We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lighthouse Cafe

The Lighthouse Cafe
44 e spring street, Port Austin, MI 48567
989-738-5239
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 16 Restaurants in Port Austin
Price range: $1 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Description: Breakfast is served all day, and the food is made fresh to order. Home made breads, potatoes, sausages, burgers, chili and so much more. There is a little bit of something for everyone, and Carol always has something new on special.
Hartland, Michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Been visiting Port Austin for years. The owner, staff of the Lighthouse really care about their food and customers. Just stopped in again yesterday on a trip to the Thumb area and had to have breakfast at the Lighthouse Café. Absolutely outstanding. All the homemade wonderful bread and excellent ham, fresh eggs and potatoes. It was wonderful. By the way, the Lighthouse Café also makes excellent homemade soups!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    8
    5
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Troy, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Slow Service, Questionable Food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Based on reviews on this restaurant we stopped here specifically to have the perch dinner. While my wife & I were greeted promptly and quickly served coffee (plus a 2nd cup), everything was downhill from there.

We ordered the house salad with the meal --- they brought only 1 salad and it took 20 minutes to do so and it was an additional 5-10 minutes before the 2nd salad was served. When the perch was finally served, it was overcooked and not particularly appetizing at all.

The one bright spot was that the price was reasonable --- we can understand why!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macomb, Michigan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We ate here for 2 different breakfasts and had really good food. The service was also good. There seemed to quite a few locals eating here and we always consider that a good thing

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Top Contributor
252 reviews 252 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“You Must Eat Here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

If you don't eat breakfast here, you will be so sorry! I have to say that I am a foodie, (that's a word?), breakfast is my favorite meal and this place delivers. Like the other reviews, your driving back in time, small town america, you see a line out of a small restaurant and you don't stop? We had to wait about twenty minutes, I don't wait period, tells you something don't it. I chose every meat on the menu, home made bread and pancakes. Yes, I was nursing a hangover and this place has the cure. The home fries rate a "10" on the potato scale, the meats were all delicious and the bread was fantastic. I couldn't even begin to finish this feast, but when I come back I'll be eating here!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Recommended to us for breakfast. A warm greeting, prompt delivery of coffee, we then ordered: my husband had eggs, with bacon, ham and sausage which also included potatoes and toast (the works) and I had eggs and ham with toast. Our waitress suggested the homemade toast which was awesome. Our food was perfectly cooked, the owner himself came over and talked to us and we told him we really enjoyed coming here. Great value also and everything is homemade. If you're visiting Port Austin, don't miss this place!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lighthouse Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Lighthouse Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lighthouse Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.