We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always wonderful food and drinks” 5 of 5 stars
Review of City Park Grill

City Park Grill
432 E Lake St, Petoskey, MI 49770-2439
231-347-0101
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 82 Restaurants in Petoskey
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: City Park Grill, one of Petoskey’s oldest buildings, was originally constructed in 1875. McCarty Hall, as it was then known was a malesonly billiard parlor that offered cigars and “intoxicating beverages.” Today, City Park Grill maintains a loyal clientele with house-made cuisine, focusing on locally procured produce, meats and lake fish, an awardwinning wine collection and house-made biscuits straight from the oven
northern michigan
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Always wonderful food and drinks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Everytime we eat here with the family we just want more. The atmosphere is wonderful and they have lots of options for drinks including local drafts. I get together with the guys here a lot too. Right in downtown Petoskey with parking across the street.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    105
    42
    23
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gaylord, Michigan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“disappointing lunch”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

A lovely historic bar. However lunch was not up to expectations. I ordered the veggie wrap as the menu description was what I was seeking, veggies and fresh herbs. The wrap came filled with all the ingredients but was at best mediocre with over cooked diced vegetables in an indeterminate sauce masking any flavors. 10$ was an over pricing for this entree. Knowing that kitchens have an off day occasionally I wait until a second meal on a disappointing entree. This was the second with very similar experience the first time.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coldwater, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Loved the ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

First of all, what makes this a must see is the fact that it is Ernest Hemingway's favorite place and he frequented the bar so much that he had his own stool! Great whitefish, awesome decor, wonderful waitstaff and the Apple Pie drink is to die for! I highly recommend this place!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marysville, Michigan
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Very nice restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We enjoyed sitting at the beautiful bar while waiting for our table. I would definitely go back to have a drink at the bar and for the ambience. The food was good, not super, and pricey. But really enjoyed our visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Historical bar with good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We had read about the City Park Grill in travel books and also had a friend recommend it. The history of the bar, being one of Hemingway's favorites, and the beautiful mahogany bar are worth the trip. The food is very good, especially the whitefish sandwiches. The server was somewhat friendly, but we didn't feel the most welcome. Definitely a place to visit if you're in Petoskey, though.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Park Grill also viewed

 

Been to City Park Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Park Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.