We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“home town treasure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Twisted Olive

Twisted Olive
319 Bay St, Petoskey, MI 49770-2406
231-487-1230
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 84 Restaurants in Petoskey
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Coastal Mediterranean with a Northern Michigan twist.
Petoskey, Michigan
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“home town treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

As a travel writer " Europe Unguided" and traveler that has eaten in more bistro's than I care to remember, I can honestly say you cannot go wrong at the Olive.They say that the more things change the more they stay the same,in this case that is -wrong. the ex- operator here tried to be something that they never quite pulled off.The new owner-operator Kirsten Okeefe and her staff have hit a home run. The location is perfect small, semi quaint, not overly decorated and has a view of Little Traverse Bay to die for. They serve Breakfast, lunch and now dinner as well as doing limited catering. I had their bloody Mary "unusual condiments and very good". We had been shopping so we stopped for a late,early afternoon, Brunch. We chose the bloody Mary omelete (eggs olives,scallions,cheese and bloody Mary concasse served with perfectly done truffle roasted potatoes), and the croque madame sandwich ( french ham,provolone, bechamel sauce etc excellent. the menu consists of some regular choices with taste twists and many bistro style sandwiches salads etc. The portions are large and we took some home with us.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    55
    14
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lake view from every corner of the room!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Wow! Twisted Olive was an experience you have to endure! From the moment you walk in, you are greeted by practically everyone who sees you to assure you haven't waited too long. It looks as if it was originally a home that transpired into this elegant quaint restaurant that offers views of little Traverse bay from all corners of the room. We decided to have breakfast and it was out of this world delicious. I ordered vanilla bean pancakes and my boyfriend ordered their special of the day: white cheddar artichoke quiche. It was topped off with FILO dough. If I remember correctly, It was an all natural, locally grown ingredient, farm to fork restaurant. They do also serve lunch and dinner. The restaurant is quite small and we did not make reservations. I may suggest reservations for dinner. We waited for about 15 minutes to get seated for our lake view seat! :) Pricey but well worth every bite !!!! Cannot wait to go back to have dinner at the Twisted Olive!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“wow - good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Vegetarians finally have a place to eat in Petoskey and even eat on a patio if you like. Delicious interesting food. This place is super crowded though in the summer. Had a bit of a wait so if you are hungry at noon just go somewhere else.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Ate here on Sunday morning for our first time and it certainly will not be our last. Service is impeccable with professional quality, food was outstanding.The soup of the day was Sweet Potato Bisque; savor the moment while tasting, it's spectacular.The whitefish sandwich is superb as was the veggie pizza; melt in your mouth scrumptious.To any of you looking for fine dinning, with casual dress, reasonably priced cafe with excellent food and beautiful views....look no further.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boyne Falls, Michigan
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Dinner is just as good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

I've been going to Twisted Olive since its inception. Breakfast is awesome...French toast, omelettes, eggs Benedict...yum. Chocolate indulgence...yum. Now offering dinner...yum! Sea Bass is great, steak is fine. Prices are not cheap, but nice change from other expensive restaurants in town. I like sitting at the small bar and people watching. Reservations a must in summer.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Twisted Olive also viewed

 

Been to Twisted Olive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Twisted Olive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.