We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the same” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   800 Harker St, Port Huron, MI 48060 (Formerly Thomas Edison Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package!
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Port Huron
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Not the same”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

My husband and I went to Port Huron for a little get away. We had fond memories of the Thomas Edison Inn, so we thought we'd give the new management a try (Double Tree). We had a lovely room with a great view of the river and the bridge. Everything was new, very modern and clean, we did miss the vintage charm of the old hotel but everything about the new hotel was fine. The staff was very helpful and the warm cookie upon arrival was amazing.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amber B, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Thank you for staying at the DoubleTree by Hilton – Port Huron! We appreciate your review and we are happy to welcome you back to the property. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the property and our team members. We hope to welcome you back again soon, with warm DoubleTree cookies of course.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    82
    23
    5
    4
See reviews for
78
131
9
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
NW Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Room was very clean. Hotel was very quite and bed was better then I have at home. Freighter restaurant is attached to hotel so made it easy at end of a long day. Food and drink was above average with a view of the river. If your in the area, this is the place to be!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amber B, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Thank you for staying at the DoubleTree by Hilton – Port Huron! We appreciate your review! Our beds are called Sweet Dreams and we have many guests that say that they had a wonderful night of sleep. Our on-site restaurant, Freighters Eatery & Taproom, does provide excellent drinks and food with their “Commit to the Mitt” philosophy, of providing Michigan based products. We appreciate your recommendation and we hope to welcome you back soon with warm DoubleTree cookies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Florida, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

My 7 day stay was great. Everyone at the Double Tree was more than friendly. There was always a smile on everyone's face. The room was clean every day. When I had any questions, I got the help or answer with a smile. I will always recommend and stay if needed at the Double Tree.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amber B, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Thank you for staying at the DoubleTree by Hilton – Port Huron, especially for 7 days! We love to take the time to get to know our guests, and we appreciate the time getting to know you! We are grateful of your recommendation and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west blomfield, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

My boyfriend is a hospital doctor and works so many hours. He decided to make me a surprise with a gateway weekend. He booked this hotel, close to where we live but fun and with lake view. It was great! Everything was perfect!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amber B, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Thank you for staying at the DoubleTree by Hilton – Port Huron! We are glad to hear that you had a romantic weekend away with your husband! Waking up in a water view room is incredible and very relaxing. We hope that the next time that you guys take a mini vacation that you will stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton – Port Huron.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We have nothing but good things to say about this hotel. We arrived just after 10 p.m. to two friendly young women at the desk who couldn't have been more helpful. Our rooms were large enough and so well equipped....microwave and fridge, big fluffy towels, excellent chair and lamp for reading, etc. It was quiet and we slept beautifully. The fitness center was one of the best we have ever seen....large, well equipped, bright, looking out over the river....pool attached. The restaurant onsite was also good with a nice selection at the breakfast buffet. The information in the room citing local tourist options has made us want to return for a quiet, restful, but fun weekend. Terrific experience!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amber B, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Thank you for staying at the DoubleTree by Hilton – Port Huron and for your wonderful review of the property. We have an excellent front desk staff that does a fantastic job of informing guests about our hotel as well as the area. We are glad to hear that you had peaceful night of sleep. The fitness center is very large, offering an assortment of different equipment that guests can use. The on-site restaurant, Freighters Eatery & Taproom, has a wonderful menu and breathtaking views of the water. We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Port Huron!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Pointe
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

great pool and hot tub, hotel rooms re-done very nice, great view of the river and ships passing by along with a nice restaurant with a great view. the location was easy to get to the downtoen area and the staff was very friendly and the free warm chocolate chip cookies is a nice added touch

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amber B, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Thank you for staying at the DoubleTree by Hilton – Port Huron! We appreciate your feedback and are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the rooms, fitness center, and the restaurant. We take great pride in ensure that the facility is clean and welcoming to our guests. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

I was in Port Huron for my mothers funeral & The Double Tree was very kind to us in this time of sorrow. The rooms were spotless & very comfortable...the staff was very helpful. The restaurant (Freighters) has excellent food. We would definitely would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amber B, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
We are very sad to hear about the passing of your mother. May happy memories of your mother comfort you now. We are glad to hear that you had a wonderful time at the DoubleTree by Hilton – Port Huron given the circumstances that you were here for. We hope to welcome you back again with warm DoubleTree cookies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron

Address: 800 Harker St, Port Huron, MI 48060 (Formerly Thomas Edison Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Port Huron
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Port Huron
#1 Romantic Hotel in Port Huron
#1 Business Hotel in Port Huron
#2 Family Hotel in Port Huron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron 3.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron and you can enjoy spacious accommodations, modern amenities and a friendly welcome. We will even greet you with our delicious fresh-baked cookie upon arrival. Centrally located in Port Huron, Michigan, minutes from St. Clair County International Airport, this modern hotel is close to a number of Port Huron businesses including Domtar Paper Mill, Mueller Industries, Henkel and many companies related to the automobile industry. Enjoy easy access to Port Huron’s historic downtown area, with its specialty shops and waterfront eateries, the boardwalk and marina and the McMorran Place Sports & Entertainment Center.Each of the spacious guest rooms and suites at this Port Huron hotel feature modern amenities including; a 37-inch HDTV, a spacious work area, a microwave and mini-refrigerator, a comfortable Sweet Dreams bed, remote printing service and complimentary WiFi. Some guest rooms have balconies offering breathtaking views of The Blue Water Bridge and the St. Clair River. Wake up to a cooked-to-order breakfast every morning and enjoy classic American dishes in our relaxed hotel restaurant, Freighters. Maintain your exercise regime in the complimentary fitness center. Host a successful business or social event at this Port Huron, MI hotel with a variety flexible meeting spaces, including two spacious ballrooms, all offering complimentary WiFi and stay connected in the complimentary 24-hour business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thomas Edison Hotel Port Huron
Thomas Edison Port Huron
Thomas Edison Inn Port Huron Mi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.