We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pizza and a View” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Papa Lou's

Papa Lou's
317 East Lake Street, United States, Petoskey, MI
+1 231-348-3663
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 82 Restaurants in Petoskey
Price range: $8 - $19
Cuisines: American, Italian, Pizza, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Pizza and a View”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

The upstairs does have a great view and the pizza is delicious! The pizza was very fresh and not greasy at all. However, later during our visit we went to Noggins and I have to admit we liked their pizza much better. Try both and see which you like, both have very different atmospheres.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    33
    17
    6
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lansing, MI
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Really Cool Place with a view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

This place is a must see if you are in Petoskey. We had the pizza--it was delicious and not too expensive. They also have wonderful local brews on tap. The view of the bay from the outdoor deck was gorgeous. Be sure to go upstairs and check out their unique bar that has swings for bar stools!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Pizza and views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

In Petosky for a sports event, Papa Lou's came recommended by another family on the team. We ended up eating their twice in one weekend because we liked it so much. The first time we left the kid behind with the rest of the team and got a table on the outside deck upstairs with a view of Little Traverse Bay. We shared an order of wings with orange ginger glaze followed by their chicken and bacon pizza. Both were very good and even better was that Papa Lou's carries a nice selection of Michigan wines from local vintners.

The second visit the next day was with the entire baseball team and Papa Lou's did a great job with a large group. They take reservations(at least for large groups) and were great at getting the orders taken and getting everyone the right meal. Impressive! On our second visit, we sat upstairs again, but this time more in the bar area. We split an antipasta salad and then got two more pizzas- one for the grownups and one for the kid. Again the food was great, the service very good, and the atmosphere fun. Everyone at our table enjoyed their meals and there were plenty of leftovers for hungry kids later.

If you go to Papa Lou's be prepared to find street parking in downtown Petosky which is much easier than it sounds. Be sure to ask for a table upstairs preferably on the outside deck and don't forget to try the wings.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flushing, Michigan
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Great time. Good pizza and great selection of craft beer. The server was attentive and friendly. This is a popular place.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, MI
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Pizza, Great View on Patio”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

My family ate here on our family vacation, and we were seated on the outdoor patio - which was covered and up high - upstairs of the restaurant. The view of the bay was beautiful, and I read that they have some night time live entertainment and great views of the sunset on the patio. We had pizza and it was excellent. The menu looked very good for other items as well. I didn't give it a perfect review because of the drink that I ordered. It was a lemon drop martini - and it was clear - never had one that didn't have a least a bit of yellow to it. I didn't have much of a lemon flavor either. The sugar on the rim was a nice touch, but it wasn't that great overall. The food was excellent, I'll just order a different drink if I'm there again.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Papa Lou's also viewed

 

Been to Papa Lou's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Papa Lou's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.