We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only thing good was my wife's lobster M&C” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Freighter's

Freighter's
2155 Thomas Edison Pkwy, Port Huron, MI
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 79 Restaurants in Port Huron
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Marine City, Michigan
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“The only thing good was my wife's lobster M&C”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

got seated rather quickly, from there downhill. Took about 10 minutes to get a drink, asked for tall drinks got short drinks, she did not acknowledge empty glass for refill. Offered appetizers for $3 special, ordered wings, it was then that she stated it was a 1/2 order special - NOT so special. My wife got Lobster M&C - she liked it, I asked for French dip, 1st it took about 50 minutes to get food, and mine was ice cold, and it was 2pm on a Monday (not very crowded), my family lives in Port Huron and all of the reviews are very mixed, one brother likes it, another like myself will never return. They did take off cost of my sandwich, but we were out to enjoy the day, not have terrible service and cold food.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    21
    13
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“French dip and Twisted Mac and Cheese are the best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We have been to Freighter's 4 times since it has open. Thursday nights is half off bottles of wine. The food is good and a pretty good value.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Huron, Michigan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“New restaurant”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We were looking forward to visiting. How disappointing. The decor was blah. The view spectacular. The noise was terrible. The appetizers were very good but the steak was like cardboard. Service was excellent. The place was packed so
I guess we were out of sync. No salad with our meal. Not sure we'll return

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, Michigan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good Food, Good Service, Fair Prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Stopped in Freighters today, while looking for the old Thomas Edison Inn. We had been to the Edison Inn several times over the the years, but not recently. To our surprise, it is now "Freighters", and part of a Doubletree Hotel. Decided to take a chance, and we were glad we did. Our waitress, Doreen,was prompt, friendly and efficient. The food was tasty and very well presented, even though we just ordered bar food - tacos, nachos, fish and chips and sandwiches. Highly recommend Freighters and will go back next time in the Port Huron area.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, MI
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Great spot in Port Huron”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Freighter's is pretty new, it is in the Doubletree Hotel in PH. It is huge and looks out onto the St. Clair River and you next to the Blue Water Bridge. When we were there it was packed, Saturday night and homecoming night. We were given a buzzer and it was like 10 or 15 minutes since it was just two of us with no preference for where we sat. Our drink order came pretty quickly but the vodka martinis were small compared to what we are used to at other places. We order the deep fried pickles with a mustard maple syrup glaze and they were tasty. Loved the glaze, the restaurant stresses local ingredients so the pickles were from Croswell and the maple syrup from nearby also. I had the Thai Chicken Salad and the chicken had a nice asain flavor, veggies were all super fresh. Could live without the rice noodles they just taste like styorfoam. Husband tried the wings and got the Traverse City Cherry Chipotle and was not a big fan of the sauce. Also tried the mac and cheese which is truly decadent and delish. Wines are offered by the glass or bottle and are very reasonable $5 to $8 a glass with bottles starting at $20.00. Ordered the Twisted Chocolate cake to take back to the room. Holy cow it is filled with chocolate mousse sand topped with cinnamon whipped cream and pecans. Big enough to split, if you ate the whole thing alone I think you would be nuts. Prices seemed low to us, the whole bill with wine, those small martinis and food was $71.00. The menu has something for everyone, steak, seafood, burgers of all kinds, a kid menu. All the staff were again friendly and attentive and this place was slammed as I said that night. We came back in the morning to try the breakfast buffet and the $9.95 price includes coffee, tea and juice. The have huge La Creuset casseroles full of eggs, potatoes, pancakes, bacon, sausage and then there are tons of breakfast breads, cereal in those cute boxes, toast, bagels it's a good spread. Would cost you $3.00 just for a cup of coffee and $3.50 for one breakfast bread so you might as well get the buffet. Again the servers and staff were great and checked often to see if more coffee or anything was needed. I think Frieghter's is a great new place in PH, they have also added a really nice terrace patio next to the restaurant where you can have your meal or drinks.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Freighter's also viewed

 

Been to Freighter's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Freighter's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.