We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfactory... However,” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn - Detroit / Novi at 14 Mile Road

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn - Detroit / Novi at 14 Mile Road to your Saves list
Hampton Inn - Detroit / Novi at 14 Mile Road
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   169 Loop Road, Commerce Township, Novi, MI 48390   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Last Minute Deals!
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Novi
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Satisfactory... However,”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel many times, and overall it's satisfactory. However, my latest stay I had a couple issues I think need to be addressed. First, they my finalized bill outside my door instead of putting it underneath my door. Why is this a concern? Well, it contains my full name and personal address as well as my Hilton honors number, etc.... Anyone could have picked it up and obtained my personal information. When leaving, I noticed they did this to everyone on my floor. STOP being lazy and put the bill underneath the door so NO one has access to it other than the occupant!!! Second issue, my door is not attached properly! There is such a gap around the door that someone could easily use a credit card or keys and open the door without the room key. Yes, I tried it and found that it was so easy that a first grader could do it. The room was 406. Third, the clock in the room is junk and it needs to be replaced. Other than those issues, the room was fine a d front staff friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTTNI, General Manager at Hampton Inn - Detroit / Novi at 14 Mile Road, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Hello NatBkEx,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. I appreciate you staying with us and am glad that you found our Front Desk staff to be friendly. I understand your concern with the delivery of your express check out and have already addressed it with our management team. I have also inspected the gap between the door and door frame so that our maintenance team can correct the issue. Please feel free to contact me directly if I can be of further assistance.

Thank you again.

Sincerely,

Ernie Backalar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    52
    16
    7
    2
See reviews for
83
37
13
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Orlando
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed at this Hampton Inn during the first week of our 2 week trip home to Michigan to visit family. We only changed hotels because I had earned 9 free nights worth of loyalty points at Hyatt. I wish we would have stayed at this Hampton because we had such a great experience and were were very dissapointed with the Hyatt in comparison to this Hampton. Next time we travel to Michigan, we will stay at this hotel hands down.

First, the rooms are clean. You can smell the freshness in the sheets and towels. The comforters are also washed between each guest making the bed extra clean. There are no dirty covers placed over your clean sheets. The hotel is also very clean. the pool area has a heated pool and a hot tub. It is in a nice room with windows all around. The kids LOVED the pool area and we spend a lot of time there. It was nice for the vacation to have facilities that you enjoy and want to use. the fitness area was also nice and clean. The beds are very comfortable and the flat screen tv was nice. This room also came equiped with a mini fridge and a microwave so it was very convenient. The housekeepers are very hardworking and seem very trustworthy and kind.

The employees are all very nice. I checked out over a week ago and I still remember many of their names: Bob, Chris, Kelly, Rhonda, Ernie. They all went out of their way to get to know us and make us feel welcome. The housekeeping, maintanience staff, and cooking staff were also very nice and accommidating. Everyone was very friendly to our kids, which is nice. Some hotels make kids feel unwelcome but that is not the case here. They talked with them and made them feel like valued guests!! They remembered our first names and I was very impressed with the customer services at all levels within this hotel. It is run very well and it seems that everyone here is invested in making this a great hotel for guests.

They made us little "goodie" bags for the kids to take with fruit and fruit bars for later in the day. Breakfast is open until 11 am and they do not start "packing up" the gallery until they are sure that you have what you need. They offer a "real breakfast" with an egg variation (scrambled, omlete, etc depending on the day), a meat option (bacon or sausage), a waffle station, and a juice bar. SOmething that I took for granted was that they offer individual yogarts, fruit, and breakfast bars. The other hotel I went to jsut put a bowl out and you scooped what you wanted out..... I like the way Hampton does it much better.They are happy to go out of their way for guests. Coffee, Tea, and hot chocolate were available all day/night free of charge and cookies were offered during the day.

It's in a nice location too with a red robin and a movie theater next door. It is very near to highways and many cities are within 10 minutes of the hotel. It is actually closer to novi than commerce township so the address is misleading.

This is a great hotel.

Room Tip: Higher level rooms in general seem to be better (at any hotel).
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Recent repeat stay at this location. Super easy check in. Convenient parking. Nice room, and very quiet even though there were a number of young kids on property. Breakfast was good, nice selection of fruit, waffles, cereal, coffee. Restaurants in area and convenient to expressways. The bed was a bit soft, and you can see some wear in the bathroom with the tile grout and wallpaper. I felt it was clean, quiet and comfortable. We will come back.

Room Tip: Sake for a room opposite of the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Clean, comfy beds. Friendly helpful staff. Some noise (footsteps) coming from room above us (they were active people apparently) but otherwise absolutely no complaints and I would stay again. The location is a significant drive from the shopping region of Novi, but there is a coffee house next door and a Starbucks nearby.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We were there for a family event. Aside from a minor glitch with the phone system that they worked very hard resolving, the stay was smooth and pleasant.
The hot breakfast was plentiful and varied from day to day with a few "standards" every day. Housekeeping was excellent.

Room Tip: Soundproofing was excellent, I don't think which way the rooms faced relative to the highway mat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hod Hasharon
Top Contributor
246 reviews 246 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 144 cities Reviews in 144 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We had a family event at West Bloomfield and decided to stay at this Hampton Inn & Suites nearby, based on good experiences we have had with this chain elswhere.
We were very happy that this was the decision we toook.
The hotel is conveniently located for what we needed.
Parking space was ample.
The staff were friendly and provided answers and quick responses to all our needs.
The room, as usual, was spacious, spotlessly clean and with all the amenities you could ask for.
Breakfasts were fresh and plentiful.
Price was fair - Good value for your money.
As an extra bonus, there is a Costco store just next door, for those of you who like visiting Costco as much as we do......
All in all, another great stay with this excellent chain!! Thanks Hampton!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, OK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Stayed one evening here as part of a business trip. Rooms were clean and well kept. The bldg look as if it had recently been udpated. Morning breakfast was a good assortnment of items. Staff was very interseted in our stay and went out of their way to make sure I didn't need anything. The price was fantastic for what I received. I would rec this hotel to anyone looking for a budget friendly hotel for business travel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn - Detroit / Novi at 14 Mile Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn - Detroit / Novi at 14 Mile Road

Address: 169 Loop Road, Commerce Township, Novi, MI 48390
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Novi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Novi
#1 Family Hotel in Novi
#2 Business Hotel in Novi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn - Detroit / Novi at 14 Mile Road 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within just a few miles of our Hampton Inn® hotel in Detroit/Novi at 14 Mile Road, you'll find plenty to do-from the diverse shopping of Twelve Oaks Shopping Mall to golf courses, waterslides and skiing at Kensington Metropark. We are also located minutes away from some of the top companies in Michigan, including the Nissan Technical Center, Ryder, Kroger Company, Jalpak, Farmers Insurance and many more. All in all, we think you'll agree our hotel in Novi is a novel place to live and work. Here at the Hampton Inn Detroit/Novi at 14 Mile Road, we're passionate about taking good care of you. That's why we offer a broad range of services and amenities to make your stay exceptional. Whether you're planning a corporate meeting or need accommodations for a family reunion or your child's sporting group, we're delighted to offer you easy planning and booking tools to make the process quick and organized. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn - Detroit / Novi at 14 Mile Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn - Detroit / Novi At 14 Mile Road Hotel Novi
Hampton Inn Commerce
Commerce Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn - Detroit / Novi at 14 Mile Road, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.