We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Undercooked brisket, spotty service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ironwood Grill Plymouth

Ironwood Grill Plymouth
840 Ann Arbor Trail, Plymouth, MI
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 126 restaurants in Plymouth
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
michigan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Undercooked brisket, spotty service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

This place has so many nice reviews our experience was a real disappointment. The restaurant is clean, and had a nice ambiance. When we got there, the restaurant was half empty but we waited a solid 5 minutes before someone offered to seat us. Add another 10 before someone came over to take our drink order. Food came out of the kitchen promptly. The brisket was underdone. The bbq beef sandwich we ordered was essentially inedible. The meat tasted old. Sweet potato and regular fries were good. Cornbread had so much sugar in it, it tasted like yellow cake.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    26
    25
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Love the atmosphere, pretty good food too! Sweet potato fries are great! They actually cook the fries so they come black and tender. Pizza is great too! Tonight was first time and I'll be back for sure.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, MI
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ironwood Consistently delivers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

So, you live in the city but want some good barbecue? Then this is the place to go. Oh you want pizza instead? Ditto. To be honest, there hasn't been anything on the menu that we haven't liked. Philly Cheese steak, awesome. French Dip, awesome. Cheese Sticks? some of the best. Pulled Pork, an actual smokey flavor. It is by far the best I've had in the north! If you want some good food at a cool place in DTP, you have to try Ironwood.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Great Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

My family and I live a few blocks from Ironwood and it has gradually become one of our staples. We often carry out, but we have two small children and when we do eat there they always do a great job of accommodating us.

Every item from the menu has been quite good. The salmon sandwich and chili are two of my regulars, the calamari is verging on some of the best I've had - tender and accentuated with a drizzle of hot sauce. The portabella chicken is simply outstanding.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn Hills, Michigan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Tasty Food, Great Beer Selection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We visited Ironwood with friends on a Sunday night. Arriving around 7pm, the restaurant was quite full, but we were seated immediately. There are TVs surrounding the eating area, but the volume is down, so you can have a nice conversation.

The menu is large, which always makes me nervous (seems a place should specialize rather than generalize), but everyone was very happy with their meal.

The BBQ is the specialty, and very tasty. The pulled pork in particular is very flavorful, not greasy, and a nice, large portion. Similarly, the Blue Cheese Burger had a delightful taste; clearly the beef is fresh and nicely seasoned.

There are many beers to choose from, including "typical" fare and microbrews. You will certainly find something for your taste.

Our server was attentive without being overbearing, and she knew the menu well, which is always appreciated.

I would recommend Ironwood for a family outing or a meal with friends.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ironwood Grill Plymouth also viewed

 

Been to Ironwood Grill Plymouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ironwood Grill Plymouth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.