We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Setting!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of USCG Crews Quarters Accommodation

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paradise
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
USCG Crews Quarters Accommodation
Save Saved
You added USCG Crews Quarters Accommodation to your Saves list
18335 N. Whitefish Point Road, Paradise, MI 49768   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Paradise B&B and Inns
Traverse City, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful Setting!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This was such a unique and wonderful place to stay. The setting is really unlike any other. You are right in the same area as the lighthouse, museum, store, etc.. And right at the beach. We stayed in 2 different rooms as we were not able to get one room for the 2 nights. It was no problem changing rooms. We still had access to the home with the changeover. Beth was super helpful!

The room rate includes entry into the museum , a 10% discount to the store and a year membership to the Whitefish Historical Society. Half is tax deductible..

Breakfast is a self serve. Cereal, oatmeal, milk, bagels, muffins, yogurt, coffee, tea, hot cocoa and juices is provided. Also the condiments. There is a toaster, fridge, microwave and coffee maker. No stove is available for use. 2 coffee makers would be better so one could be used for decaf and the other regular. We did not know which we were drinking as someone before us had made a pot. We were not sure but we think you clean your own dishes, so we did. No dishwasher, you wash by hand.

The rooms were clean. Room 3 did have blinds that did not work but had curtains.. Also the bathroom did not have a curtain or blind for privacy at night. We kept the light off in there for nightime use. I am sure this is just a temporary situation as there were brackets there for a blind that had been there. A hair dryer, shampoo and soap is provided. Along with the linens of course! Both rooms we stayed in were on the 2nd floor. 5 rooms total in this home. 4 up and 1 down. Each room has a bathroom. We liked room 1 for the brightness of it and had view of the lighthouse. Room 3 we liked for the freighter view. There is a small tv in the rooms. The living room has a big tv and you can play DVD's. There is another area with a large table, a piano and a computer desk with a computer.

The home is locked at all times to keep the visitors of the grounds out. Your room key opens the front door.

After 6 pm and before 9 am you practically have the grounds to yourself. The beach has great rocks! Lake Michigan has grey rocks, Lake Superior has colored rocks.

Take a side trip to Crisp Lighthouse. The beach is beautiful there. You can go up to the lighthouse tower for free. It is a long dirt road with nothing but woods and lakes so be sure to have plenty of gas for the trip.

We recommend a stay here at the Crew Quarters.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
26
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We stayed in the Station Engineer's Room which has a queen bed and full bathroom. Everything was new and so very clean. We spent half the day touring the buildings on the property and in the evening after everyone left except for our fellow housemates, we walked down to the beach to watch the sunset and the full moon rise. A family from Alabama joined us and their son played the bagpipes as we watched the sun disappear. It was magical for sure. At 9:30 pm there was a nature talk on owls. We headed back to our room to a very comfortable bed. We slept with the window wide open and could feel the breeze from lake all night long. It was truly heavenly. There is a breakfast which you fix yourself in the common area. The fridge is stocked with yogurt, milk, bagels, muffins plus there were cereals, oatmeal, tea and coffee.

Room Tip: If you are in the Paradise Whitefish area this is something you must do. It's surreal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

This was an amazing place to stay. The stay includes access to museum etc during open hours. Being on the beach made for fabulous sunset and ship viewing. Incredibly relaxing - can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

I wrote the first T.A. review for the Crews Quarters. We have stayed here again for 3 nights this time, and so it's time for an update. Same great Shipwreck Museum complex. The lighthouse tower has been refurbished since we first came, and now you can climb to the top and get an expansive view all around. Wonderful ! Being up on the tip of Whitefish Point, searching the beach for smooth rocks and enjoying the magnificence of Lake Superior, is just as memorable.

This time, we stayed in the Divers suite, which is the "garden level" room. This is the brightest garden level room I've ever seen, with almost full size windows in every room. There are 3 bunk beds in one room. The mattresses were sleep-able, but just ok on comfort. Down the hall is the a full bath (shower only), and a kitchen which was just for our use (no coffee maker, non-functioning stove/ oven, and VERY old but working microwave). The rooms smell fresh and clean, but overall, the Crews Quarters aren't as clean and well maintained as the first time we came.... a couple of bugs, dusty corners and very dusty blinds, overflowing trash can in the kitchen. We have barely seen employees working here in the Crews Quarters. It is early in the season, admittedly, but if they're not ready to staff and maintain the Quarters, then they should not open them.

The Crews Quarters washer and dryer (not for public use) is located in the Divers Suite. Right after we checked in, one of the museum workers came into our Suite with barely a knock to access the laundry. We've used the dead bolt lock since then.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011 via mobile

My sister and I stayed at the crew quarters as part of a birthday gift-she loves lighthouses. There are about 5 rooms and we were in the "best room". It was small, but very clean. The reported view of the water was limited. However the beach is footsteps away. The walls are pretty thin-you could hear muffled conversations tvs and snoring. My sister and I could never figure out how to work our tv. The included continental breakfast is cereal, prepackaged oatmeal and bagels. This lighthouse is not like you typical lighthouse-my sister seemed a bit disappointed by that. The neat thing about this place is that there is a museum, a video on the Edmund Fitzgerald, gift shop, snack shop, and the lightkeepers house is intact with period furniture-you get a feel for what it would have been like back in the day. They are renovating the lighthouse but you can still go to the top for a fee. All of the staff knew we were staying there, knew our names and knew it was my sisters birthday. Bruce who has worked there since the 1990s allowed my sister and I in the lighthouse for free-a birthday gift. All in all a very cool place. Breathtaking views. One more thing, the museum, shops etc. Close at 6. Be prepared to drive 12 miles back to town to eat at one of two restaurants in Paradise. The one we chose closed at 9pm on a Friday night and we waited 30 minutes for a table. Food wasn't great but the staff was very nice.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland Heights
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

Everyone leaves at 6pm. Just the guests left. Wonderful. Walked the shore of Lake Superior and watched the sunset. Then the stars came out. Best ever. Breakfast was fine.

Room Tip: Doesn't matter for view. Different bed sizes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

On the shore of Whitefish Point, a graveyard for sunken ships and lost crews, is a lighthouse, shipwreck museum, and b&b. Or sort of b&b... The kitchen is stocked with food, but nobody is there to serve it. There is a stove, but it is there just for appearance and doesn't work. Residents pretty much have the place to themselves because there doesn't seem to be any permanent staff on site. The rooms are small and well appointed, but the walls are paper thin. Once the tourists clear out, the location becomes more special. It is located in a rather isolated area of Whitefish Bay, north of Paradise. The b&b is adjacent to a desolate Lake Superior beach which is truly magnificent at sunset and sunrise. Ghosts are said to haunt the premises, though my stay did not include such a perk. I don't know that I would ever return, but the experience was memorable and if I had more time, the place would have been a great base for exploring Lake Superior.

Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to USCG Crews Quarters Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about USCG Crews Quarters Accommodation

Address: 18335 N. Whitefish Point Road, Paradise, MI 49768
Location: United States > Michigan > Paradise
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Paradise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage USCG Crews Quarters Accommodation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.