We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, quaint, unique, one of a kind” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chandler's

Chandler's
215 1/2 Howard St, Petoskey, MI 49770
+1 231-347-2981
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Chandler's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 84 Restaurants in Petoskey
Price range: $29 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Private Dining
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Located in the heart of downtown Petoskey, Chandler's - A Restaurant is a cozy and inviting place nestled behind Symons General Store. Chef Tommy creatively crafts seasonal menus and daily specials which offer a delightful selection of local fare, fresh fish, sushi and entrees prepared to perfection. We also proudly feature an extensive wine list and fun and unique cocktails such as the "Howard Street Punch" and "Awesome Coffee", that is sure to please any palate. For a change of scenery, guests can enjoy dining in our Wine Cellar where they are surrounded by the 4,000 bottle collection that serves both Chandler's and Symons General Store. Our Wine Cellar seats up to 54 guests and is available for private parties and special events. Enjoy live music every Friday and Saturday evening and in the summertime, dine on our outdoor patio and enjoy evening, live music every night of the week.
Michigan
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Small, quaint, unique, one of a kind”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

Just happened on this place. Food was prepared perfectly, like a 5TAR RESTAURANT.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    43
    14
    10
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spring Lake, Michigan
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“a pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

Stopped into Petosky to do a little shopping and got hungry and wanted a bite to eat. This restaurant is located in the lower floor (basement?) of a building. You walk in and it almost looks like a wine cellar. I had a grilled cheese , swiss, feta, cheddar?, with grilled onions and tomatoes. My sister had the 5 dragon sandwich. Both were fabulous and had a unique spin on them. One had a great sauce, both had a lovely presentation. I would definately go there again.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland MI
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing dinner: Highlight of our romantic escapade!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

We were recommended Chandler's by a dear friend. Managed to a get a reservation the day of at 830pm, which was fine by us. Split a bottle of Pinot Noir. Enjoyed some Foie Gras for appetizers. Wife had the Barramundi and I had the Veal. Both being exceptional. Loved the cosy open kitchen concept!
Would definitely return when we visit Petoskey again!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, MO
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“wonderful breakfast/lunch on a Sunday in Petoskey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

My husband and two friends reached Petoskey around lunchtime on a Sunday. Chandler's was the first open restaurant we found, and we were very happy with it. Two of us had sandwiches, and two had breakfast items (French toast and frittata). All of us were very pleased with our meal. By the time we left, all tables were full. This is a small restaurant, and the cooking smells from the griddle were a slight negative. We would definitely return.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“great food fun place in northern Michigan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

one of our favorite places anywhere! food is alway great with seasonal changes to menu. the staff is very friendly with a fun lively atmosphere! Mark and Lisa Grand Rapids MI

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chandler's also viewed

 

Been to Chandler's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chandler's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.