We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff and good location, that's it!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Detroit Novi

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Detroit Novi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Detroit Novi
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   42700 Eleven Mile Road, Novi, MI 48375   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 15 hotels in Novi
Biella, Italy
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and good location, that's it!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I've been in this hotel several times in the past 8 years. Staff is always very frendly and free WiFi in every room is now available but hotel is getting oldish and worn. Carpets shall be renewed and cleaning better done

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonnie R, Property Coordinator at Courtyard by Marriott Detroit Novi, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Courtyard by Marriott Detroit-Novi, and for being a loyal customer. The Novi Courtyard has just completed renovations! Please come back soon to see the new hotel and everything we have to offer. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    24
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
11
5
3
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Selected this hotel for weekend break conveniently located midway between Detroit and Ann Arbor as well as value. Very surprised by the overall quality. Our room was well-equipped, modern and in very good condition. We travel quite a bit and this hotel offered probably the best accomodation for the money that we've had in a long while. Sleep sets are updated and very comfortable. Rooms are quiet even with apparent reasonable occupancy during our stay. Check in service was efficient with staff very helpful with printed directions and suggestions. The main presence during this weekend time seemed to be families on the move. As such pool and spa area was active but not rowdy. This hotel is also very convenient to a huge selection of restaurants and shopping. It is situated in arbuably Michigan's best shopping district.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonnie R, Property Coordinator at Courtyard by Marriott Detroit Novi, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for your review, and for the compliments! We appreciate your business. Please come back soon to see our newly renovated hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

This hotel is pretty terrible for business travel. The fitness center is a joke - very little and broken equipment. I sent this to Marriott and they were completely unfazed. They said they had all of the corporately required pieces...so that is precisely three: one bike, one elliptical, one treadmill. I also woke to the dumpster being emptied at 5.50 AM. Pretty awful experience. I won't be back.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonnie R, Property Coordinator at Courtyard by Marriott Detroit Novi, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at the Novi Courtyard last year. Since then, we have completely renovated our hotel. We have all new guest rooms and public areas, including the fitness center. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Just as it says in the title, overall I enjoyed the stay. The beds were very comfortable, and everyone had a good sleep. It is also rather quiet, meaning minimum noise from roads. The TV however, isn't exactly the latest model, and there was almost nothing to watch. The room itself is clean too. I also enjoyed the breakfast buffet. This hotel has a pool, but it's not very big. There is also a hot tub, and it's really hot. One of the main things is that the hotel has free Wi-fi and a printer on the first floor. It was very convenient because we were able to find and print out some maps. One of the downsides though, is that on the lower floors, you can hear it when somebody flushes a toilet on the floors above you.

Room Tip: It's better to ask for a room on the 3rd or 4th floor, because you can hear it when somebody flu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonnie R, Property Coordinator at Courtyard by Marriott Detroit Novi, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Courtyard by Marriott Detroit-Novi. We recently finished renovating the hotel and hope to see you again soon. Thank you for choosing the Novi Courtyard!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muncie, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed there for the asa girls softball nationals. It was an average hotel. Staff and pool was nice. Bed was comfortable. I usually have problems with my back in most hotel beds but not this one. It was ok for the first couple nights but I find it hard to stay for several nights in a hotel without a fridge and microwave and I've stayed in hotels for the same price that do offer both. TV was old and didn't work very well...took forever to change the channel. AC worked well. Didn't pay the $10 for the breakfast so don't know how it was. All in all I would stay there again for a night or two but not for the week.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonnie R, Property Coordinator at Courtyard by Marriott Detroit Novi, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Courtyard by Marriott Detroit-Novi. We recently completed renovations of the whole hotel, and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Rapids, MI
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We had a problem upon check in - a mix up with the reservation - and Ruthie the supervisor on staff did an excellent job of handling it and getting us a room.
Very nice location - good food close by.
Great for Business Travel in the area. Rooms are clean and staff was great.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonnie R, Property Coordinator at Courtyard by Marriott Detroit Novi, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for your review and comments on the Novi Courtyard, I apologize for the problem you experienced upon check-in. We have just finished renovations of the whole hotel, and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We found the hotel to be average, nothing special. The room had a musty smell to it and an old tube TV. Also the bathroom towels could use to be upgraded they seemed like they could have been the same ones since the place opened. Other than that the room was great, I found the bed to be very comfy. I didnt get a chance to experience the breakfast because I caught the tail end of it, but from what I could tell it looked way better than any other hotel breakfest I've had. By far the best part was the check in process, Ruthy was over the top amazing! Normaly for a late evening check in I have found the front desk personal are normal half asleep and disinterested, Ruthy was amazing! She made us feel welcome and at home.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonnie R, Property Coordinator at Courtyard by Marriott Detroit Novi, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Novi Courtyard. The hotel has just completd renovations, including all brand new flat screen TV's. Thank you for choosing the Novi Courtyard and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Detroit Novi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Detroit Novi

Address: 42700 Eleven Mile Road, Novi, MI 48375
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Novi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Novi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Detroit Novi 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Detroit Novi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Detroit Novi Hotel Novi
Courtyard Novi
Novi Marriott
Novi Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Detroit Novi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.