We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I LOVE IT HERE!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saunders Sunrise Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paradise
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Saunders Sunrise Cabins
Save Saved
You added Saunders Sunrise Cabins to your Saves list
10126 North Whitefish Point Road, Paradise, MI 49768   |  
Hotel amenities
West Branch, Michigan
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“I LOVE IT HERE!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2010

I have been staying at the sunrise cabins for 6 years and have already made my reservation for this year! It is quiet and clean and chris and robin are excellent hosts. The cabins have seen tons of updates since my first trip in 2004. I especially liked the remodeled bath and last year the new matresses were the best! Chris and robin welcome me and my pup with open arms. There isn't a more relaxing place anywhere!!! I hope to continue to stay at sunrise for years to come!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    10
    2
    4
    4
See reviews for
12
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

I have been staying here for many years as a child and now as an adult with my family. The location is great. It is 2 miles north of town and located on the lake. Whitefish point and the Harbor are about 10 miles up the road (a must see for both)!!! The soo is about an hour away. The beach changes every year depending on the water levels, but always has enough room for a good time!!!! The kids love playing on the beach and in the water. The water temp also changes, but in the summer (August) it is usually in the 70's.

The cabins are small, but worth the price when you look at everything the cabin has. We prepare by brining food and additional items that we have come to need in the past. The beds are not as comfortable as home, but they will do. If you don't want the cabin experience, there is a Best Western in town, but you will be paying more to stay there!

The owners are very nice and are willing to help you with whatever you need. We make reservations to go up there a year in advance. They just got Direct TV, which was a great upgrade! You can have fires on the beach every night!

Waking up and looking out at the water, playing at the beach, driving to the soo, there is nothing better!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petoskey,Michigan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2009

We have stayed here 3 or 4 times. The folks that own it are great. They made sure that we had whatever we needed(or wanted).
This is not a 4 star resort although Robin is an excellent concierge. It is a rustic cabin on the beach. Theres no cable and the 3 stations you get are Canadian(if I remember correctly). At least thats all we watched when we were there. The beautiful location more than makes up for the lack of TV. Hey if you wanted to watch TV you should of stayed at home.
I highly reccomend this place as a reasonable bargain and most enjoyable stay.
Plus its dog friendly and my dog absolutely loved this beach.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2009

Hey it may not be perfect but at least the people treat you as if you aren't some strange tourist. We live in Michigan and enjoy the entire Great Lakes. Superior is wonderful but it' s the not only beautiful place to go. When people come up here it's nice to be treated like their livelihood depends on it.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AroundHere
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2009

Pathetic owners. On my first call itself, barely upon speaking two words, she said "I dont want you to call me anymore" and hung up. I wouldnt want to stay there even if I was offered free stay. The way this woman speaks says a lot about how she'd treat her guests.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Michgian
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2009

We've stayed at Saunders Sunrise Cabins four times now and have been very satisfied with our experiences there. The owners, Chris and Robin, are personable and friendly, genuinely excited about us staying at their place. They continue to upgrade and renovate the cabins a little each year, making them better all the time.

Furnishings are dated, but clean and everything has always been in good working order. If you bring your dog, they charge an extra per-night fee, but we've never seen or smelled evidence of any pets in the cabins.

Location is excellent, on the shores of Whitefish Bay with big windows on the water side of the cabins. Most of the units are two-room and definitely worth the extra cost over their one single-room cabin (which is tiny).

Staying here has become an autumn family tradition as we visit the Whitefish Point Bird Observatory, Shipwreck Museum, Tahquamenon Falls State Park, and the surrounding area. We'll definitely be back this year!

  • Liked — Proximity to outdoor adventure and view of Whitefish Bay.
  • Disliked — Bathrooms have been upgraded in recent years, but are small.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2008

We arrived in this town planning to stay 2 nights & within 5 hours decided to leave as soon as possible. This is not a tourist destination. There is really nothing to do, nowhere great to stay, and nothing very good to eat (especially if you are a vegetarian). We had to drive 15 miles to Taquamenon Falls to find a decent restaurant. We had booked a cottage at the Saunders Sunrise Cabins only to discover upon arriving that our cabin was very shabby with a visibly bowed bed and the bathroom was not as nice as a typical campground restroom (with a curtain for a door). The real problem however, is that none of their cottages were smoke-free. Our cottage had numerous ashtrays and the curtains and bedsheets all reeked of smoke. The cinnamon air fresheners only amplified the horrible smell. The website mentions free use of kayaks, but we were told at the cabin that it is not safe to kayak there. We gladly left our cottage even though the owner would not refund our money--this disturbed us but we were just so happy to leave...The Taquamenon Falls area is nice to visit, but do not use Paradise as a base camp for your visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Saunders Sunrise Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saunders Sunrise Cabins

Address: 10126 North Whitefish Point Road, Paradise, MI 49768
Location: United States > Michigan > Paradise
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Specialty lodging in Paradise
Also Known As:
Saunders Sunrise Cabins Hotel Paradise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saunders Sunrise Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.