We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shipwreck Museum” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Whitefish Point Lighthouse

Whitefish Point Lighthouse
Whitefish Bay, Paradise, MI 49768
(906) 635-1742
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 6 Attractions in Paradise
Type: Educational Sites, Historic Sites, Lighthouses, Museums, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Landmarks
Attraction details
Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Shipwreck Museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

The Shipwreck Museum was a fantastic stop on our trip. Very interesting exhibit. The wax figures were so real looking that I was expecting them to blink. Loved the beach area and liked that we could go down and wade in Lake Superior. The bathrooms were very modern and they have a nice little gift shop as well.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    38
    8
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
LaGrange, Kentucky
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed in the Coast Guard Crew Quarters. The rooms were nicely decorated with quilts, making you feel like the lighthouse keeper. They supply items for breakfast in the kitchen - cereals, oatmeal, muffins, milk, juices - and you fix your own breakfast using the microwave. It is very remote and private. I love lighthouses, so it was rewarding to look out our window at night and see the light glowing. If you stay there you receive free admission to the Shipwreck Museum, as well as a discount to the gift shop.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful Spot - Romantic for Couples but Great for Family's Too!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I drove up here on a night that my boyfriend had to work because I wanted to take some pictures. I was incredibly impressed with the facilities at hand. (My only criticism is that the bathroom wasn't in service - and another patron seemed upset of the fact). The beach here is one of the nicest I've been on - the sand is super soft "powdery." There is a great viewing deck - if you don't mind the hike up the hill (that is not "accessible). I went pretty late in the evening so I didn't get a chance to visit the museum - what I have heard of it - it is worth seeing. The claim to fame of this area - is that it is within viewing distance of where the Edmund Fitzgerald sunk during hurricane force winds. Ample parking. Things to do with the kids - and a lot of charm. Would love to return with my boyfriend. One of my favourite spots in Michigan so far!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Remote Splendar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

You will be well off the beaten path but your journey will be well rewarded. Rock hounds and birders will be in heaven. The shipwreck museum is a real treasure and the docents terrific. An adventure your kids will not forget.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Peoria, IL
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Keeps you coming back again and again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

The history alone at Whitefish Point makes it worth the trip - from the lighthouse to the museum to the unbelievably beautiful beach full of sand and rocks that can occupy you for hours as the lighthouse stands tall in the background. This area IS truly MY favorite place in the UP.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whitefish Point Lighthouse also viewed

 

Been to Whitefish Point Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whitefish Point Lighthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.