We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a place you want to come back to for 3 nights in a row!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Comfort Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1314 US 31 North, Petoskey, MI 49770   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Petoskey
East Lansing, Michigan
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Not a place you want to come back to for 3 nights in a row!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2009

My biggest issue with this hotel was probably that it was way over priced. I could have stayed at a less reputable chain hotel and I'm sure it would have been better kept, cleaner, neater, air conditioned in the halls, etc. The air conditioner in the room took a long time to get working. I wiped down the sink and table in the room and they were dirty. Bathroom floor was sticky and the tub looked black and yucky. There were old food crumbs on the chairs and the table was sticky. The remote was taped together, as it was broken. Fixtures and furnature were old. The sheets seemed clean. The towels seemed clean. The staff were nice enough. The entrance to my end of the building was up a lonely side entrance walkway. I did not feel too safe, being female and alone, walking inthe dark. On the positive, this is close to Petoskey and close to some convient restuarants, grccery, gas, although a few minutes drive from the popular downtown areas of Petoskey.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    27
    20
    9
    4
See reviews for
33
29
9
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
gr, michigan
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2009

My husband and I stayed here on a motorcycle getaway weekend. The bed was very comfortable with lots of pillows and the room quiet. They have a nice outdoor deck for breakfast which was very pleasant. The staff was helpful in finding a place to eat supper.
Our only complaint would be the water pressure in the shower. When will hotel management realize it takes twice as long to take a shower when the pressure is so low? It was also difficult to control the temperature of the shower. Very frustrating. The bathroom was clean but needed a redo due to moisture damage around the base of the walls and the ceiling.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2008

We've stayed here three times (once every years during the ski season) and the hotel gets incrementally better every year.
It is an OUTSTANDING VALUE (for the money) for clean, well-attended to, and comfortable accomodations in the area.
-The bedding has been upgraded with extra-soft top covers/padding and the mattress was supportive for someone with a bad back, like me.
-Wireless was only so-so; place your computer or wireless network attenna next to the wall (i.e. touching it). I placed it on the headbord on the bed resting against the wall and you will get better reception. The meter ran from low to good (seldom very good) in connectivity. The sign in to the network is also cumbersome and slow. It is a hassle to use the lobby computer; you have to sign in, provide your drivers license number, etc.
-Breakfast room was excellent: waffles, hard-boiled eggs, homemade oatmeal, "good" sweets rolls, yogurt, bagels, etc.
-Limited workout room had one treadmill (out of order), one elliptical and one small weight bench.
-This is a pet friendly hotel and the guests seemed to manage their pets quite well.
-Two ice machines (one in each wing of the hotel)...one was out of commission.

Very friendly staff with solid housekeeping.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW Indiana
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2008

Our family stayed here for two nights while in town for a wedding. We weren't going to stay at a "resort" because of our two children, 2 yrs and 4 wks. We felt we wouldn't be able to enjoy a resort and didn't want to pay the money either. This really wasn't a vacation for us anyway. We chose the Comfort Inn due to the reviews that it received on trip advisor and other websites. The hotel lobby was nice and I was promptly greeted and within two minutes, I had my keys and was off to my room. The room appeared to be recently remodeled and it was clean. The beds were very comfortable. The breakfast was on par with other hotels, offering oatmeal, pastries, cereal and juices. My only complaint is that they didn't have a pool. But I guess when you are 1/2 a mile away from Lake Michigan, it isn't required.

  • Liked — The price for the area
  • Disliked — no pool
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2008

My sister and I stayed for a week at Petoskey to do some research. I did have a complaint that was promply addressed. The beds , I overheard , were new and they WERE comfortable Lighting and TV were great. Ink needed to be replaced in the common printer, but to me that was not the end of the world. Not to mention them last, but the staff was helpful and friendly and the breakfast was more than I would have expected. THANK YOU STAFF! Norfolk, VA.

  • Liked — Takes animals and basic accomodations. Ido not need swimming pool
  • Disliked — na
  • Stayed May 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 1314 US 31 North, Petoskey, MI 49770
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Emmet County > Petoskey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Petoskey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Choice Hotels and Hotels.com so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Petoskey
Petoskey Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.