We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Inn in a Beautiful Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Terrace Inn and 1911 Restaurant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Terrace Inn and 1911 Restaurant to your Saves list
Terrace Inn and 1911 Restaurant
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   1549 Glendale, P. O. Box 266, Petoskey, MI 49770   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Petoskey B&B and Inns
Ohio
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Inn in a Beautiful Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

My husband and I returned to the Terrace Inn after more than a decade. This was our first stay in the summer. The Inn is beautiful, and remodeling has resulted in the availability of some larger, very comfortable rooms. We were very happy to see the dining room open again and planked whitefish again on the menu. The staff was very helpful.
We wish we could have stayed longer than our one night and enjoyed strolls around the beautiful chautauqua of Bay View. This is a very nice, restful place to stay and in a prime location near Petosky and Harbor Springs.
We had a large king bed room on the first floor with large bathroom, jetted tub, lots of windows with nice wooded views. Get one of these rooms if you can--we received the upgrade without asking.
The dining room was very elegant and true to the history of the Inn. Continental breakfast was included, but pretty mediocre with cold french toast.
Note. The website reservation system for the Inn requires a 2 night minimum stay for some rooms, but when we called, this was waived.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    45
    10
    12
    8
See reviews for
29
87
8
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marshall, Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011

This wasn't my first visit to The Terrace Inn and it's doubtful it will be my last. This particular trip was taken so we could enjoy a special Jazz weekend at the Inn. This charming, classic, historic inn was a lovely setting for the all-inclusive weekend. Everyone in our party was pleasantly surprised at the excellent quality of food we enjoyed. The house made pizza is delicious (and worth a take out order only, if you're in the neighborhood), but all the food, from the breakfast buffet to the dinner was quite tasty. The Inn is special because of it's history and location, but the hospitable staff and comfortable rooms make it well worth a visit!
Although we were specifically in Petoskey for the jazz weekend, we spent time fly-fishing, hiking and shopping as well.

Room Tip: Choose a larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Lake, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

This is a wonderful bed and breakfast with a lot of history. The owners of the inn are friendly, helpful, and made my mother and I feel right at home. The breakfast was better than expected considering we stayed during the off season (and included hard boiled eggs, Belgium waffles, fresh fruit, quiche, homemade granola, yogurt, and breads). The room was spotless and I am meticulous when it comes to cleanliness. This bed and breakfast offers a great value. I cannot say enough great things about this hidden gem. I would highly recommend you stay here on your next visit to Petoskey...I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, MI USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

My husband and I returned after many years. After multiple emails, planning this trip as a surprise for his birthday, the staff had been more than helpful and welcoming. Because there was a group meeting at the inn, we didn't think we'd be able to eat at their restaurant. They ended up offering us a cozy table by the lobby fireplace, and the planked whitefish was as fantastic as we remembered. The jacuzzi suite was perfect, and we will certainly not wait as long to return!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Pointe Farms, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

Terrace Inn sponsors a ballroom dance weekend every Valentine's day. The price was less than $300 for two. This included two nights lodging, four dance lessons suitable for all levels of dancers - beginning to advanced, two delicious homemade breakfasts, and a great dinner with music for dancing. The hotel is vintage modern with comfortable, attractive, clean rooms and the owners and dance instructors were friendly and accommodating. Terrace Inn is located in a resort with many finely preserved Victorian homes and right by Traverse bay. There is great shopping nearby. I would highly recommend Terrace Inn as an ideal place to get away for Valentine's Day or any time whatsoever.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

The Inn Keepers are so nice and thoughtful. My husband and I were there for a ski weekend, even though I couldn't ski, and every little detail was thought of for us. The breakfast was simple but delicious, the homemade granola rocked! It was quiet, the bed was comfortable and the jacuzzi was very relaxing. This is the type of place for people who enjoy uniqueness and a getaway from the monotony of chain hotels/restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, MI
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

Spent President's day long weekend at Terrace Inn. All the rooms are unique - you can reserve by the room you want to stay in online - and decorated in antique furniture and lovely hand made coverings. Beds are comfortable. Breakfast is included and quite good on the weekend with chef made egg&sausage casserole or biscuits and gravy along and good coffee. We ate dinner there also - very good meal. I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Terrace Inn and 1911 Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terrace Inn and 1911 Restaurant

Address: 1549 Glendale, P. O. Box 266, Petoskey, MI 49770
Location: United States > Michigan > Petoskey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Petoskey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Terrace Inn and 1911 Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Terrace Inn and 1911 Restaurant is a State Historic designated property located in Bay View Association, near Petoskey, Michigan. Petoskey is 35 minutes south of Mackinac City/ferry to Mackinac Island, 4 hours northwest of Detroit and 6 hours north from Chicago along US 31 Lake Michigan Shoreline. The Inn sits upon a bluff overlooking Victorian Cottages and Parks with scenic views from the outdoor terrace, a popular dining spot in summer. The Inn has 37 rooms located on 3 floors, with no elevator, 5 of which are on the main floor. Rooms are cozy and cottagey in style, with 1 queen or 2 twin beds and a private bath with shower (no tub), some have been updated with King Beds and full baths, some with queen bed and jet tubs and kitchenettes and 3 King Suites. A full breakfast is included with the room. The 1911 Restaurant is open nightly for dinner in summer and weekends fall and winter. Sleigh rides on Saturdays weather permitting. Extensive wine and beer list, and cocktails available. Reservations recommended. Excellent whitefish, all entrees, desserts and soups made fresh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Terrace Inn and 1911 Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terrace Hotel Petoskey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Terrace Inn and 1911 Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.