotel. I was pleasantly surprised when I found such positive reviews on this property. The rooms are clean and well appointed and we even got a river view. The warm cookie on arrival was a very nice touch also. We ate both nights at the restaurant on site called Freighters. Excellent service (especially by Ty) and a well priced and extensive menu. Overall the four of us were very pleased with our stay and plan to return again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amber B, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you for staying at the DoubleTree by Hilton – Port Huron! We are glad that you decided to come to Port Huron this year. There are many golf courses around and lots of shopping places close by. The food at Freighters is amazing, but it is the service that will make you come back. We will be sure to give Ty the recognition that he deserves. We hope to welcome you back with warm DoubleTree cookies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton Township
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

My wife and myself celebrated our 30th anniversary while we where at Double Tree. We had such a great view of the two bridges at Port Huron. We also where treated with several ships passing by so close we thought we could take to the deck hands on the ship. We also where surprised by the ships blowing there whistle. On the second morning we sleep in because of the comfortable bed. We where awaken peacefully by a ships whistle. This is worth sever more stays when we are in the area. Very clean and hospital.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amber B, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Congratulations on your 30th Wedding Anniversary! Thank you for staying at the DoubleTree by Hilton – Port Huron. The view from the hotel rooms is fantastic and very relaxing. We are glad to hear that you had a wonderful time, and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

My wife and myself stayed for two nights. We where welcomed at the front desk with a very helpful lady. Our room was facing the Blue Water Bridges. We where greeted during iur stay with several ships. Some times they would blow there whisle. Our room staff where very helpful also when thhe next morning my wife ask for more coffie packets. We had a choice of brewing 1 or 2 cups of great coffee from our coffee maker. The. Bed was so very compfortable we sleeped in longer the first day. The gym and pool area where kept very clean as the hallways also. We highly agree that this is the hotel to stay at. Our only problem was we only had time to stay two nights.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amber B, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review of the DoubleTree by Hilton – Port Huron and for staying at the property. We are excited to hear that we had caring staff members that were able to assist you. The beds are called Sweet Dream beds, and they give guest a wonderful night of sleep. We hope that the next time that you stay here you can stay for a long weekend!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Recently visited Port Huron, a city we had driven through a few times, but had never spent any time there. Heard about this hotel from a friend who recommended we stay there because it is right on the water and you can sit in your room and watch freighters go by. Really enjoyed our stay.....staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Room was nice, clean, with a great view and small balcony. Everything was updated, however I think they went a little cheap on the bathroom updates....not a big deal, but just something I noticed. Just had appetizers and drinks at the restaurant....staff very friendly and good service. Would like to try dinner there sometime. I would stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amber B, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Thank you for your review of the DoubleTree by Hilton – Port Huron. We are glad that your friend recommended coming to the DoubleTree by Hilton – Port Huron! We have a great location with being right on the water. Plus, you might even see a freighter pass by! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylmer, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Good ,clean rooms, nice pool area, a little more pricey then some with breakfast included ,convenient for shopping, did not have room keys upon check-in but staff took us to our rooms 3 x Would be nice weather permitting to sit on the balcony

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amber B, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Thank you for staying at the DoubleTree by Hilton – Port Huron. We appreciate your feedback and the acknowledgement of our clean hotel. For the month of April we were 5th out of 296 DoubleTree properties in the world for cleanliness. Our staff takes great pride in making sure that our property is beautiful for our guests. We are very sorry that you did not have room keys. Our system had crashed and we were unable to check anyone in, answer the phone, or make keys. I understand that it was frustrating that we had to take you to your room. We did the best that we could given the circumstance that we were in. We hope that the next time that you are in Port Huron you will come stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton – Port Huron.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron

Address: 800 Harker St, Port Huron, MI 48060 (Formerly Thomas Edison Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Port Huron
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Port Huron
#1 Business Hotel in Port Huron
#1 Romantic Hotel in Port Huron
#2 Family Hotel in Port Huron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron 3.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron and you can enjoy spacious accommodations, modern amenities and a friendly welcome. We will even greet you with our delicious fresh-baked cookie upon arrival. Centrally located in Port Huron, Michigan, minutes from St. Clair County International Airport, this modern hotel is close to a number of Port Huron businesses including Domtar Paper Mill, Mueller Industries, Henkel and many companies related to the automobile industry. Enjoy easy access to Port Huron’s historic downtown area, with its specialty shops and waterfront eateries, the boardwalk and marina and the McMorran Place Sports & Entertainment Center.Each of the spacious guest rooms and suites at this Port Huron hotel feature modern amenities including; a 37-inch HDTV, a spacious work area, a microwave and mini-refrigerator, a comfortable Sweet Dreams bed, remote printing service and complimentary WiFi. Some guest rooms have balconies offering breathtaking views of The Blue Water Bridge and the St. Clair River. Wake up to a cooked-to-order breakfast every morning and enjoy classic American dishes in our relaxed hotel restaurant, Freighters. Maintain your exercise regime in the complimentary fitness center. Host a successful business or social event at this Port Huron, MI hotel with a variety flexible meeting spaces, including two spacious ballrooms, all offering complimentary WiFi and stay connected in the complimentary 24-hour business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thomas Edison Hotel Port Huron
Thomas Edison Port Huron
Thomas Edison Inn Port Huron Mi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.