We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lazy day riverboat ride” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Au Sable River Queen

Au Sable River Queen
1775 West River Road, Oscoda, MI
989-739-7351
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 10 Attractions in Oscoda
Type: Boat Tours, Sightseeing Tours
Attraction details
Warsaw, Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lazy day riverboat ride”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

Very comfortable with plenty of snack items, and either a narrative by the captain or music for most all of the trip.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    9
    1
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Upper Michigan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fall Spectacular Color Show”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

If you want to see the famouse AuSable River and the many spectacular colors on the river I would suggest you take the Au Sable River Queen. A very informative and relaxing 2 hour plus cruise on a paddle boat with restrooms, bar and food available. Just a great fall day on the River.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay City, Michigan
Top Contributor
995 reviews 995 reviews
362 attraction reviews
Reviews in 264 cities Reviews in 264 cities
2,091 helpful votes 2,091 helpful votes
“Much nicer than I thought it would be...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

Four of us took our first cruise on the Au Sable River Queen on a Sunday afternoon at 4 PM. The ride last two hours. Cost for adults is $14. We reserved our tickets a couple weeks in advance, as the Fall color cruises are very popular and can fill up quickly. They have 3 trips a day (at least on weekends) at 10:30 AM , 1 PM and 4 PM. The cruise we took was full.

There are individual seats for 2 and 4 people. No tables. And then there are tables with chairs. We rode on the 2nd level, with a table and chairs. Stairs to the 2nd level. We were on the left side; however, the boat turns around at one point and you will see what you might have missed on the return trip, so it doesn't really matter which side you sit on. They provided some music while on board during two different sets. Not sure if this is the norm or just during special times of the year. The live music was average-playing oldies for the most part.

Bars available on both levels, bathrooms on the first level. Prices average. Some people were really partying hard near us, and that took away from the ambiance of the cruise, though, they at times, were entertaining to say the least. LOL. There is also some food on board, mostly snack type foods.

Ride is two hours, and they go quite a bit down the Au Sable (north?). Color on October 9th was very spotty, almost non-existent. The ride is smooth and we thoroughly enjoyed the river boat. This is a paddle wheeler. You will see forest, meadow, sand dunes, cottages, a few swampy areas, and plenty of boat traffic. You will not be able to hear what the Captain is telling you about the river or ride, due to engine noise and people noise. Maybe sitting nearer the front provides better auditory possibilities.

Parking is in a private lot, right off the scenic byway, which is worth driving in itself. There are several lookouts and parks you can stop at along the way. Bathrooms-wait until you go on board the boat-other wise you are going to be using an outhouse. They should have regular toilets at this attraction. There is a small gift shop, but I was disappointed in it. Not much in the way of products for sale, they were also out of ice and bottled water. Small park with a couple picnic tables located next to parking lot.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great view of the Ausable River”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

We did the 2 hour Fall color tour. Would definitely recommend it. Very pretty; we sat on the bottom right side of the boat. Great view. The prices for the snacks on board were very reasonable. Would do this again next year,

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Au Sable River Queen also viewed

 

Been to Au Sable River Queen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Au Sable River Queen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.