We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The ONLY place to stay in Petoskey!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stafford's Bay View Inn

Save Saved
You added Stafford's Bay View Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Stafford's Bay View Inn
2011 Woodland Ave., Petoskey, MI 49770   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Petoskey B&B and Inns
Shelby Township
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“The ONLY place to stay in Petoskey!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

This past Memorial Day weekend was our 4th, maybe 5th stay at Stafford’s Bay View Inn. Once you’ve stayed here, you’ll make it a destination again and again. I can’t think of anything that wasn’t perfect. The staff, the service, the food (and drink! – ask for John the bartender for the best martinis), the rooms, and the VIEW! I know we have God to thank for the view, but sitting on the porch sipping an adult beverage of choice and enjoying God’s handiwork is a great combination. Everything about the Inn is so relaxing. The staff goes out of their way to please. And they all seem to work 24/7! This trip we enjoyed several breakfasts, a lunch, a dinner and the fabulous Sunday brunch. All superb. After 3 glorious and relaxing days, we were truly sorry to leave. Simply put – there is just no other place to stay in Petoskey. The only disappointment – no ghost stories. You would think that any self-respecting place that’s over 120 years old would have at least one ghost story. Boo (hoo)!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sitting area. Gives you more room to relax (and read, talk, etc.)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    19
    4
    4
    1
See reviews for
14
55
Solo
0
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

..of the past. This hotel is charming and wonderful old style. No phones or TV in the room therefore rocking chairs on the porch overlooking the lake.

The perfect get away from the world for a few days.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, MI
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

Because we had our kids with us, we stayed elsewhere, but my parents stayed here (we visited). My parents are repeats and I can see why!

There is a large covered porch that looks out to the bay. It was really cold over Mothers Day, but I can only imagine what sitting out there is like in the warmer months. Peaceful... Lake breezes... Ahh..

Walking in: this is first class straight up. The dining area to the left is beautiful with large windows. Again...Bay view! When you walk on the floors throughout, you can hear the hardwood floors creak underneath your feet. It truly enhances that "strepping back in time" feel.

The Sun Room (I think that's what it's called) is full of bright colors and white wicker. I could've spent hours in here kicking back with a book, a laptop, or talking with others. Right at the end of that room was what appeared to be a cash bar. The kids liked a small game that was set up right by there. Kept them entertained for a small while.

Upstairs, the hall was wider than a typical hotel hallway (I thought). I LOVED the Paul Revere lanterns throughout the Inn (even in hall) and the vintage photographs. My parents' room was DARLING. The quilt on the bed was a toile pattern with matching shams. No TV in room, but that's what is typical of a B&B. Tub/toilet in one room and not spacious, but with two in that room, it was just fine. Vanity is separate. Room was SPOTLESS! Rumor is there may some paranormal activity in a couple of rooms....ask about them! :)...they'll tell you what rooms! :)

Down the hall is like a social room/area complete with coffee/tea, TV, computer, and I saw at least one game my dad was getting out as I was leaving.

Now...the FOOD. It was a brunch and it was Mother's Day. I don't know how extravagant brunch is on any regular Sunday, but THIS, in this day, left me speechless.

I started with basics. You can't screw up a waffle, right? A waffle is a waffle, right? NOPE. At the Bayview, the waffles are like the GOD of all waffles. I can't explain it, but this little suckers packed a punch. They were flakey (not crusty, but melt in your mouth type) and must have some secret ingredient...these are NOT your bisquik types. Options here: powdered sugar, brown sugar, cherry butter (so not kidding), blueberry butter, peach butter, raspberry butter, cranberry butter, strawberry, whipped cream...it TRULY is a huge deal. My 6yo eats like a bird and he wolfed down THREE of those things!

Of course, you get your other things: bacon, sausage, vegetables, potatoes, pastas, cheese cubes, deserts, etc.... BUT... Let me tell you: go for that artichoke feta dip stuff. Oh, it sounds yuck, but it will knock your socks off. ALSO: if they have a punch out: partake. Seriously.

Carved meats included lamb, turkey, beef, and ham. Watching the owner (yep...he works, too!) carving it, he either had an incredibly sharp knife or this meat barely needed a knife!

I didn't get to try because I didn't know what it was until we were done, but there was a bowl (like a punch bowl) filled with what looked like white buttermilk/thick ranch dressing. It was COLD PEACH SOUP. Never heard of such a thing, but just another feather in the awe-striking experience.

Nothing on that buffet stayed empty for longer than a minute. Employees are very attentive to the brunch and to clear your table of finished plates. Not one time did I need to find a server to get a refill of pop...or for extra napkins, etc. Service was quick, prompt, and left the guest not in need of a thing.

This is NOT your local "fancy" restaurant's brunch. This is the BAYVIEW INN. It won't disappoint.

(Included if you stay over night or 25/person).


  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Michigan
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We were here with a group for a bridge tournament. This place is over 100 years old and they have done a great job of updating. There is a very nice view of the bay & a large porch to enjoy it. Each room is different. The breakfast was very good. They have a small bar off the living room, also a TV there. The only other one is in the cozy (fireplace) library. The only possible negative thing I could say is that the bedroom window didn't have a screen. That may be because it wasn't the summer season yet.

Room Tip: Some rooms don't face the bay, so ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

A charming inn. Felt like I was really in the 1880s. Adorable rooms. Very clean and inviting. Staff was so helpful. Great bacon at breakfast. Right on the lake. Had swing chairs so you could relax and enjoy the fabulous lake.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We checked in to a very warm welcoming and friendly staff. Our room had a problem with the air conditioner and they were so accommodating moving us to a new room and very apologetic. We had a breakfast that was included and it was very good and once again a very friendly staff. Everyone that works at Staffords really made you feel welcomed and appreciated your business, Corey was extremely friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend Stafford's Bay View Inn and would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We were graciously welcomed with polite, courteous and respectful service. The atmosphere created an ambiance that was relaxing & personal with beautiful views of the bay. The food was absolutely outstanding with a delightful presentation. This place is very special and needs to be included in your next trip to Petoskey. We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Stafford's Bay View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stafford's Bay View Inn

Address: 2011 Woodland Ave., Petoskey, MI 49770
Location: United States > Michigan > Petoskey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Petoskey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stafford's Bay View Inn offers guests the grace and romance of a bygone era, set against the exquisite views of Little Traverse Bay. Some of Northern Michigan's finest dining can be experienced in our Roselawn Dining Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Otel, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Stafford's Bay View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stafford`s Bay View Hotel Petoskey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stafford's Bay View Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.