We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“anniversary stay was perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stafford's Perry Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Stafford's Perry Hotel to your Saves list
Stafford's Perry Hotel
100 Lewis Street, Petoskey, MI 49770   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Petoskey
Midland, Michigan
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“anniversary stay was perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

we chose the Perry for our 35th wedding anniversary, and was not disappointed. the two room suite overlooking the lake was classic and very roomy. it had two bathrooms, two televisions, perfect internet connection and a large living room space. the lake view was perfect and the walk out to the patio was really ideal. we enjoyed the whole experience.

the hotel has two restaurants, which were both very good. our room package included a breakfast voucher. breakfast was delicious with our table looking out to the lake. white tablecloths and a very pleasant upscale atmosphere rounded out the weekend.

the hotel has old world charm with wing back chairs in the rooms, large hallways with vintage decor. the Perry has been well maintained and was actually busy while we stayed there. they offer free coffee, tea and hot cocoa service, a small library, and computer access in the lounge off the lobby. i felt the reservation and welcome service was very nice.

we did not see valet service, but did not require it for our stay. they have a small exercise room which we saw, but did not use.

Room Tip: we stayed on the main floor with the walkout to the patio and grounds from our room. the lake view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    60
    23
    9
    5
See reviews for
28
76
5
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Traverse City, Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Just spent 2 wonderful nights at the Perry. Can't say enough good things about it. Our room was spotless(211), everything in the room that we needed and more. The room has a balcony that overlooks Traverse Bay. We saw one of the most beautiful sunsets we've ever seen. Check in was flawless, everyone was there to please. Coffee in the lobby that tasted like real coffee and can be taken back to your room. Tea and hot chocolate were also available. The housekeepers were some of the best I've seen. Friendly and courteous, always greeting you with a smile.
Went for restaurant week and couldn't have had a nicer time.

Room Tip: If you want a room with a balcony stay on the 2nd floor. If it rains you're covered by the balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Love the ambience, throwback turn of the century design, location, staff, rooms, and food - especially breakfast. I have only two complaints as a business traveler. (1) would like a copy machine in the business area - staff happy to do it but it's inconvenient. (2) internet access is terrible; having stayed here twice now in two different rooms it is not reliable. Also note: unable to control heat from the room. My room was 60 degrees and I learned the hard way that you have to ask front desk staff to control the temperature from the central computer system.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Woods, Michigan, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Stafford's Perry is an annual destination for us when traveling to Northern Michigan. The first thing you notice is the staff. They are friendly and always accommodating. The rooms are comfortable and each one is a bit different. All are decorated to compliment the historic style of the building. It is almost like staying in a very large bed & breakfast. Breakfast is offered in the main dining room with huge glass windows overlooking Little Traverse Bay. Weather permitting the front porch is open for food service. Lunch and dinner are also served daily. For more casual "bar" fare The Noggin Room on the lower lever offers burgers, etc. For some reason we always feel "at home" while staying at this hotel. You step into the door, take a breath and go back just a bit in time.

Room Tip: Rooms that are in the wing off of the dining room are more isolated and the hallway traffic is minim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kewadin, Michigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

My wife and I celebrated our anniversary at the Perry Hotel. We loved the ambience of a time past. So much historical background. Our room[316] was cozy and comfortable with an outstanding view of Traverse Bay. The food in the Noggin Room was good and plentiful. A definite bang for your dollar. The gourmet breakfast served in the Rose room was excellent. If you wish to escape to the past, we highly recommend the Perry Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishers, IN
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed at The Perry for 2 nights around President's Day wknd. The rooms are charming & cozy. Good casual dining right in the hotel at The Noggin Room. Upscale breakfast (for which you're given a $20 or $25 voucher per night upon check-in) in the Rose Room. You can easily walk to any downtown Petoskey location from here if you're mobile.

We love the charm of this place. If we have any suggestions about taking it from good to great, it would be in improving the guest greetings upon check-in at the front desk. People are nice, but they never seem to take the opportunity to say "Welcome to the Perry! Where are you coming in from today?" Or whatever. They generally smile and just ask if you have a reservation. The folks at the Bay View Inn have always been good about greetings that make customers feel like they're NOT at chain, but rather at a special warm, charming place.

Again, this is a lovely hotel- this is just a suggestion to take things to the next level.

If you're up there to ski, ask the front desk for discount coupons- they had them for both Boyne Mtn., Boyne Highlands, & possibly Nubs Nob.

If you'd like a really terrific restaurant in nearby Harbor Springs, I recommend Stafford's Pier. They're right on the water- great food, great service. They have a lovely lounge with a fireplace, as well as a more casual dining section.

Petoskey is fun, summer or winter! Check it out!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband and I spent a weekend at the Perry in February. We used to live in Petoskey and had always wanted to stay there. We were not disappointed. They have an excellent location especially in the winter. We could walk around town and even walked to dinner one night.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stafford's Perry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stafford's Perry Hotel

Address: 100 Lewis Street, Petoskey, MI 49770
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Petoskey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Petoskey
#7 Family Hotel in Petoskey
#8 Business Hotel in Petoskey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the grandeur and elegance of a by-gone era without leaving modern day conveniences behind. The Perry Hotel boasts seventy-nine individually appointed guest rooms, many with private balconies overlooking the crystal clear waters of Little Traverse Bay. Be our guest and experience the grace and hospitality that Stafford's is known for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Stafford's Perry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staffords Perry Hotel Petoskey
Staffords Perry Petoskey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stafford's Perry Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.