We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no elevator” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Comfort Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2187 University Park Drive, Okemos, MI 48864 (Formerly Holiday Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Okemos
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“no elevator”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2009

Although the service was pleasant enough, the facility is in need of serious renovation. There is no elevator and, if you prefer a room off the ground floor, trudging your things up a stairway and down long halls is no way to start. The internet access in the room would not connect the entire night I was there. There is a single computer for public use in the lobby that was always in use. It made working in the evening difficult, if not impossible. Bare bones. Old rooms.

Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    16
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
14
9
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2008

We stay in Okemos about 5 times a year and I will never return here. While the breakfast was very good (fruit would have been a great addition though) and the rooms were clean (though the pillows are awful) - the worst part were the guests. The first night we had to contend with high school basketball players in town for the State Championships. Actually, they were not bad - in fact very quiet compared to the group from Jackson State. These students were loud, uncontrollable, rude, and intimidating. When I can't let my daughter walk down the hallway because of the comments guests are making, there's a problem. The staff tried unsuccessfully to control them, and luckily were able to move us about midnight. The clerk did promise us a discount on the room which we never received. In the future, I'll find another hotel in Okemos/East Lansing. Unless you like to be in the middle of massive crowds of teenagers, stay in a smaller hotel that doesn't seem to cater to large groups.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2007

Stayed here on business twice during the fall of 2006.

The manager at the time (Kirk..?) was great. Was a huge help to my group each time we stayed.

I don't know if it is the same owners/management but different franchise, but when it was the Holiday Inn Express, it was great. Right off of I-96.

It is located about 20 minutes from Spartan Stadium/Basketball Arena/Center of MSU Campus (I now know the country back-roads to get there).

There is a van/taxi service you can call (Big Daddy Vans) and pay about $1 per person and they will take you anywhere around Lansing for that flat rate.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — Not many restaurants located within walking distance to this location.
  • Stayed April 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2007

Our family stayed overnight at this Comfort Inn to attend a concert given by the Danish Girls Choir. The accompanist was a member of our family and this was a chance to travel from northern Indiana and get to see her and spend time with her while she was in the states for the tour. We could not have been treated better, nor experienced a mini-reunion at a more delightful place! The management was able to keep our family's rooms close our sister's room and we were able to spend much quality time with her around a couple of tables in their breakfast area -both after the concert, and during the next day. The breakfast bar in the morning hours is WONDERFUL! Both times that we asked to be referred to a restaurant, they guided us to great eateries. We came away with lots of digital photos and long lasting memories. It just doesn't get better than this! (Oh yes, I guess it would have been better if we could have taken her home with us, but that wasn't possible!)

  • Liked — Breakfast bar & cafe
  • Disliked — Nothing!!
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grayslake, IL
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2006

A nice hotel for the most part.....we stayed two nights. First night was horrible. The room smelled like your nose was in an ash tray all night. We had a smoking room as that was all there was available. We asked to be moved the next night and had a really pleasant experience. Good breakfast, clean rooms and bathrooms.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honor, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2004

I have stayed in a lot of hotels, and I actually used to be a room inspector for a major hotel chain, and I can tell you that this was one of the cleanest hotel rooms I have ever stayed in! Not only was our room spotless, but so were the outside grounds, lobby and halls. Fabulous shower, really comfy bed and nice, fluffy pillows, which is rare! The front desk staff were very friendly, the breakfast was great, and it was very quiet at night. Great places to eat very near by, too. The ONLY drawback: no pool for kids. But a really great place to stay for a resonable price.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 2187 University Park Drive, Okemos, MI 48864 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Okemos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Okemos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Okemos
Okemos Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.