We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing and dated” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Saunders Sunrise Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paradise
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Saunders Sunrise Cabins
Save
You added Saunders Sunrise Cabins to your Saves list
10126 North Whitefish Point Road, Paradise, MI 49768   |  
Hotel amenities
Kalamazoo
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Disappointing and dated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2010

We originally booked 2 days. We left after the first day... first thing in the morning. Our kids were even freaked out. The lake was beautiful and kayaking/ canoeing was tons of fun. However we dreaded going back into the cabin. It was sort of clean, but none of us wanted to sit down. Everything was so old and used. The side of the cabin that faces the lake had non- operating windows. Imagine 90 degrees, no breeze, and flies galore. yuck! This place could be soooo beautiful. With a little upgrading, some nice front windows and ceiling fans, new flooring, and a couch cover, this place would be fine.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    10
    2
    4
    4
See reviews for
12
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge VA
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2010

We've stayed several times with Chris and Robin. They always welcome our standard poodle as much as the rest of our family. These cabins are the best part of the UP - beachfront, gorgeous sunrises, campfires, great hosts, and proximity to so many activities. We love to fish on the Taq, visit area lighthouses, collect agates at Whitefish Point, pick wild blueberries, eat fish at Browns Fish House and Camp 33, buy bread at North Star bakery. It's only a short drive to the Two Hearted and the Soo Locks or to the Painted Rocks National Seashore. The serenity and beauty of this area is truly Paradise!

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Branch, Michigan
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2010

I have been staying at the sunrise cabins for 6 years and have already made my reservation for this year! It is quiet and clean and chris and robin are excellent hosts. The cabins have seen tons of updates since my first trip in 2004. I especially liked the remodeled bath and last year the new matresses were the best! Chris and robin welcome me and my pup with open arms. There isn't a more relaxing place anywhere!!! I hope to continue to stay at sunrise for years to come!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

I have been staying here for many years as a child and now as an adult with my family. The location is great. It is 2 miles north of town and located on the lake. Whitefish point and the Harbor are about 10 miles up the road (a must see for both)!!! The soo is about an hour away. The beach changes every year depending on the water levels, but always has enough room for a good time!!!! The kids love playing on the beach and in the water. The water temp also changes, but in the summer (August) it is usually in the 70's.

The cabins are small, but worth the price when you look at everything the cabin has. We prepare by brining food and additional items that we have come to need in the past. The beds are not as comfortable as home, but they will do. If you don't want the cabin experience, there is a Best Western in town, but you will be paying more to stay there!

The owners are very nice and are willing to help you with whatever you need. We make reservations to go up there a year in advance. They just got Direct TV, which was a great upgrade! You can have fires on the beach every night!

Waking up and looking out at the water, playing at the beach, driving to the soo, there is nothing better!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petoskey,Michigan
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2009

We have stayed here 3 or 4 times. The folks that own it are great. They made sure that we had whatever we needed(or wanted).
This is not a 4 star resort although Robin is an excellent concierge. It is a rustic cabin on the beach. Theres no cable and the 3 stations you get are Canadian(if I remember correctly). At least thats all we watched when we were there. The beautiful location more than makes up for the lack of TV. Hey if you wanted to watch TV you should of stayed at home.
I highly reccomend this place as a reasonable bargain and most enjoyable stay.
Plus its dog friendly and my dog absolutely loved this beach.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2009

Hey it may not be perfect but at least the people treat you as if you aren't some strange tourist. We live in Michigan and enjoy the entire Great Lakes. Superior is wonderful but it' s the not only beautiful place to go. When people come up here it's nice to be treated like their livelihood depends on it.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AroundHere
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2009

Pathetic owners. On my first call itself, barely upon speaking two words, she said "I dont want you to call me anymore" and hung up. I wouldnt want to stay there even if I was offered free stay. The way this woman speaks says a lot about how she'd treat her guests.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Saunders Sunrise Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saunders Sunrise Cabins

Address: 10126 North Whitefish Point Road, Paradise, MI 49768
Location: United States > Michigan > Paradise
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Paradise
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Saunders Sunrise Cabins Hotel Paradise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saunders Sunrise Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.