We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“splendid time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of @ Michigan Inn & Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added @ Michigan Inn & Lodge to your Saves list
@ Michigan Inn & Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1420 S. US-131, (Spring St.), Petoskey, MI 49770 (Formerly Days Inn Petoskey)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 20% off room rates!
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Petoskey
Lisle, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“splendid time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

Pleasant front desk staff. Nice touch that i havent seen at any motel/hotel, is FREE food from 6 AM- 10PM and not just snack foods, food just has to be eaten there. You and the family can get a nice full free meal any time of day!
Rooms are a bit small, had 3 adults in a 2 full-bed room and felt if any more, would have been cramped.
Nice small mini-fridge & microwave, plus newer LCD TV which was nice.
Visited the area for Boyne mtn for Friday & Saturday ski days, about a 20 minute car ride (without snow storm).
Definitely a cost effective place to stay for a nice Northern Michigan ski weekend!

Room Tip: first floor rooms are right in front of parking lot/cars, we were on the 2nd floor, so have to use t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    125
    57
    17
    28
See reviews for
101
132
20
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

You can't beat the value of the Days Inn Petoskey with its Cyber Cafe: free food 6 am to 10 pm, continuously. You can get all the calories you need through their wide selection of hot and cold food, assuming you can bring yourself to eat it in the Cafe (no takeouts!) The food was good and plentiful, and you wonder how local competitors can charge >$15/night MORE and not offer chow. The room was clean, the HVAC worked well, and the staff very helpful.
1 night stay Jan 27, 2012

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

Nice clean room, very close to the Boyne skiing areas. Nothing fancy, but it definitely met our needs. The room had a small refrigerator and microwave and we even managed to set up a game of Monopoly on the (small) table. The fan on the heater was quite noisy, though. The hotel offers free breakfast, lunch, and dinner - cereal, waffles, hardboiled eggs, yogurt, fruit, hot dogs, soups, cheese, various pastries... it's actually quite a nice variety, but EVERYTHING is packaged in plastic and/or styrofoam. We ate one breakfast there and saw enough garbage generated to make quite the dent in a landfill. I realize this won't be much of an issue for many people, but it bothered us enough that we didn't eat there again. It's such a great service, it seems like it wouldn't take much to make it even a tiny bit more environmentally friendly. Which would make this hotel a really great value in my opinion.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

i had an impromptu 2 night stay at the days inn while my uncle was in the hospital there. the hotel not only discounted the room due to the circumstances of our stay (hospital patient) but they had a cafe with all food free of charge and open 6a-10p. i did have to change rooms since the first one i was given smelled of smoke (the rooms all state they are "smoke free" but also note that smoking will be permitted for an additional fee???) but the second was satisfactory. that's the only reason they didn't get an "excellent" rating from me.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

Conveniently located on the way to skiing at Boyne Highlands. Price was about right for the value- similarly priced for other hotels in the area. Rooms were clean- albeit a bit small- but with only two of us it was manageable. The cyber cafe is a nice addition- although for a one night stay we didn't get a chance to use it very much since we got back late from night skiing.
Another plus- is that they sold discounted lift tickets for Boyne right on site- saving some time and money. I also would have liked a bit larger fitness center- as this location only has a small weight machine; treadmill; and recumbent stationary bike.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, Mi
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

I hadn't read their website first, so I was surprised upon arriving to learn they offer meals not only for breakfast, but from 6am - 10pm! You can choose between several soups, cottage cheese, fruits, vegetables, yogurts, puddings, frozen pizzas, the list is quite long. This is a wonderful addition to the Days Inn - it can save customers a lot of money! Our room including the bathroom was very clean, although I swear the showerhead was built for someone only 5' tall - it could definitely be higher! The walls and floors were quite thin - you could hear people talking in the room next door, and feel people walking on the floors. Nice place to stay, but I guess a lot depends on what you've paid for your room. I've read recent reviews where people paid $135 a night, I didn't pay that much but I'm sure a lot depends on the room size, how many people in the room, the night of the week, etc. We paid $85 plus tax booking 24 hrs in advance - 2 people with two double beds. Not an ideal bed size for a couple, but then again, I only paid $85... I'll stay again for sure.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
By the lake in Indiana
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

We just needed a place to crash overnight on our way to Mackinac Island and we picked this from prior reviews. We wanted the Apple Tree Inn, but their prices were too high just to stay a quick overnight, so we tried Days Inn. We were not disappointed. It was clean, comfortable, easy check in and check out. The desk people were friendly, they offer ALL kinds of food in their cafeteria, all free - dinners, snacks, breakfast, you name it. There was a huge crowd there - must have been a high school tourney or something in the area so the cafeteria was crowded. It's an older hotel you can tell they have tried to update - it's not anything fancy, but clean and very comfortable, very conveniently located and easy to find.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to @ Michigan Inn & Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about @ Michigan Inn & Lodge

Address: 1420 S. US-131, (Spring St.), Petoskey, MI 49770 (Formerly Days Inn Petoskey)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Petoskey
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Petoskey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — @ Michigan Inn & Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come try the *Worlds First Free Cafe.* All you can eat cafeteria style food from 6 am till 10 pm. *Your restaurant savings could pay for your stay.* Enjoy parking near your room with 47 free *first come first serve* carport parking spots. All 132 rooms include: Large wall-mounted TVs with over 60 HDTV cable channels and a Blu-ray/CD Player that is WIFI enabled with over 200 apps, Refrigerator, Microwave, Free Safe, Coffee/Tea Machine, Hairdryer, Iron/Board, and Clock Radios. Up to three children can stay free with an adult. We also have an Exercise Room, Guest Laundry, and data port phones with free local calls. We have two vending rooms with Pop, Ice, and Guest Laundry Machines. Our vending prices are low and we allow you to fill a cooler with ice. Our WIFI service is throughout the property and is free. We have two large HP Laptops you can use at no additional charge in our lobby. If you find you have some free time we offer 99 cent new release movies with all the popcorn and cookies you can eat! If you prefer to pass your time outdoors we have a professional horseshoe pit that's free for guest usage. Our hotel is at the top of the Spring Street hill with a beautiful view of the bay. Get a Free Bay View King upgrade based on availability at arrival. We are centrally located near the casino, restaurants, shopping, parks, the hospital, the Gaslight District, ski resorts, and the Petoskey theater is across the street. Everything you need is less than a 1/2 mile away. Also for your convenience we offer Odawa Shuttle Service to the casino. Centrally located, Free Meals, and great discounts, that's why we feel we are the best value in Petoskey and one of the most unique hotels in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your @ Michigan Inn & Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Petoskey Hotel Petoskey
Petoskey Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage @ Michigan Inn & Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.