We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of @ Michigan Inn & Lodge

Save Saved
You added @ Michigan Inn & Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
@ Michigan Inn & Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1420 S. US-131, (Spring St.), Petoskey, MI 49770 (Formerly Days Inn Petoskey)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 20% off room rates!
Ranked #7 of 15 hotels in Petoskey
Holly, Michigan
1 review
“Great find!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

We were extremely pleased with our stay. The all-day free cafe made the value unbeatable! We had a lovely view of the bay. Rooms were clean and up to date. The staff was great too. We will seriously stay here anytime we are in the area and will recommend it to our family and friends.

Room Tip: We paik $53 plus taxes ($63 total) thru Pricelind
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    112
    109
    51
    16
    22
See reviews for
94
116
19
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
plant city,fl
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

We stayed there for 2 nights. The hotel room has a microwave, fridge,flatscreen tv, safe, iron and an iron table.Complimentary food was served between 7 AM-10 PM. Note its 10 PM not 10 AM.Whenever you are hungry go eat something. Staffs were helpful and I liked our stay. Safe neighborhood!! Burgerking, Wendy's and Walgreens are nearby.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

We stayed here for 3 days President's Day weekend, 2011. The room was by no means big, but with the already low rate discounted an extra 20% by simply saying we were skiing; we ended up paying $220 for the entire weekend, which was a steal. The rooms did have flat screen tv's, along with a microwave and a mini-fridge, which really came in handy. The rooms weren't completely spotless, but they were clean enough not to be disgusting. The staff was friendly enough, and they have a very interesting cafe... Going well beyond the traditional Continental Breakfast, they also have snacks, tv dinners, and other various cafeteria-style foods so you can really eat all your meals here if you wanted to! (The food is certainly nothing special, but passable if you're wanting to stay on the cheap or in a hurry)

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpena, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

My husband had to have a procedure at the Petoskey Hospital. We chose the Days Inn for it's proximity to the hospital and because our daughter and granddaughter stayed there about a year ago and enjoyed their stay.

The room was very,very clean as was the bathroom. The bed linens appeared to be new. Flat screen TV had just been installed. We met the owner who was very pleasant, and the staff from the front desk to the maintenance man, Pete, was very friendly and helpful.

It is the only motel I've ever heard of that offers food all day long. The Cyber Cafe has such a variety of food from TV Dinners, at least 3 varieties of hot soups, ice cream, etc. I could go on and on, There were even prepared garden salads in the cooler. There were several familes who were enjoying a ski vacation and it was wonderful for them to come back to the motel and find hot soups and other microwaveable hot foods. Breakfast included all the regular bagels, toast, do-it-yourself waffles, etc. as well as biscuits and sausaage gravy. It was great not having to go out on a dark snowy night to find a restaurant for dinner.

There were 2 computers availaable in the lobby for use by guests.

The rate was quite low.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Michigan
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2010

This hotel does not value the safety of its guests. The parking lot was icy and even after a slip and fall, it was icy the next day. The room was so cold when we checked in. We turned on the noisy heating unit and left to do some shopping so it would warm up. When we ate breakfast, they still had food in crock pots from the lunch/dinner they had the day before, YUK! I would not recommend to stay here in the winter months!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

Petoskey is beautiful, but these hotel rooms are old and cramped. We stayed in a room with two double (not queen) beds and everything was just stacked in there to fit (fridge, microwave, table, chairs, etc) leaving hardly any room to move. The air conditioning unit was the loudest I've ever heard in my life and we kept waking us up whenever it clicked on. The walls are very thin. The bathroom is old with dirty stone tiles on the floor. It is hard to complain about food, because it was free, but the majority of it was packaged in baggies and boxed in coolers with styrofoam plates to warm it up in the microwave. The little salads, the soup, and the waffle maker were good. The front desk was friendly and welcoming. I realize this is a cheaply priced budget hotel and that the free food draws people in, but personally, I feel there are better hotels (Odawa, Apple Tree Inn, Bay Winds, Holiday Inn Express) in this area that are well worth the extra few bucks. This Days Inn needs to be updated to get up to par.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010 via mobile

Pros: upgrades to a beatiful water view room. Surprisingly comfy beds for a days inn. The friendliest and most welcoming staff more like you find at a marriott for half the cost. The food choices 24/7 were a great bonus for the low cost mid week of $75. Very clean room with parking right ouside your door.

Cons: none that I found and I usually try to stay in marriotts or hiltons due to the best beds and friendly staff

Make sure to ask for a room in the furthest bldg which is newer.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to @ Michigan Inn & Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about @ Michigan Inn & Lodge

Address: 1420 S. US-131, (Spring St.), Petoskey, MI 49770 (Formerly Days Inn Petoskey)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Petoskey
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Petoskey
#6 Romantic Hotel in Petoskey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — @ Michigan Inn & Lodge 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come try the *Worlds First Free Cafe.* All you can eat cafeteria style food from 6 am till 10 pm. *Your restaurant savings could pay for your stay.* Enjoy parking near your room with 47 free *first come first serve* carport parking spots. All 132 rooms include: Large wall-mounted TVs with over 60 HDTV cable channels and a Blu-ray/CD Player that is WIFI enabled with over 200 apps, Refrigerator, Microwave, Free Safe, Coffee/Tea Machine, Hairdryer, Iron/Board, and Clock Radios. Up to three children can stay free with an adult. We also have an Exercise Room, Guest Laundry, and data port phones with free local calls. We have two vending rooms with Pop, Ice, and Guest Laundry Machines. Our vending prices are low and we allow you to fill a cooler with ice. Our WIFI service is throughout the property and is free. We have two large HP Laptops you can use at no additional charge in our lobby. If you find you have some free time we offer 99 cent new release movies with all the popcorn and cookies you can eat! If you prefer to pass your time outdoors we have a professional horseshoe pit that's free for guest usage. Our hotel is at the top of the Spring Street hill with a beautiful view of the bay. Get a Free Bay View King upgrade based on availability at arrival. We are centrally located near the casino, restaurants, shopping, parks, the hospital, the Gaslight District, ski resorts, and the Petoskey theater is across the street. Everything you need is less than a 1/2 mile away. Also for your convenience we offer Odawa Shuttle Service to the casino. Centrally located, Free Meals, and great discounts, that's why we feel we are the best value in Petoskey and one of the most unique hotels in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, T4B, Venere and Agoda so you can book your @ Michigan Inn & Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Petoskey Hotel Petoskey
Petoskey Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage @ Michigan Inn & Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.