We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be careful of cxl policies if driving in winter weather!You will pay!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1751 US 131 South, Petoskey, MI 49770   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Petoskey
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Avon Lake
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Be careful of cxl policies if driving in winter weather!You will pay!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I booked a reservation here two weeks ago. It was the weekend of one of the massive
ice storms that impacted travel from Ohio all the way up through Michigan.
Due to a delay because of the ice and road conditions we did not make it to the hotel
for our one night stay enroute to a meeting further north. I called both Priorty Club service and
the Manager and neither were willing to refund our full one night deposit. The most they would
offer is a credit to stay at the hotel in the "reasonable future". I live 7 hours away and do not have reason to travel anywhere near this area on a regular or future basis. I get that there is a policy but given the extreme icey weather and multi-car pile-ups that week in that state and nearby - you'd think they could be a little more reasonable. I was only asking for my one night deposit back! This helps me make a final decision about whether to patronize any Holiday Inn property in the future. A general Holiday Inn credit for anywhere in the US would have been reasonable!!!

Room Tip: If you're travelling in the winter weather and will only be there for one night, don't book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear bonevoyage,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Petoskey.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    60
    21
    12
    11
See reviews for
73
75
15
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marysville, MI
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Nancy Dingman made our day. We visited several hotels in Petoskey then stopped at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites. We were greeted by Nancy that had all the right answers to questions that were on our minds about where to stay, what to do in town, etc. My wife and I chuckled about the fact that she could say what we were thinking. Oh yes one more thing...we realized it was snowy out side and as we left the HIE Nancy asked: "Do I need you to call me when you get home safely?" We laughed all the way to our next destination. She is so funny.
The room was excellent. The jacuzzi was nice and warm on that cold winter day, as we enjoyed our mini honeymoon and winter get-a-way!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

It is hard to find a good room in Petoskey, unless you like old style Bed and Breakfasts or cottages. Most hotels are older and have twin beds. Skiers also are hard on hotel rooms because of their equipment, I guess. This is a New hotel about a mile out of town on the main drag of fast food places and strip malls. That sounds bad but it is on a hill overlooking a beautiful valley vista. From the rear rooms you would never know all that stuff is out front It has King bed rooms and feels new and clean , which a lot of places in Petoskey do not. The newest Casino is right there and they give you vouchers, at the check in, for food and wagers. This is a Holiday Inn, so its not a vacation experience but if you are looking for a clean affordable room for the night, this hotel is the best non-beach type place I have staid at in this town.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side of the Hotel have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

My sincerest compliments to the extra service granted to my family by Nancy Dingman, Donna Howard & Megan. We received top notch service even before we had a family emergency. All these fine women did was kick it up a notch and help us get through a difficult situation. Would like to thank you again and just say there is no better place to stay in Petoskey.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the pool and elevators are quiter when high school ski teams are training.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rural michigan
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I stayed one night on a business trip and had a very good experience. As others have written the outside is beautiful and the room was nice as well. The things that are important to me are cleanliness, comfort and convenience. This hotel provided all of those. The room was immaculate with plenty of good sized towel, not those tiny thin ones you sometimes see. The bed and pillows were comfortable, although my personal preference is a slightly softer mattress. There is an in room refrigerator and coffee maker. Had I needed them, it would have been great. So often I'm staying for a couple nights somewhere and want a refrigerator for drinks, etc. I used the pool and spa and they were also clean. The water was nice and the spa wasn't too hot. The floor around the pool was quite slick however, and I nearly fell. My only complaint is that the fan in the bathroom made a clicking noise while in the off position. I mentioned it before going to the pool and they said he would look at it while I was there. When I got back to the room, I did hear it click once then fell asleep. I woke later and heard it clicking again which was mildly disturbing.

Some other things I liked about the hotel was the complimentary limo service you could use to go anywhere in a 3 or so mile radius. I didn't use it, but was nice if you needed it. They also would deliver your breakfast to you if you desired. I didn't see any cost involved, but again, didn't use it. Oh.. and I felt breakfast was over too soon - 9:30 a.m.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel for anyone whether business or pleasure.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay City, Michigan
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We have nothing but good things to say regarding this stay. The staff was excellent, very helpful with recommendations. Room was clean and up to date. Bed was very comfortable. The view overlooking the valley was gorgeous. Only complaint is I listened to the person in the room next to us snore all night,,,,the walls are pretty thin.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
448 helpful votes 448 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed for three nights in a two bedroom presidential suite. It must have been named for one of our worst presidents. The outside of the hotel looks great. It is relatively new and impressive. The rooms are marginal at best. Our suite had a tiny common area with a mini-kitchenette. There was not even a table, so I am puzzled as to why they bothered with a kitchenette. All of the finishes were constructed from the cheapest materials possible. The plaid carpet from 1979 was a particularly tacky touch. The one redeeming quality was the enormous master suite bath. It was almost too large.The workout room was hot and consisted of three pieces of equipment.The breafast area in the lobby was decent size and the free breafast was okay. There is NO sound insulation so be prepared to hear every noise all night long. The staff was friendly. It is right across from the casino, so prepare to share the hotel with busloads of only the classiest people. There is no Petoskey charm for this overly-priced motel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey

Address: 1751 US 131 South, Petoskey, MI 49770
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Emmet County > Petoskey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Petoskey
#3 Business Hotel in Petoskey
#3 Family Hotel in Petoskey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Petoskey, MI Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites near Little Traverse Bay.This new hotel is conveniently located off Hwy 131 and offers easy access to ski resorts, golf courses, casino, wineries and beautiful Petoskey beaches: home to Michigan's state gem, the Petoskey stone. Your family can enjoy a stay at our Petoskey accommodations with an ideal location near the Bay Harbor Marina, Kilwin's Quality Confections Tours, Raven Hill Discovery Center and Michigan's largest indoor water park, Avalanche Bay. Petoskey is also home to the Gaslight Shopping District and the Odawa Casino.Business travelers enjoy our hotel in Petoskey because of its convenient location near businesses such as Manthei, H&D, Wal-Mart and Northern Michigan Hospital. Several world-class golfing venues, like Crooked Tree and Bay Harbor, are within six miles of our hotel in Petoskey, MI. Free high-speed Internet access and faxing services are offered for your convenience.Our excellent Petoskey hotel facilities offer you upscale amenities including private balconies, a fitness center, a heated indoor pool, whirlpool & dry sauna and a free stretch-limousine shuttle from 3 - 11 PM, with service to all area attractions within a 10-minute radius. Wake up to the fabulous views of Bear River Valley and Little Traverse Bay. Book your stay in Petoskey, MI today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Petoskey
Holiday Inn Petoskey
Holiday Inn Express Petoskey
Petoskey Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.