We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Baronette Renaissance Detroit-Novi Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Baronette Renaissance Detroit-Novi Hotel to your Saves list
The Baronette Renaissance Detroit-Novi Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27790 Novi Road, Novi, MI 48377   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Novi
Dunedin, Florida
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Wedding Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

This was the venue for the wedding of my nephew. The affair was great, though the main course was not served hot, just barely warm. The room was of adequate size, but no bathtub. I freaked. Even cheap hotels have bathtubs and this is not necessarily a cheap bathtub. They moved me to a handicapped room which had a tub, though the regular room certainly had a bath big enough to accommodate the same little bath as was in the handicapped. The hotel was attractive, and the restaurant seemed good, though I did not eat there. No pool. Very close to a big mall with many nice stores. Far from downtown Detroit. The 2nd room they gave us was dusty and not as well furnished as the first. There was a refrigerator and coffee maker which we used daily. No link to the airport other than cab or car rental. There is a large gap at the bottom of the hall door to the room permitting any hall noise to penetrate the room easily.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    62
    22
    5
    8
See reviews for
32
44
13
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

This is my new favorite hotel in suburban Detroit..better than the Royal Park. Great rooms, amazing breakfast in the connected restaurant (Toasted Oak), terrific workout facilities, and helpful front desk staff. It's also right near the 12 Oaks Mall - so you can get your errands done while on business travel.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

One of the best restaurants in the area is located in the Baronette Renaissance. Excellent food - breakfast through dinner, though it can get loud. Attractive, modern lobby with attentive staff. I have to agree with Marajoe's review regarding room condition, however. We were surprised to find dust-covered lampshades, dust/dirt under the bed, shower that leaked onto the bathroom floor, threadbare towels with holes. As stated in that review, this room did not meet the standards we have come to expect from a Marriott property. With a little extra care, the management of the hotel can restore this facility to the excellent level it enjoyed when operated as an independent boutique hotel.

Note: Excessive noise in corridor one evening prevents me from giving "excellent" sleep quality rating. Hotel security staff should have been vigilant once they knew that a wedding reception had moved into the hallway on our floor. Noise was allowed to continue until 4:30am. Very unsatisfactory for a couple trying to rest before our own daughter's wedding the next day.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caye Caulker, Belize
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Went with a good friend to do the flowers for another friend's wedding. I have done hundreds of weddings all over the world but I can say that this banquet staff as well as the other hotel staff were the best I have ever worked with. We were treated with great respect and it was though we were members of their team and not outsiders. Although I spent little time in the room, it was very nice, clean and comfortable. I would certainly recommend this hotel for an event or just a great place to stay. Thanks to all the staff for helping make this event great and welcoming us.

Room Tip: We had a courtyard view room which was nice.....am not certain about other options - I know the suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Top Contributor
544 reviews 544 reviews
110 hotel reviews
Reviews in 168 cities Reviews in 168 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

I did like this hotel, great location, very nice lobby, it has everything going for it. The only complaint that I had, the room was so dusty. You could tell it had been a while since it has a good cleaning. Sorry Marriott, but this room did not met your typically standards. Everything but the dust was good. Issues is, if you have that much dust, what else is wrong. I love the Marriott brand. I will give this hotel another try. I know this is not the normal. I will say the food in the restaurant was great.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberlyGreene, General Manager at The Baronette Renaissance Detroit-Novi Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
I appreciate your recognition of our location and lobby dedcor, and am disappointed you did not enjoy your stay overall. I would like to apologize for the inconveniences you encountered with the dust in your room. We are in the process of replacing our original air conditioning units, and are in search of filters that will make our rooms more pleasant for our guests. I would be happy to discuss your stay further, feel free to contact me.

Kimberly Greene, GM
kimberly.greene@thebaronette.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

My husband and I stayed here recently (booked a last-minute trip due to a family function). I will admit that I am a little bit biased because we got married at this hotel several years ago. However, we were very impressed with the upgrades they have done and with the quality overall. The rooms were well-furnished and very clean. In fact, the entire hotel was very clean. The walls were thick enough that we didn't have noise concerns. The price was also right for us, as we stayed using our Marriott points. It is located in a nice neighborhood in Novi, which is convenient to shopping and the highway. Next time we are in Detroit, we will stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the third floor, which is reserved for Marriott rewards members. It was quieter and les...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberlyGreene, General Manager at The Baronette Renaissance Detroit-Novi Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
I appreciate you taking the time to provide comments regarding your recent visit to the Renaissance Baronette. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay after such a memorable occassion. We are very proud of our recent renovation, and work very hard to maintain the clenaliness of our hotel. Thank you for your loyalty to Marriott, and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Kimberly Greene
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I were looking for a local getaway to celebrate our 10 year anniversary. We decided to book a one-night stay (couples package) at the Baronett Renaissance in Novi. It was probably the best anniversary ever. Friendly staff as well as a very clean, neat and comfortable room. We were pleasantly surprised by the low price of the couples package. With everything it included ($50 gift card for the mall across the street, 2 drink tickets to the restaurant, and breakfast in bed for two) are you kidding me? What a great value! Dinner last night at the restaurant Toasted Oak- EXCEPTIONAL! We are self proclaimed foodies and I know good charcuterie and I could tell the chef was an understudy of local celebrity Chef Bryan Polcyn. I asked my server and turns out he was! His staff knows his product too. You dont see that much anymore but our server, Jon, was eager to share everything that makes the Chefs menu special. What an elegant yet inexpensive way to celebrate something. I know this review sounds a little over the top, but we were so pleasantly surprised with what we found that we had to write this review. We are always looking for local hotels to send friends and we finally found one. Just to prove we don't work for the hotel, I will make one small complaint......why are hotels still charging for wifi? Wouldn't it stand to reason that if you didn't charge for wifi it would make writing reviews like this a little easier? That was the only complaint I could come up with.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberlyGreene, General Manager at The Baronette Renaissance Detroit-Novi Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share such great comments in regard to Toasted Oak restaurant and our staff! I am pleased you enjoyed our Shopper's Package and the value that it represents. I do recognize that charging for internet access is a guest annoyance, and we are looking at different options to bring value to this expense, perhaps through offering different levels of bandwidth and speed. I would be happy to discuss this with you further.

Kimberly Greene, GM
kimberly.greene@thebaronette.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Baronette Renaissance Detroit-Novi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Baronette Renaissance Detroit-Novi Hotel

Address: 27790 Novi Road, Novi, MI 48377
Location: United States > Michigan > Novi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Novi
#5 Family Hotel in Novi
#5 Business Hotel in Novi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Baronette Renaissance Detroit-Novi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Among the most luxurious Detroit area hotels, the Baronette Renaissance Detroit Novi Hotel offers an exquisite atmosphere. Our superb service provides guests with the premium experience they deserve. Each of our rooms and suites feature upscale amenities, including luxurious Egyptian cotton sheets and 37" HDTVs. Leisure guests and business travelers alike will enjoy our excellent on-site fitness & business centers. As an ideal destination for weddings and special events, the Baronette offers elegant event space and outstanding planning professionals and catering services. As one of the most convenient Detroit area hotels, we are located just 27 miles north of the Detroit International Airport and situated right next to the celebrated Twelve Oaks Mall, a world-class shopping destination. The Baronette is also conveniently close to the Suburban Collection Showplace, top attractions, and numerous Fortune 500 companies. Savor an unforgettable experience in an ideal locale at the Baronette Renaissance Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Baronette Renaissance Detroit-Novi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Baronette Renaissance Hotel Novi
Baronette Hotel Novi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Baronette Renaissance Detroit-Novi Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.