We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“To Know Mona Is To Love Her!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Flat Iron Deli and Grill

Flat Iron Deli and Grill
313 Howard St., Petoskey, MI 49770
(231) 347-5190
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 80 restaurants in Petoskey
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Delivery
Boyne Falls, Michigan
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“To Know Mona Is To Love Her!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

I hate to see any local business close, and I'm sad to see Flat Iron close. Mona (the owner) is a hard core scrappy New Yorker. If you think she's rude, you just don't know New York. Yes, she can be abrupt...call it rude, but she has been through a lot in the past couple of years, not that this excuses rude. In her defense, she always had a cookie gratis for my daughter, and she loved loved dogs and always had turkey for my dogs. I wish her well. PS her Monday special "Chicken and Noodles" was to die for...

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

57% Recommend
    4
    7
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lansing, MI
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Place is closed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We went by today for lunch and the Flat Iron has closed. Too bad as it was the best place for sandwiches ever and we like the owner very much. She had opened a second shop during the recession and it ended up being bad timing.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Michigan
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Great sandwiches, unfriendly, inappreciative owner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I love Flat Iron Deli sandwiches...there's no two ways about it, their deli reuben could be the best sandwich in Petoskey. Unfortunately, I think today's lunch was probably my last at Flat Iron. I've been eating Flat Iron sandwiches for the better part of 20 years and my only complaint has always been the negative attitude of the owner, Mona. I try to be friendly and cheerful, but without exception, am always met with a frown and negativity. Other posters have hit the nail right on the head, saying that she acts like selling you a sandwich is doing you a favor. With so many other wonderful food options in Petoskey, I've decided I'm going to give my money to small business owners who appreciate my business.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Decent food, pricey, & atmosphere?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Ordered the Italian sandwich and it was fine. Bread was especially good, but meat on sandwich could have improved for the $7.95 price tag. We were hungry so that sandwich was better then average. Small shop with limited seating overall. Clean and neat with the elderly lady running everything nearly alone. She was pleasant to us, asked about the food, and invited us back as we departed. Suitable place to grap a quick lunch.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westland, Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

Stopped in for a sandwich and did not feel like I was very welcome at all. I actually felt like I was interrupting the staff in personal conversation. It was very pricey and did not get enough meat on the sandwich, but the bread was good. Prices were too high and I did not even get a bag for my 4 sandwiches and soup. The girl asked did I want crackers with my soup, i replied yes and did.not receive them.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flat Iron Deli and Grill also viewed

 

Been to Flat Iron Deli and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flat Iron Deli and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.