We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place To Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Magnuson Grand Hotel Lakefront Paradise

Save Saved
You added Magnuson Grand Hotel Lakefront Paradise to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Magnuson Grand Hotel Lakefront Paradise
8112 N M123, Paradise, MI 49768   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Paradise
Clio, Michigan
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Great Place To Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one night because it was close to Tahquamenon Falls. We were in room 101. It was a nice room, spacious and clean.The bathroom was clean and included nice toiletries. We liked the view and the fact that we could walk out and go right to the beach area, even though the weather was too cold to use the beach. After hiking around the falls we took advantage of the jacuzzi. The breakfast included juice, coffee, cereal, fruit, muffins, bagels, eggs, sausage, and waffles. The ladies at the front desk and the lady keeping the food stocked for breakfast were all very friendly. We would definitely recommend staying at this hotel if you are in Paradise, MI.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a lake view. If you want one that walks out to the beach get a room on the first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lovestotravel1964, General Manager at Magnuson Grand Hotel Lakefront Paradise, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you so much for posting such a great review. We are flattered that you took the time to mention all of the areas of our hotel that are the most important to travelers. Our staff takes great pride in providing the best possible service, in a clean comfortable setting. Your review will be shared with our entire staff. Thank you again and we look forward to your return.

Laurie Winkler
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    115
    43
    8
    1
    5
See reviews for
56
82
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eastpointe, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We love Paradise, and finally found THE place to stay! Staff was friendly and helpful, the rooms clean. A full breakfast is included! Very nice experience. We were there in the fall, but I bet in the summer the beach is perfect.

Room Tip: The lake-view rooms are so nice! Sunrise is spectacular!
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lovestotravel1964, General Manager at Magnuson Grand Hotel Lakefront Paradise, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you so much for posting such a great review. We are flattered that you took the time to mention all of the areas of our hotel that are the most important to travelers. Our staff takes great pride in providing the best possible service, in a clean comfortable setting. Your review will be shared with our entire staff. Thank you again and we look forward to your return.

Laurie Winkler
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

On September 28, 2012 we traveled to Michigan's Upper Penninsula for the Fall color tour. Paradise is one of the closest places to get a room near Tahquamenon Falls. Indeed the Magnusen Grand is the best place to stay for miles around. It is relatively new, and resides behind one of the only restaurants in the area, the Little Falls Restaurant. The staff was friendly, the hotel was clean, and breakfast included made to order waffles, scrambled eggs & sausage, etc. After a long hike to the falls, the hot tub was welcoming. The hotel overlooks the bay just south of White Fish Point for breathtaking views from the beach or balcony. We will definitely stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lovestotravel1964, General Manager at Magnuson Grand Hotel Lakefront Paradise, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you so much for posting such a great review. We are flattered that you took the time to mention all of the areas of our hotel that are the most important to travelers. Our staff takes great pride in providing the best possible service, in a clean comfortable setting. Your review will be shared with our entire staff. Thank you again and we look forward to your return.

Laurie Winkler
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Florida
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We liked everything about this property, especially the peace and quiet. Our room was lakeside on the first floor. We enjoyed being able to just step outside and be right on Lake Superior. The sunset was beautiful. The room itself was immaculate as was the rest of the hotel. Even at breakfast, there is staff that cleans the table as soon as someone vacates it. She actually sprays it down and wipes it clean for the next guest.

The staff at this hotel was super friendly and helpful. I highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Spring for a lakeside room. The few extra dollars are definitely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lovestotravel1964, General Manager at Magnuson Grand Hotel Lakefront Paradise, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you so much for posting such a great review. We are flattered that you took the time to mention all of the areas of our hotel that are the most important to travelers. Our staff takes great pride in providing the best possible service, in a clean comfortable setting. Your review will be shared with our entire staff. Thank you again and we look forward to your return.

Laurie Winkler
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed 2 nights (9/20/12 & 9/21/12) and it was absolutely wonderful! We were greeted by Valerie when checking in and I cannot say enough about how absolutely wonderful she was. Even though we had our vacation already mapped out she gave us alot of great information about places to dine and things to do. We had a lakeview room which was very welcoming upon entering the room. Very clean. The view of Lake Superior was just amazing. The whole experience with the hotel was awesome! Be prepared though if you stay in Paradise there's only a couple places to dine and every place (market, gas station, diner) all close early (around 8:30pm). The pool was big, clean and had a nice jacuzzi which we took advantage of. Continental breakfast was decent with waffles, cereal, bagels, donuts, muffins, eggs and sausage. It's a nice central point if you're making a trip to Tahquamenon Falls (only about 11 miles) or Newberry.

Room Tip: I would definately stay on the third floor if you can. You have less noise. If you want a mini frig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lovestotravel1964, General Manager at Magnuson Grand Hotel Lakefront Paradise, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you so much for posting such a great review. We are flattered that you took the time to mention all of the areas of our hotel that are the most important to travelers. Our staff takes great pride in providing the best possible service, in a clean comfortable setting. Your review will be shared with our entire staff. Thank you again and we look forward to your return.

