We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, peaceful and worth the trip!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crisp Point Lighthouse

Crisp Point Lighthouse
County Road 412, Paradise, MI
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 6 Attractions in Paradise
Type: Lighthouses, Landmarks
Attraction details
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful, peaceful and worth the trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Visited Crisp Point yesterday with family on vacation. This was our third summer in a row. We enjoyed the trip down, as we did a little off-roading in our Jeep by going up via backroads. We did, however, come back to Paradise by the posted roads to get there, and the road had recently been grated. It was in great shape. We enjoyed the drive and beautiful natural scenery.

The historical society and the light keepers have done a lot of work on the grounds in the last two years. The boardwalks are beautiful. The beach is clean and never fails to lure us into rock-finding expeditions. The tower isn't too difficult a climb and the steps are solid. Beautiful view. No charge for the climb, but there is a donation box available. Age 14 and younger must be accompanied by an adult.

Gift shop has a nice variety of attire and trinkets. The paintings and photographs of Crisp Point were my favorite. There are two bathrooms around the side of the gift shop building which are always kept clean.

Don't plan to rid your vehicle of trash when you arrive. There is no trash collection there, so you'll have to take it back with you. :)

Absolutely worth the trip out. Peaceful, beautiful and close to my heart.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    7
    2
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bay City, Michigan
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Beautiful scene, great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Went to lighthouse August 17,2013. Not a planned trip, but saw a tiny arrow with the word "lighthouse" painted on it at a highway corner on the way to Oswalds bear ranch. No signs stating any info for he next EIGHTEEN MILES of gravel road including the last seven miles of TWO TRACK trail. It was actually a logging/firefighter road and my Buick earned it's oil on that trip! Once you get to the Point, there is a new gift shop/restroom building, the beach, and the lighthouse. It is all free, they take donations though. We climbed to the top of the lighthouse, but it is very steep, very narrow, the last eleven steps we used as handholds to pull ourselves up to the top. Once up there, the view is breathtaking though. A photographer's dream!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamston
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Made there in a Kia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Yes, the road is rough but as long as you go 500 to 412 you are okay. There were a couple of times we had to choose which sand pit or mud hole to go through but we made it there and back. This is one of the best places in MI. I feel kind of bad for letting the secret out. The view from the lighthouse is great too. The kids will get bored on the trip out there but once there, there is plenty of space to run around.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ft wayne
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“An adventure.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The drive back is a long one. The road narrows as you go so be careful. It is worth the trip. Nice place to take a picnic lunch and wonder on the beach.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOWELL
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

It seems like a long way to go,but it is worth the drive! They have done a wonderful job on the visitors center and the view from up in the lighthouse is amazing. You won't be sorry.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crisp Point Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crisp Point Lighthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.