We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Childhood Memory” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jesperson's Restaurant

Jesperson's Restaurant
312 Howard St, Petoskey, MI
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 82 Restaurants in Petoskey
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Harbor Springs, Michigan
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Childhood Memory”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

I rated this "Excellent" because it's one of the only places that hasn't changed in over 50 years (or there abouts). I've been going to Jesperson's since I was a young girl and it's still the same: food and decor. The burger and fries are just the same, as is the pie. The best food in town - nope, but 5 stars for having the courage to not bend to fads or current trends of healthier food choices.

We all need to have a burger once in-a-while, so if that's what you are yearning for, sit on a stool and order one up with a coke. Save room for cherry pie!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    9
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

We go here every year when we come on vacation. The sandwiches, especially the swiss dill and reuben, are our faves. The soups are wonderful. My parents still say they have the best coconut cream pie. The service is a little slow but to be expected when everything is so fresh. It is always a busy restaurant because of its convenient location downtown and yummy food. We love it!!!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Um Um Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The deserts here are only in competition with the food when it comes to assessing quality. This is one of the few restaurants I've visited where I order and eat my desert first. Then I determine if there is any room left for their nourishing morsels. Sure there is, as I devour my favorite Swiss Steak or open face turkey sandwich. The staff is pro and the welcome mat is out. Enjoy!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

fish taco was just ok, turkey Ruben was good. creamed pie was served to hot to eat just out of the oven, I wish they would of told me I would of ordered a different piece of pie .service was awful

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best deal in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Jesperson's was one of the most reasonable places to eat in Petoskey. And, the food was very good. Service was exceptional. Needs better decor, it's pretty basic, but with their prices and the good service and good food, they should be around a long, long time. Their cherry berry pie was delicious! You need to give it a try!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jesperson's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Jesperson's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jesperson's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.