Laurie Winkler
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hockessin, Delaware
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stayed one night (August 24, 2012) on our way from Macinac Island to Whitefish Point via Sault Ste Marie. Very nice hotel with a great pool and hot tub. Used to be a Best Western. Not far from several U.P. attractions, Tahquamenon Falls, Whitefish point. . Beachfront and views of Whitefish Bay are a bonus. The front desk staff recommended a resturant and had menus available (not that there were alot to choose from, but maybe more important to get a recommendation first). We went to the brew pub in the Tahquamenon Falls State Park (big falls).

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a lake view room when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lovestotravel1964, General Manager at Magnuson Grand Hotel Lakefront Paradise, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you so much for posting such a great review. We are flattered that you took the time to mention all of the areas of our hotel that are the most important to travelers. Our staff takes great pride in providing the best possible service, in a clean comfortable setting. Your review will be shared with our entire staff. Thank you again and we look forward to your return.

Laurie Winkler
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vista, Ca
Top Contributor
270 reviews 270 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We had a non view 2 queen room which looked out on the parking lot but had the same amenities as one on the other side of the building facing the water. Not sure if room had queen beds since they were smaller than ours at home, perhaps really double or full beds instead. The room was very plain. No fridge, a big empty space at one end of the room where one would have expected a nice chair with ottoman to read, especially at the price of the room. Table and 2 chairs along with floor lamp bunched tightly together which we had to re-arrange to use. Nothing in the room to tell you anything, nothing on tv channels, anything else about either hotel or surroundings. Breakfast buffet was underwhelming and the breakfast room was small and had blinding sun coming in off the water. I would not recommend and would try to find alternative accommodations if in the area again.

Room Tip: Try to find another place to stay in this somewhat remote area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lovestotravel1964, General Manager at Magnuson Grand Hotel Lakefront Paradise, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
First let me respond by saying I'm sorry that we did not meet your expectations. We strive to make all of our guests experience the most we have to offer with our hotel and the surrounding area. I hope you will allow me to respond to a some of your remarks. Our beds are queen size. They measure 60x80 like all standard queen beds do. Regarding our tv, we are in the process of switching over brands and all of our print has to be re-done, our tv guides being one. Our hotel directory is also in that process but the front desk staff is trained to let you know all information while checking in and also is available 24/7 to help with anything you need. As far as your disappointment in the room and design, you were in our most standard room at the lowest price. Our lakeside suites offer a fridge and microwave also a small livingroom adjacent to a queen size bed. A nice size balcony or patio is also an advantage to upgrading your room. Our COMPLIMENTARY deluxe continental breakfast includes all of the standard hotel breakfast items but includes hot scrambled eggs, sausage, and waffles. There are restaurants in town availble for a cook to order breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Magnuson Grand Hotel Lakefront Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Grand Hotel Lakefront Paradise

Address: 8112 N M123, Paradise, MI 49768
Location: United States > Michigan > Paradise
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Magnuson Grand Hotel Lakefront Paradise! Enjoy convenient access to Tahquamenon Falls, Lake Superior and Whitefish Point Lighthouse while staying at this Paradise, Michigan hotel. Welcome to this lakefront Magnuson Grand Hotel where guests will receive exceptional customer service, unbeatable amenities and a fabulous location all for an affordable price. Guests will enjoy well-appointed guest rooms, some with balconies and water views, featuring satellite television with HBO® and free high-speed Internet access. Every morning guests are treated to a complimentary hot breakfast while looking out at a magnificent view of Whitefish Bay. To make traveling even easier, this Paradise, Michigan hotel comes equipped with an indoor heated swimming pool, hot tub, and sauna. Guest will especially enjoy the sandy beach located right on the hotel grounds plus convenient parking for large trucks and snowmobile trailers. We are also a Biker Friendly Hotel! The Magnuson Grand Hotel Lakefront Paradise is located close to where travelers want to be while visiting Paradise. Nestled on Lake Superior's Whitefish Bay, and with direct snowmobile trail access from their parking lot, guests will appreciate the location of this Paradise Magnuson Grand hotel while enjoying a variety of activities including snowmobiling, canoeing, kayaking, fishing, hiking, cross skiing, snow shoeing, and bird watching. No visit to Paradise is complete without visiting our famous local attractions such as Tahquamenon Falls, Great Lakes Shipwreck Museum, Whitefish Point Lighthouse, and the Whitefish Point Bird Observatory. What's more, we will often host guests in town attending our annual Blueberry Festival, 2 annual winter festivals or to participate in the Tahquamenon Trail Run, or the Tahquamenon Wilderness Canoe. The friendly, knowledgeable staff is ready to ensure a fun-filled memorable stay in Paradise, Michigan. Make a reservation today and save! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Otel so you can book your Magnuson Grand Hotel Lakefront Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Paradise
Paradise Best Western
Best Western Lakefront Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magnuson Grand Hotel Lakefront Paradise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.