We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Baronette Renaissance Detroit-Novi Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Baronette Renaissance Detroit-Novi Hotel to your Saves list
The Baronette Renaissance Detroit-Novi Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27790 Novi Road, Novi, MI 48377   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Novi
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Great Location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

My wife and I were in the area for an event and wanted to stay somewhere a little different than your standard chain. We found this to be a really nice hotel however it was lacking its attention to detail. The rooms were a nice size with a modern touch. The bathroom was your standard hotel bathroom but nicely upgraded with a walk in shower. However this is where the attention to detail lacked, there were stains all over the walls as if they havent been cleaned in a while, along with a few different types of hair on the floor, all things I can look past since it is a bathroom. AJ at the front desk was great, helpful and friendly, however I cant say the same for his counterpart who evertime I spoke with it seemed as if I was an incovinence to him. We didnt take the time to explore the restaurant in the lobby but it looked and smelled great. My only real complaint is the elevators, I feel like I lost a few hours off my life just waiting inside the elevator to move 2 floors. Without a doubt we would be willing to stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    53
    21
    5
    8
See reviews for
29
42
13
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Georgia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful atmosphere. Staff very courteous and helpful. Rooms were very welcoming and comfortable with great work space. We ate in the Toasted Oak Grill almost every night. Food and service was outstanding.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 5 nights in business trip. First night was a Saturday and a wedding was happening at the hotel so the restaurant was completly full.during that night all the city lost power due to weather conditions so the rooms went with out any power light and heating . Breakfast too late because of power shortages. Although hotel tried to provide flash lights. Overall the hotel is amazing. I do recommend

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownstown
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Hotel is nice, clean. Only real negative is the $5.95 a day charge for wireless Internet. Fitness facility was ample. Walking distance to 12 Oaks Mall. Restaurant on site and close to many restaurants as well as other shopping. Mostly business travelers, I tagged along with my husband and took advantage of the shopping while he had business in Detroit.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
229 helpful votes 229 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This hotel is the class of the Detroit suburbs. The hotel has a nice touch of luxury with an excellent staff to complement. Rooms are really clean. Beds have small reading lights to minimize disturbance to your bed mate. Bed was very comfortable with plenty of pillows. Towels were high quality towels that soaked up a lot of water.The hotel provides Aveda toiletries including toothpaste from Aqua Fresh.

We stayed in the junior suite on the executive level of the hotel. The junior suite has a sitting room, table for 4, refrigerator, Kruig coffee maker, and wet bar. The bathroom includes a soaking tub, a large, separate two person shower, and dual vanities. The bathroom comes with a shoji door. Closet for clothes is located in the bathroom.

The sitting room was arranged a little bit odd because it had it own TV but there was no door between the sitting room and the bedroom. Suffice to say, someone in the bedroom could not watch TV without disturbing the person watching TV in the sitting room. Maybe they should install a shoji door between the sitting room and bedroom.

There is no concierge lounge in this hotel for Platinum members. However, Platinum members are entitled to snacks in the lobby and breakfast at the Toasted Oak. The Toasted Oak is the attached restaurant and is wonderful. Dinner is especially delightful. The Toasted Oak is a "farm to table" restaurant. The menu is very creative. The restaurant is a favorite of locals. This is NOT your typical hotel restaurant. We had dinner twice at the Toasted Oak and the food was wonderful. We recommend the Pork Chop, Beef Tenderloin, and Rigatoni. For appetizers we recommend the Poutine and Kielbasa. I would describe the food be close to California Wine Country Modern food. We did notice some local come in and who were "put off" by the menu and ordered a soup and salad. Prices for dinner is from $15 to 30 per entree. The Beef Tenderloin was cooked to my requested temperature of medium rare.

One day housekeeping did not do a great job of cleaning the room. They left our dirty towels on the floor and did not empty our trash. Otherwise, on 5 of the 6 days housekeeping did a great job.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Nice location in waking distance of 12 Oaks Mall. Large rooms, well appointed and quiet. Toasted Oak restaurant is attached. The $14/pp breakfast buffet is a bit pricey because selection is limited, but if you can order from the menu it is much better. Steel cut oatmeal was good. Rooms have very poor lighting ... Not fun when trying to apply make-up. Elevators are slow but fortunately there are only 3 floors.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Just did a quick night at this hotel and thought it was a very good option for the area. Hotel was in good shape, staff was very helpful even offered up a notepad to replace the one I left at home. The addition of having the restaurant Toasted Oak built into the hotel was extremely convenient and a nice change of pace from the typical hotel restaurant scene.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Baronette Renaissance Detroit-Novi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Baronette Renaissance Detroit-Novi Hotel

Address: 27790 Novi Road, Novi, MI 48377
Location: United States > Michigan > Novi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Novi
#4 Romantic Hotel in Novi
#5 Family Hotel in Novi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Baronette Renaissance Detroit-Novi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Marriott, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Baronette Renaissance Detroit-Novi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Baronette Renaissance Hotel Novi
Baronette Hotel Novi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Baronette Renaissance Detroit-Novi Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.