We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for large groups” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Detroit Novi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Detroit Novi to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Detroit Novi
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   42700 Eleven Mile Road, Novi, MI 48375   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$20 Daily Credit
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Novi
Byron Center, Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great for large groups”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We have stayed at this property for several years with our staff, booking approximately 10 rooms for 3 nights. The staff at the Courtyard Marriott has been very accommodating for our group. We always register for the "Stay for Breakfast" package which gives our staff a hot breakfast (bacon, made-to-order omelettes, waffles, etc). We also love the "common area" in the lobby, where our group would relax in the evenings. The property is currently undergoing renovations, so we can't wait to see what it looks like next year when we stay there again!

We are always there to work a show at the Suburban Collection Showplace, which is about a 5-minute drive away. This hotel is also very close to Twelve Oaks Mall, if you're looking for a place to stay while you shop. The pool & hot tub are very nice, too. There is no restaurant in the hotel for dinner, but there are plenty of chain places close by as well as some local places to eat.

The best features of this hotel are: the staff (Ruthie), the lobby and the breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonnie R, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Detroit Novi, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review. We appreciate your loyalty to the Courtyard. We are also very excited about the beautiful renovation that is taking place! Soon we will be offering not only breakfast but dinner as well in our new Bistro.The renovation is not limited to the lobby, as our rooms will be all new and fresh as well. We can’t wait to share this new look with you and your guests! We look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    31
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
14
5
3
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

First impressions count, and Ruthie, who greeted me at the door, was hospitable throughout my stay and went out of her way (really, it's good customer service, but these days it's going out of ones' way) to ensure I had what was needed left me with a very good impression of the hotel. The bed and pillows were very comfortable, the breakfast on a week day had a solid selection - even rice and Japanese traditional foods/sauces for Asian travelers - and I had no complaints. This is a place where one could stay for a few days as well as there is a mid-sized refrigerator in the room and access to stores and restaurants is within a block or two. Yes, the couch was a bit worn, but a comfortable bed, clean room and a friendly face make my stay ... all of which the Courtyard accomplished.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonnie R, Property Coordinator at Courtyard by Marriott Detroit Novi, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Courtyard by Marriott Detroit-Novi. The Novi Courtyard has just completed renovations! Please come back soon to see the new hotel and everything we have to offer. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biella, Italy
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I've been in this hotel several times in the past 8 years. Staff is always very frendly and free WiFi in every room is now available but hotel is getting oldish and worn. Carpets shall be renewed and cleaning better done

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonnie R, Property Coordinator at Courtyard by Marriott Detroit Novi, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Courtyard by Marriott Detroit-Novi, and for being a loyal customer. The Novi Courtyard has just completed renovations! Please come back soon to see the new hotel and everything we have to offer. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Selected this hotel for weekend break conveniently located midway between Detroit and Ann Arbor as well as value. Very surprised by the overall quality. Our room was well-equipped, modern and in very good condition. We travel quite a bit and this hotel offered probably the best accomodation for the money that we've had in a long while. Sleep sets are updated and very comfortable. Rooms are quiet even with apparent reasonable occupancy during our stay. Check in service was efficient with staff very helpful with printed directions and suggestions. The main presence during this weekend time seemed to be families on the move. As such pool and spa area was active but not rowdy. This hotel is also very convenient to a huge selection of restaurants and shopping. It is situated in arbuably Michigan's best shopping district.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonnie R, Property Coordinator at Courtyard by Marriott Detroit Novi, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for your review, and for the compliments! We appreciate your business. Please come back soon to see our newly renovated hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

This hotel is pretty terrible for business travel. The fitness center is a joke - very little and broken equipment. I sent this to Marriott and they were completely unfazed. They said they had all of the corporately required pieces...so that is precisely three: one bike, one elliptical, one treadmill. I also woke to the dumpster being emptied at 5.50 AM. Pretty awful experience. I won't be back.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonnie R, Property Coordinator at Courtyard by Marriott Detroit Novi, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at the Novi Courtyard last year. Since then, we have completely renovated our hotel. We have all new guest rooms and public areas, including the fitness center. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Just as it says in the title, overall I enjoyed the stay. The beds were very comfortable, and everyone had a good sleep. It is also rather quiet, meaning minimum noise from roads. The TV however, isn't exactly the latest model, and there was almost nothing to watch. The room itself is clean too. I also enjoyed the breakfast buffet. This hotel has a pool, but it's not very big. There is also a hot tub, and it's really hot. One of the main things is that the hotel has free Wi-fi and a printer on the first floor. It was very convenient because we were able to find and print out some maps. One of the downsides though, is that on the lower floors, you can hear it when somebody flushes a toilet on the floors above you.

Room Tip: It's better to ask for a room on the 3rd or 4th floor, because you can hear it when somebody flu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonnie R, Property Coordinator at Courtyard by Marriott Detroit Novi, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Courtyard by Marriott Detroit-Novi. We recently finished renovating the hotel and hope to see you again soon. Thank you for choosing the Novi Courtyard!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muncie, Indiana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed there for the asa girls softball nationals. It was an average hotel. Staff and pool was nice. Bed was comfortable. I usually have problems with my back in most hotel beds but not this one. It was ok for the first couple nights but I find it hard to stay for several nights in a hotel without a fridge and microwave and I've stayed in hotels for the same price that do offer both. TV was old and didn't work very well...took forever to change the channel. AC worked well. Didn't pay the $10 for the breakfast so don't know how it was. All in all I would stay there again for a night or two but not for the week.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonnie R, Property Coordinator at Courtyard by Marriott Detroit Novi, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Courtyard by Marriott Detroit-Novi. We recently completed renovations of the whole hotel, and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Detroit Novi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Detroit Novi

Address: 42700 Eleven Mile Road, Novi, MI 48375
Location: United States > Michigan > Novi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Novi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Detroit Novi 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Detroit Novi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Detroit Novi Hotel Novi
Courtyard Novi
Novi Marriott
Novi Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Detroit Novi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.