We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, inviting atmosphere at the Terrace Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Terrace Inn and 1911 Restaurant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Terrace Inn and 1911 Restaurant to your Saves list
Terrace Inn and 1911 Restaurant
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   1549 Glendale, P. O. Box 266, Petoskey, MI 49770   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Petoskey B&B and Inns
A TripAdvisor Member
“Relaxing, inviting atmosphere at the Terrace Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2005

My wife and I spent a couple of nights for a busines seminar at the Inn. The accomodations were very good, the meals were excellent not only in quality also in presentation. We will definitely come for a visit when we can truly relax on the porch over looking the grounds and the bay.

  • Stayed November 2005, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    48
    10
    13
    8
See reviews for
29
93
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2005

Our annual conference was held at the Terrace Inn and as the planner I really appreciated how easy it was to work with Jennifer, Patty & Mo. Our meals were excellent, even homemade cookies! It's a unique place for groups and they provided all the services we needed to carry out our meeting; high speed wireless access, meeting rooms, microphones, easel pads and everything else I bugged the front desk for-they were very gracious and accommodating.
I would recommend the Terrace for any group or meeting or any individual getaway. I can't wait to go back on a leisure visit and participate in some of their special weekends!

  • Stayed November 2005, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2005

Terrace Inn nestled in the wooded-dunes of Petoskey is a wonderful place for a family to stay. My husband and I, and 18-month old daughter loved the quiet/friendly atmosphere of the Inn. The breakfast buffet had a variety of foods to enjoy from make-your-own waffles, to breakfast breads, fruit, oatmeal, cereal, coffee, and juices. The staff at the Inn was friendly and it is very easy to strike up a conversation not only with the staff, but guests as well. After-all isn't this a reason you might make the choice to stay at a B&B.

The new owners have done a marvelous job changing the Inn to make it a wonderful place to spend a vacation, or weekend. The dinner menu provides lots of options and our dinner was excellent. We will make our stay at the Terrace Inn a family tradition.

Stayed September 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2004

I had a great time at the Terrace Inn. It was a perfect quaint place for me and my husband to come and relax. The employees were nice and accomodating, telling us all about Bay View and the Inn. We had a terrific dinner in there dining room. I would recommend this great historic inn to everyone.

  • Stayed June 2004
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2004

We stayed at the Terrace Inn on our second night of our vacation. I found the Terrace Inn online and thought it looked really charming. Well it turned out not to be so charming. We booked two adjoining rooms-one for us and one for the kids. Our stay could have been fine but for a few fixable problems. First off the kids were freaked out by short curyl hairs (you know the type) on their sheets and there was something brown smeared on the blanket. The walls are really thin so we had to keep the kids really quiet-not their fault it is an old inn after all. But the pipes which were displayed on the rooms ceiling clunked loudly all night every time someone used the water/toilet making it hard to sleep. Our rooms did not have air conditioning so we were lucky it was not hot. Also the showers alternately scald or freeze you out. I thought it was just mine but hubby said the one in the other room did the same thing. The biggest problem with our stay was we were not told what time the continental breakfast served. We got down to the dining area an hour before check out and the manager said there was not much left and her attitude let us know that for some reason she really didnt want us in there-maybe because we have kids? My hubby said he looked and there was still food and other people were eating.........For what we paid I feel we should not have had to go hunt up a place to go feed the kids. My husband was really steamed.

Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Terrace Inn and 1911 Restaurant, responded to this review, November 28, 2005
My husband and I purchased the Inn in May 2004. We recently became aware of this negative comment posted about our Inn. It apparently occurred 1 1/2 years ago. just 3 months after we purchased the Inn. The manager at that time was very competent, however, more used to a corporate hotel climate and less accommodating about "bending the rules" i.e. breakfast time. She should have been more accommodating as we would be now. Our staff is extremely helpful and friendly, and the Inn has greatly improved in terms of quality of housekeepers training, dining program, and customer care.
Our Historic Inn has received a "facelift" of over 30 rooms, our menu and quality of food has been totally revamped..and we have hired new staff whom we have trained to have a friendly, flexible (within reason) and caring attitude. It needs to be said that some people just don't care for Historic Inns, our Inn does not have a TV in every room, a pool, exercise room, but it more than makes up for it in terms of charm, atmosphere, staff, food and the serenity and comfort it inspires. We hope folks will give us a chance...
Thank you..Patty and Mo Rave, (commercial URL)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Terrace Inn and 1911 Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terrace Inn and 1911 Restaurant

Address: 1549 Glendale, P. O. Box 266, Petoskey, MI 49770
Location: United States > Michigan > Emmet County > Petoskey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Petoskey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Terrace Inn and 1911 Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Terrace Inn and 1911 Restaurant is a State Historic designated property located in Bay View Association, near Petoskey, Michigan. Petoskey is 35 minutes south of Mackinac City/ferry to Mackinac Island, 4 hours northwest of Detroit and 6 hours north from Chicago along US 31 Lake Michigan Shoreline. The Inn sits upon a bluff overlooking Victorian Cottages and Parks with scenic views from the outdoor terrace, a popular dining spot in summer. The Inn has 37 rooms located on 3 floors, with no elevator, 5 of which are on the main floor. Rooms are cozy and cottagey in style, with 1 queen or 2 twin beds and a private bath with shower (no tub), some have been updated with King Beds and full baths, some with queen bed and jet tubs and kitchenettes and 3 King Suites. A full breakfast is included with the room. The 1911 Restaurant is open nightly for dinner in summer and weekends fall and winter. Sleigh rides on Saturdays weather permitting. Extensive wine and beer list, and cocktails available. Reservations recommended. Excellent whitefish, all entrees, desserts and soups made fresh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Terrace Inn and 1911 Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terrace Hotel Petoskey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Terrace Inn and 1911 Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.