We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, huge pool and great bathrooms.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hill & Hollow Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pentwater
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hill & Hollow Campground
Save
You added Hill & Hollow Campground to your Saves list
8915 N Business 31, Pentwater, MI 49449   |  
Hotel amenities
Portage, MIchigan, USA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice place, huge pool and great bathrooms.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

First time here and was really impressed. We stayed in "East park". Site size was adequate and most sites look like they have good proximity to the bathhouse and pool. Great bathrooms. Always clean and dry floors even though it's by the pool. Separate shower rooms were huge. Best we've ever had. Huge pool the kids will love with a large deck area with plenty of chairs and some shade as well. AJ's entertainment complex is on the grounds with large arcade, go carts and a very nice mini-golf course. Nice full size basketball court.
Contrary to other reviews the counter staff was prompt and pleasant. We made reservations over the phone and she helped us pick a good location and assigned our site numbers immediately so we could see where we would be at on their map.
Definitely would recommend to others.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    3
    0
    2
    13
See reviews for
22
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Ledge, Michigan
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

While it was a nice campground, the 2 ladies who operate the desk were TERRIBLE! My family really enjoyed the campground, however every encounter we had with the registration people was terrible! We would NEVER go back! They made us feel like it was all our fault - because we booked on-line and were given a site too small for our big rig. We also wanted to stay close to family also camping in the campground, and I really think they PURPOSELY were trying not to let us.....until our rig couldn't fit in a site and were "VERY lucky" that they had HAPPENED to have a cancellation. I said no problem - I would have HAPPILY gone to another campground, to which the woman replied that we would have NO CHANCE of getting a site anywhere else because EVERYWHERE filled up on the weekends.....so she was doing us a HUGE favor by putting us in a site we could fit in and charging us $128. Lucky US!!! Its too bad - we would have returned to the campground in the future, but NEVER with attitudes like that!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010 via mobile

My friends and I were treated very poorly here. We were stalked by the security guard at night, we weren't allowed to talk at night, even though we were not being loud. They told us we couldn't drink, even though we are 21. The security guard waited outside the bathroom for us, it was creepy. We paid so much for this tract of land, and not only could we not use it how we wanted, but we could have gotten a hotel outside of pentwater for the price we paid for land. When we tried to make our feelings known to the camp, they told us they didn't care, and we shouldn't camp there again. Which we told them it wouldn't be a problem, as we will never stay there again. It definitely put a huge damper on our trip.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, MI
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2009

My wife and I stayed here last summer for the first trip we took in our newly purchased camper. It was also our first time visiting the Pentwater area. I must say that we both enjoyed ourselves immensely, and will hopefully be coming back in the future. The campground was reasonably priced for the area, and close to the lake and downtown area.

Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2009

I've been coming to Pentwater for as long as I can remember. When I haven't stayed with family, I've always stayed at Hill & Hollow. Amazing campground facilities, with fantastic service and location. Everything from the landscaping to the office and store to the bathrooms/ shower houses were decorated and designed with an magnificent artistic touch. Where else will you find fresh flowers in the bathroom of a campground??
The atmosphere was family oriented but not stuffy. I've stayed as a child and also post college, and always have had a great experience.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2009

My family swears by this campground. The sites are spacious and perfect for our needs. The campground has great amenities, including the Galley Cafe and the two sparkling, very clean pools. The friendly atmosphere from the staff really makes it a fun place to stay. Anytime you need assistance or supplies for smores from the office, there is always a smiling face and a funny joke to go with it. Overall, I highly recommend Hill and Hollow to anyone, especially families with busy children. The go-carts and arcade provide a great way to keep the kiddos busy while mom gets some quality sunning time at the pool!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2009

My boyfriend's family is originally from nearby Hart, Michigan so he found this little gem for us to spend the weekend at instead of bunking with the in-laws. What a great escape from the city! The area is gorgeous and private and just the right amount of country (you still get the clean restrooms and shower facilities ;) We're planning a group trip for next July since the beaches nearby are amazing as well.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hill & Hollow Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill & Hollow Campground

Address: 8915 N Business 31, Pentwater, MI 49449
Location: United States > Michigan > Oceana County > Pentwater
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Pentwater
Number of rooms: 200
Also Known As:
Hill & Hollow Campground Hotel Pentwater
Hill And Hollow Campground

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hill & Hollow Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.