We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Freighters View on the Bay

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Paradise
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Freighters View on the Bay
Save
You added Freighters View on the Bay to your Saves list
10346 N Whitefish Point Road, open 4/15-10/31, Paradise, MI 49768   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Paradise
Corpus Christi, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice Getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

My friend and I recently had the pleasure of staying at Freighters View. It was right on the water and extremely clean. We also had our own little pier and enjoyed that very much. The owner was very friendly and even joined us for dinner one evening, at our invitation of course. If I'm ever in Paradise again I would definitely stay there.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    17
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
23
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

We stayed here for the recent Tahquamenon Trail race(spectating, not running), the rooms were clean, but dated, and very adjacent to the road. There is no beach here, a stone seawall goes vertically into 18" of very cold Lake Superior water. It is on par with all other accomadations in this area though, so really not bad. The owner greeted us personally, showed us our units, and was very friendly. The proximity to the lake is excellent, and we were lulled to sleep by the sounds of the waves, and the occasional car going by right outside our window.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewis Center, Ohio
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights and my wife and daughters ages 15 and 14 loved the view and above all else loved the owners Duanne and Nickki who are just the best hosts you could ask for.Duanne made sure the kids had all the items they needed to make smores on the bonfires that he started for us.We stayed 3 nights but we wish we had stayed the entire week.It is people like them that make the entire trip worthwhile.If you are going to stay in this area i encourage you strongly to look at this place and you will not in any way be disapointed.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Freighters View on the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freighters View on the Bay

Address: 10346 N Whitefish Point Road, open 4/15-10/31, Paradise, MI 49768
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Paradise
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Paradise
Number of rooms: 4

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Freighters View on the Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.