We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slightly improved.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Odawa Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Petoskey
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Odawa Hotel
Save
You added Odawa Hotel to your Saves list
1444 US 131 South, Petoskey, MI 49770 (Formerly Victories Casino and Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Petoskey
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Slightly improved.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I have stayed here in the past and decided to give it another try. Compared to the previous visit, it was slightly better. The property has updated the carpet, bedding and hallways. It does make it look a bit fresher. Upon arrival - early in the day - the room was ready which was nice. Our room had a nice view of the bay. Something about the hotel still is slightly off-putting - and there is still room for improvement in some places. I don't see the breakfast as a selling point - if you're not really hungry - skip it as the offerings are limited and not that fresh. The hotel is definitely improved but still average - and I'm sure you can find better elsewhere around town. But - if you're visiting the casino you will receive a $10 food credit, $10 slot play and $5 blackjack play per person - so this makes the stay much more worth it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    50
    27
    12
    9
See reviews for
26
61
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I stayed here after a wedding at a different location (Castle Farms). My biggest complaint and confusion is that the hotel and the casino are in different places. There are frequent and free shuttle buses running btwn the two, but it's a 20-30 min round trip if you need to go back to your room. I kept forgetting this when we were at the casino and thinking the hotel was upstairs, like a normal casino hotel set up. The room was nice, basic. Bath and Body Works bathroom amenities. The continental breakfast is a bit skimpy. Bagels/pastries/juice/coffee. Apparently there is a new hotel being built with the casino. I would stay there, but if I were to be in Petoskey again before it is completed, I would stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Because it is affiliated w/ a casino there are still smoking floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskegon, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We only stayed here 7/3 on our way to the U.P. but it was very nice we will stay here again! The rooms are very clean and the continental breakfast was nice also. It is very close to the casino and we also did some shopping downtown, it is also located next to a strip mall.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling Heights, Michigan, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Our stay was a pleasant one. The room was redecorated with new carpet and the plumbing didn't bang each time our toilet was flushed. I still hate the area's hard water which makes you feel you haven't rinsed enough when you shower or wash your hands. I used bottled water the rinse my fingers so I could handle my soft contact lenses without transferring oil from the soap.

There was always adequate staff at the front desk. They were friendly. Comps were generous. We received two free nights (as avid spenders in their casino) plus $10 food credit+$10 casino credit for both of us ($40 per room per night). The casino buffet is best when you come early, a late 8pm dinner was disappointing, but a 5 pm was outstanding.

Odawa Hotel is a great value and we'll use it again in August.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

The Odawa Hotel is a fresh surprise for frequent travelers. Although not a full service hotel, it has all the amenities needed for a good night's sleep.
- Check in was fast and accurate
- Room was large with refrigerator, 4-cup coffee, flat screen
- Very, Very Clean with new carpet, fresh paint, wall coverings, shower/tub
- Quiet
- Bedding very comfortable
- Nice work desk
- Adequate lighting
- 5 floors
- Free Wi-Fi 5 megs
- Receipt on door - no need to checkout at front desk
- Bath and Body soaps
- Good water pressure with normal shower head
- No restaurant/bar on property - take shuttle to casino
- Nice casino perks for guests
- Nearby shopping and several restaurants
- Close self park - no long walks
- free shuttle with prompt pickup to/from casino, 3 minute ride

I will definitely stay here again when in the area, solid service with nice comfortable accommodations.

Safe Travels!

Room Tip: 5th Floor with view of lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Wonderful birthday at Odawa Casino. We stayed in a suite at the hotel. The $20.00 extra is well worth it. The view of the bay is great. We each received $25.00 food and gambling vouchers for staying at the hotel. I also received vouchers for my birthday month. The hotel is being re-modeled with new carpet. Very nice! The free breakfast is always good at the hotel. The buffet at the casino is always well worth. Always a great trip to Odawa casino!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Ile
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

march 14 2013. Just returned from a 3 night stay at odawa hotel in Petosky.They're remodeling is almost complete. New carpet and paint in rooms and hallways. Our room was nice and clean,our mattress was good , and newer bed linens. My wife liked that they now use a top sheet over the blanket instead of a comforter ( cleaner). We have stayed here many times over the years, and have never had a bad experience.The pool and hot tub area is open and clean. The staff were all great . We usually get the stay and play package deal. Room is $69.99 (+about $7 tax & fees). This includes $10 food voucher for casino, $10 slot play,$5 blackjack per person per day. Their continental breakfast is better than most, with cereal , muffins , bagels, pastries, hard boiled eggs, and excellent strawberry yogurt & granola ( served till 1030 am). The casinos buffet is a little higher end than little river or kewadins. Lunch buffet is served till 4 pm when it is closed for 1 hour . Reopens @ 5 for dinner when the price goes from 9.95 to 17.95. Don't be afraid of eating at the casinos snack bar, they have excellent salads and sandwiches. The hotel is about a mile from casino , but shuttle service is fast. If you take advantage of all the package offers, it is quite a good value. Petosky area has a lot to offer besides gambling too. Mackinaw bridge is only about an hour away , so it makes a nice day trip . The slots seem tighter than they were a few years ago, but we find that true at all the casinos up north.

Room Tip: Ask for a 4th ( 5th floor is all suites) floor bayview room. great view of little traverse bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Odawa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Odawa Hotel

Address: 1444 US 131 South, Petoskey, MI 49770 (Formerly Victories Casino and Hotel)
Location: United States > Michigan > Petoskey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Petoskey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A recent AAA 3 Diamond recipient, the Odawa Hotel greets you with a warm welcome from the moment you enter. The rich wood and luxurious leather in the lobby immediately tells you that this is where you can relax, rejuvenate, unwind. The Odawa Hotel is but minutes from the casino by free shuttle service. It offers 127 inviting, attractive rooms and 10 elegantly appointed suites. Each is designed to soothe with warm color schemes and well-crafted furnishings. More than half of the rooms offer stunning vistas of Little Traverse Bay. The Odawa Hotel also offers a luxurious indoor pool and jacuzzi, a convenient breakfast room, and a lounge area beautifully accented with an impressive stone fireplace. The rich combination of natural designs and an impeccable attention to detail make the Odawa Hotel the most appealing choice for vacationers and business travelers alike. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Odawa Hotel Petoskey
Victories Casino Petoskey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Odawa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.