We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All nice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Apple Tree Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Apple Tree Inn to your Saves list
The Apple Tree Inn
915 Spring Street, Petoskey, MI 49770   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Petoskey
Ohio
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“All nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2009

We looked at several places to stay while in Petoskey for a ski vacation. We picked the Apple Tree and were quite pleased. The rooms were nice and clean and large enough. The breakfasts were always pleasant. We enjoyed the hot tub. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Stayed February 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    51
    20
    12
    5
See reviews for
53
104
11
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lansing, MI
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2008

The Apple Tree Inn is a great independant Hotel. The rooms are clean and simple and every room has a view of the bay. The folks at the front desk were helpful and friendly. Has your basic free breakfast. Close to the casino for all you gamblers. close to the gaslight area.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — still uses metal room keys.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swartz Creek
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2008

I noticed the Apple Tree Inn when we were staying in Petoskey last year at the Hampton Inn. I thought it looked so cute and inviting.
when we were ready to go this year I checked on the internet and found they were 25 dollars less a night than the Hampton and the descriptions looked good so I booked a room for a week. I was a little nervous, because it is privately owned and I just didn't know for sure how it would be, but when we arrived it was wonderful. It's cute, the landscaping is beautiful, the rooms are nice, they had highspeed wireless and we had a balcony with a great view of the bay. We will stay there next year.
The front desk people were very nice and polite. It is a great place.

  • Liked — clean, attractive
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leominster, Massachusetts
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2008

This is a good hotel with accommodating staff. A plus, for non-smokers, is that this is entirely a non-smoking facility. There could be a $150 cleaning charge if you smoked in the room. The rooms are spacious (we had a king bed room) and all have small balconies with views out over Little Traverse Bay.

The "continental" breakfast is fairly standard but plentiful -- waffles but with 4 kinds of syrup as well as jams and peanut butter, bagels, pastries, muffins, bread, cereals, tea and coffee (pod style with a good selection of choices not just the standard drip grind coffee).

Hotel also has a small pool, jacuzzi, and exercise room.

While this is not a "luxury" hotel, it is very comfortable.

  • Liked — Accomodating staff
  • Disliked — Some traffic noise by nearby route 131
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2008

What a wonderful hotel this is. Certainly a five star. The rooms have a great view of the bay. The hotel is spotless and the room had far more of the little touches than most hotels including some five star hotels. From the regular soaps and shampoos to bath salts for the jacuzzi tub, facial wipes, etc. While we only had a night to stay we are already planning a couple of days next year so we can be sure to enjoy more of this town from this wonderful location.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Small breakfast area
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MI
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2008

Very friendly accommodating staff. I don't know how long Larry has worked there, but he took his job above and beyond. He turned down my sheets personally and fixed my TV, all while smiling! I would recommend anyone looking for a breathtaking view of the harbor to stay here. Ask for "the Larry turn down service:", you won't be disappointed!

  • Liked — Larry
  • Disliked — It was too short
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, ON
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2008

I live in Canada (Ontario) and travel frequently to Petoskey Michigan for several reasons, one being the fantastic accommodations at the Apple Tree Inn! Petoskey is a beautiful place, and the Apple Tree Inn just adds to that whole experience. I would not consider staying at any other hotel in that area because at the Apple Tree Inn, the rooms are spacious and clean; the pool and hot tub are always clean; the breakfast is excellent. The hosts, Karen and Larry, are the BEST and their warm personality and professionalism has transferred to the staff who are so darn good. I'm wondering if the few negative reviews were indeed meant for the Apple Tree Inn because I'm thinking the writer was at a different hotel and forgot the name!

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — 0
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Apple Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Apple Tree Inn

Address: 915 Spring Street, Petoskey, MI 49770
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Petoskey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Petoskey
#3 Romantic Hotel in Petoskey
#5 Family Hotel in Petoskey
#6 Business Hotel in Petoskey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Groupon, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Apple Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Apple Tree Hotel Petoskey
Apple Tree Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Apple Tree Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.