We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy old building, well prepared cuisine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bistro 1882

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Bistro 1882
400 Quay St., Port Huron, MI 48060-2937
810-966-6900
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 77 Restaurants in Port Huron
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Oswego, IL
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Cozy old building, well prepared cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

I was here a few years ago on another business trip and remembered how good it was then. This trip I was looking for the same friendly service and excellent french style food. I was not disappointed as the crab-stuffed filet was tender with every bite and the flavors were melded well and deliciously rich. This was one of the few times I completely finished my plate and even the mini-loaf of freshly baked bread. The server has been there many years and was proud to extol the rich history of both the building and the restaurant itself. I will be disappointed if they move to a new location downtown but I guess that is in the plans.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    7
    1
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Gratiot, Michigan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Romantic atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Great desserts and martinis. Small dining room, but good food.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Canada
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Port Huron's best,.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

This was not our first visit to 1882 and it was also excellent food - good selection, good preparation, etc. - and good service. What else should a restaurant provide ?

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
242 reviews 242 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
“Best in a gastronomic wasteland”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

We read about this restaurant and booked a table for our one night stay at the nearby Thomas Edison Inn (about a five minute walk away).

The decor is charming and very pleasant, and the service was excellent.

The food was not bad, but not as good as I had hoped. My duck was so overwhelmed by the overdose of raspberry sauce that I could hardly taste it. I was also somewhat surprised that it arrived less than ten minutes after I ordered it, which suggests it was prepared in advance and reheated (perhaps I am being unfair here, but that's what I felt). My wife's pork was very good, although the quantity was huge and she couldn't eat it all (about four times as much as you would get in a French bistro). The appetizers were good, as were the house wines by the glass.

Perhaps my expectations were too high. Nevertheless it was overall an enjoyable experince and we know of nowhere else nearby that is as good.

Unless there are new developments, we would eat here again and commend the owners for being so adventurous to open a bistro in this place.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Very fine dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

A very pleasant 'find' in Port Huron. Went with small kids, which was a bit tricky given that it's not really suitable for families. But the food was very good.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro 1882 also viewed

 

Been to Bistro 1882? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistro 1882, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.