We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice restaurant with good Lake Michigan Views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palette Bistro

Palette Bistro
321 Bay St, Petoskey, MI 49770-2406
231-348-3321
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 84 Restaurants in Petoskey
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
East Lansing, Michigan
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant with good Lake Michigan Views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

our family had lunch there and was pleasantly surprised to find this hidden gem. We didn't expect to have a view of the bay and Lake Michigan but their dining area is oriented nicely to see out over the highway with a great view. They had a good lunch menu and the food was very good. We tried the pulled pork sandwich, Caesar salad, fried egg BLT (the best of our order) and the Margarita pizza. all were good. we'll have to go back during the summer months to try dinner as the menu is more expansive for dinner.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    42
    17
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent view. Excellent food. Excellent Service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

My wife picked this place out of one of the local magazines. The menu sounded interesting so I agreed to go. Started out on a good note right away as we were cheerfully greeted and escorted to our table. The waiter, Sean, explained the restaurant style and describes some of the selections available on this night but did not push any particular item as he said all of them were excellent. I can only comment on what we had, they were all excellent. We started with a cream of garlic wild mushroom soup that was so good I wanted to take gallons of it home and bathe in it. Excellent, Excellent. Excellent. Next we had the lobster gnocchi which was fresh made gnocchi mixed with chunks of lobster in a butter sauce. Excellent. We also had mussels with chorizo in a garlic white wine sauce. We used all of the bread on the table at that time to soak up the broth. For the entree we split an order of the Seafood Paella. Perfection. Mussels, Shrimp, Scallops and Chorizo with rice mixed with fresh peas. Never had better. We then topped the evening off with a cherry crisp with homemade ice cream along with a salted caramel martini. Best we have ever had. I will also say Sean was very knowledgeable of their bourbon selection and they have a decent offering to select from. Watching the sunset over Little Traverse Bay is a big bonus.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petoskey, Michigan
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

We went to celebrate our Halfaversary (yeah, so we like celebrations! :) ) and it was lovely. We shared an appetizer, an entree, and a dessert and it was about $50 with tip, but we really enjoyed everything that we had and it tasted great. Definitely worth the visit, but probably only for special occasions for our budget. My favorite dish was their winter caprese salad, a whole tomato roasted for over 16 hours with fresh mozzarella and an almond pesto. Lovely.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Small plate wonder”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We love the Palette.From creative food choices to great service it is hard to beat..........We eat there frequently and always have one,two or three of their small plate seections.........

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petoskey, Michigan
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“From a fifth generation local this place is the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We have never been disappointed at this establishment. We've gone for a romantic dinner for two, they have excellent wine choices by the way. We've gone with business groups for parties. We gone with a big family group on Sunday after church and it is always outstanding. The view is spectacular, the service in impeccable, the owner often times help serve or just makes the rounds and makes sure everything is top notch. Their menu changes, there isn't a limitless variety like you would find at a chain restaurant. What they offer is perfection. Their French press coffee is outstanding. If I could give them 10 stars I would. I would highly recommend this place.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palette Bistro also viewed

Petoskey, Emmet County
Petoskey, Emmet County
 
Petoskey, Emmet County
Petoskey, Emmet County
 

Been to Palette Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palette Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.