We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just got back form new orleans so we compared” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cajun Gator - CLOSED

Cajun Gator
321 Huron, Port Huron, MI 48060
734.658.6490
Website
Improve this listing
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Ontario
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“just got back form new orleans so we compared”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

had oyster poor boy and coldslaw with blue cheese dressing very good just like new Orleans appetizer parmason broiled oysters good no complaints great place

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    7
    4
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sarnia, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“First and Last Time”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

The craft beer selection was OK, though several listing were unavailable. The draft system needs work our beers were not served at their best. The craft brewer's/suppliers would be horrified.
We both ordered the grilled oysters, they were not very good at all. They need a lot of work, suggestions: a) cheese/seasoning was MIA on about half the oysters, b) chargrilling is the only way to "grill" oysters (think ACME Oyster House & Drago's in NOLA)!
Very disappointed!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby Township, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice Patio!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We stopped in heading home from camping for lunch. GREAT patio, decorated like mini Bourbon Street, great music, food & drinks. Our server, Jenna, was amazing. I can't wait to go back for the live music they offer. The patio is just wonderful, highly recommend a seat outside :)

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fun Atmosphere taking you back to New Orleans!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Walking into this newly renovated restaurant through its rear outdoor patio bar area I was immediately taken back to New Orleans. From the wrought iron balcony's to the live gator you walk past as you enter the restaurant, it is a fun atmosphere for sure. Our server, Gary was very attentive an promptly offered us a cocktail from the full bar and craft beer selections. I ordered the peach salsa salmon with sweet potato succotash which was wonderful! My wife ordered homemade chicken noodle soup and seafood Cobb salad which she enjoyed! We topped off our meal with homemade Crem Brûlée which was delightful. With live entertainment and a great atmosphere, the Cajun Gator is a great addition to the great Port Huron restaurant scene!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pleasant surprise!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We went in with a group and had a wonderful experience! Food was tasty and prepared well. Atmosphere and service was great! What a pleasant surprise, we wernt sure what to expect but glad we tried it. Definitely will be back again and looking forward to trying the outdoor patio old New Orleans style!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cajun Gator also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cajun Gator, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.